We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,167)
Filter reviews
4,167 results
Traveller rating
1,324
1,424
809
329
281
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,324
1,424
809
329
281
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maho beach ascot pub pool bar palm grill planes landing colin king mullet bay close to the airport st maarten point restaurant pool view great vacation fun to watch sister hotel family vacation all inclusive package night life
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 4,167 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Third stay at the Sonesta Maho Resort and boy are we pleased we came back. Everything was spectacular and clean. The staff were the BOMB. Food beaches and hospitality what can you ask for more!!!! We enjoy coming back to such a pleasant place and being treated like FAMILY. thanks to all the staff and crew at the resort. Like I always say " we make the vacation and the resort just takes it to the next level. Don't sweat the small stuff and smile and party or relax. This all was and is achieved at the Sonesta Maho. DOM(Elvis) lol

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank dandrade1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikaV2122017, Public Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Dandrade1012, thanks for taking time to post such a lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Maho Beach Resort! We welcome you back anytime! Best, Erika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

We had so much fun at the Sonesta Maho Beach, even our 2 teenage boys loved it and their tough to please. We upgraded to adjoining suites so everyone had their own space. The food was delicious and in abundance. The grounds are huge and you can find a lounge chair for sunning at any time of day. No need to get out early and claim your spot! The pool was super fun for the whole family. The staff had great games and activities all day that the kids really enjoyed. I wasn't so sure about being so close to the airport. Only a few planes come in and out everyday so it's not constant airplane noise. In fact, it was super cool to watch the planes coming in and hear their power at take off. The Royal Casino is right across the street. My husband and I love to gamble (responsibly lol) and every night after dinner, the kids played ping pong and Jenga in the lobby or watched a movie poolside with their new freinds and my husband I went to the Casino. It's so close that it feels like it's on the property. All in all, I really recommend The Sonesta. It's the perfect balance of fun and relaxing with that Carribean-European charm.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank mrsfairygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikaV2122017, Public Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear msfairygirl, thanks for taking time to review and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Maho Beach Resort! We welcome you back anytime! Best, Erika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017

All inclusive resort on Maho Beach which is known for the airplanes landing and taking off over the beach. The resort staff were super friendly and went out of their way to make sure you had a nice stay. It is 5 mins. By cab from the airport. You do not have to leave the resort as it has everything. We were in a Premier Ocean View Room on the tenth floor. Our room was spacious and had a modern design. Our fridge was stocked daily with beer, soda and water. The pool and beach were right out the back door of the resort. Plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. There were several dining options, but they were only open certain days and nights. The Ocean Terrace is buffet style and was open for breakfast lunch and dinner. I highly recommend the Lava Stone dinner. Reservations are required for most of the venues except the Ocean Terrace. So I recommend planning ahead and paying attention. We had incredible views of the planes landing and taking off from the Princess Julianna Airport. Did not realize how cool it was until we were witnessing it! If you do the all inclusive you have access to the sister Sonesta Resort at Great Bay. It is a $20 (USD) cab ride for two people and takes about 20 mins. It has a private beach with a guard (so no peddlers) or other riff raff. It is adults only which is also nice if you want a day away from all the kids at the Maho Sonesta.it is a 5 min. Walk from the resort to Front St. in Phillipsburg. You have access to all the amenities including the buffet, unlimited drinks and two pools right on the beach.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views. It is very noisy on the Maho Village side due to the clubs.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikaV2122017, Public Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Rita, thanks for taking time to review and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Maho Beach Resort! We welcome you back anytime! Best, Erika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

Excellent entertainment team. Those guys made an exceptional interpretation of the Michael Jackson experience at the Royal Casino, they are always entertaining guests with games and activities at the pooll.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikaV2122017, Public Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Max, thanks for taking time to review and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Maho Beach Resort! We welcome you back anytime! Best, Erika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

WOW!!!! where do I begin. Sonesta Maho Resort was just AMAZIMG! me and my husband stayed in one of the junior suites for the first 5 nights. The view was spectacular, we would watch the planes flying off and view persons enjoying the sand blast.
My husband and I love to the third floor for the last 2 nights of our honeymoon and the view again was wonderful.
The general manager Karl was very articulate, warm , charming and humble . The spa manger Jardin was always full of life and vitality. The massage treatment I had was great!
The staff all so helpful and work EXTREMELY ! hard. The food, ambience, cleanliness of the facility was just fantastic.
The breakfast buffets, lunch and dinners was fulfilling for me coming from a good and beverage back ground. Lindsay the food and beverage manager made sure things were in order
Nigel at the grill bar with my favourite guave colada cocktail he made special for me . They were other staff members that were absolutely nice but I can't remember all their names.
Alfread at reception was exceptional in his service along with his supervisor.
The two bellman that served us well. The gym was great for me as I am a fitness enthusiast . Equipment in immaculate condition . The gym attendant guy always does a fantastic job in keeping the area clean. I would always say that he looks as though he wants to take the chrome off.
In a nutshell, I am so grateful to have been to this Resort. Mr and Mrs Burrowes will definitely be going back june next year 2018 for our first anniversary. The only difference is that we will
Be going for 2 weeks instead of 1 week. My husband wants to make Sonesta Maho Resort his second home and so do I. Please guys don't hesitate to book the vocation of your LIVES!!! Once again I am thanking each and everyone who made my stay soooooo enjoyable , and to the general manager Karl Bourne! You are truly a Starand add great value to this hotel. I am glad to have met you and some of your team mates.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Destination38963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErikaV2122017, Public Relations Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear guest, thanks for your lovely post and so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon stay at Maho Beach Resort! Karl Bourne is star and we are proud to have him overseeing our guests and staff. Thanks for your kind comments. We welcome you back for your anniversary celebration! Best, Erika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews