We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Way B&B and Bunkhouse
Ranked #30 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Iain has a wee gem of a bunkhouse, in a great location, he is very kind, quiet and considered in his helpful approach to help you to get the most out of your highland experience, he is supportive of any outdoors pursuits enthusiast

Room Tip: great clean & affordable accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Located a wee bit outside of Ullapool it offers you the best bang for your bucks. Nice and welcoming people, top notch bunk house with modern facilities, and nature just on the other side of the door. You can do nothing wrong staying here.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Sebastian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

This is the third time that I have stayed at Forest Way B&B and frankly I would not recommend anywhere else in the vicinity. Fantastic location for Ullapool and the mountains, Ian (the owner) is so helpful and friendly (and a great source of mountain knowledge for those looking to get outdoors), and the rooms are spotless. A real gem.

If you opt for the bunkhouse rather than the B&B, I doubt you would find better. An example of a bunkhouse user designing a bunkhouse. Very rare!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Two rooms for our family on the way up to catch the ferry to Lewis. Iain is a laid back host, the rooms really comfortable, and the breakfast just right. Coffee was, as we said at the time, brilliant. Friendly, affable, and of course we'll be back up next time we catch the ferry out. Particularly appreciated the shower after the long drive up from Cumbria.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed at this B&B for 1 night and our stay could not have been more enjoyable! We went up to the Ullapool area to bagged a few munros and the location is excellent and Iain is very helpful! We will definitely return! Good cooked breakfast too!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

The bunkhouse is a great little place centrally located for hillwalking in the Ullapool area. Iain is the host and he knows all about the hills in the local area and will be happy to share his knowledge of routes and trailheads with you. The bunkhouse has two sleeping areas on either side of the central kitchen/seating area. There are 2 sets of bunks on each side with a bathroom with toilet/sink/shower on each side. I would say this is a perfect place for a group that knows each other well, as it isn't really big. That said, it is comfortable. Because the bathrooms only have sliding accordion-type doors there isn't any noise privacy, which may be a problem for those who are light sleepers. Most outdoor types are used to getting up early or sleeping in these conditions so probably no big deal for most. There is a nice, dry storage area for bikes attached to the bunkhouse. Also, a drying room in the entrance area of the bunkhouse. Iain has fresh eggs from his chicken for sale too. Plenty of parking in the rear and front. Beautiful garden to sit in if it's ever sunny!!! Well-signed so you can't miss it coming from either direction. About 6 miles from Ullapool to the south.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TartanCat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We stayed at Ian's place for one night during our motor bike tour through Scotland. We very delighted to find a bunkhouse with two rooms (4 persons each) a well equiped kitchen and some sofa's to relax in. In the drying room we were able to put all our motor gear to be ready for the next trip.
We would definitely recommend this location to anybody looking for a place to stay in this neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ullapool hotels
14.1 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
15 km away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
240 reviews
14.2 km away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
The Ferry Boat Inn
The Ferry Boat Inn
#41 of 46 in Ullapool
256 reviews
14.1 km away
Ullapool Youth Hostel
Ullapool Youth Hostel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
69 reviews
14.1 km away
The Arch Inn
The Arch Inn
#8 of 46 in Ullapool
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Way B&B and Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Way B&B and Bunkhouse

Address: Lael | Lochbroom, Ullapool IV23 2RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range: $26 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Way has 2 rooms available for Bed & Breakfast. We also have a Bunkhouse/Hostel which sleeps up to 8 people, in two rooms for 4. Each room has its own ensuite and the Bunkhouse also has a shared lounge area and full kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forest Way B&B And Bunkhouse Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing