We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Charming B&B! 100% Recommend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westlea Guest House
Ranked #1 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We stayed at Westlea for two nights recently and can't say enough good things about them. Each room was uniquely designed in a theme, all with en-suite bathrooms in the most delightful, whimsical atmosphere. The hosts are a very friendly professional couple and incredibly welcoming, available and helpful. Their breakfast selections are also fantastic. The decor is so splendid, I would love to pay them to come design our new house in LA. Can't say enough good things. If you happen through the cute little town of Ullapool, you must stay here.

Room Tip: The larger couple's room on top floor is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry R, Owner at Westlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the style of our house. We hope you manage to get some lovely photographs on your tour of the Highlands and we would love to see some.
Kind Regards
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

We visited for a couple of nights and stayed in the Harbour room on the top floor. Although I'd read reviews and seen photos of the room online I was still very pleasantly surprised at how great this place is. The common areas and bedrooms are so tastefully decorated and kitted out that it's more like a showhome or TV set than a guest house! The breakfast was very nice and the hosts accommodating. The room rate is reasonable given the quality and location.

Location is perfect - in the centre of the village but with ample on and off-street parking.

When we return to Ullapool we'll only even consider staying elsewhere if Westlea is booked!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry R, Owner at Westlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Chris,
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review. Your kind words mean a lot to us and we are so pleased that you like what we have achieved at Westlea House. We do hope that you will return again in the future.
Regards
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I returned to Westlea this year after staying there a year ago, and picked up on conversation we were having last year. Terry and Shirley have created the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The attention to detail and ambience is truly wonderful. Westlea is like Torville and Dean in Sarajevo - it deserves full marks for the design, service and luxury super breakfast.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different themes, all done to high level, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank highlander507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry R, Owner at Westlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thanks so much for the lovely comments and we feel very honoured to be put in the same category as Torville and Dean,hopefully it has nothing to do with my choice of clothing.
We hope to welcome you to Westlea again in the future.
Kind Regards
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We came across this place purely by accident. But what a result.

Extremely professional couple running a well equipped clean boutique b&b.

At last a small place that has a small fridge for proper milk for a coffee or tea. And has the forethought to place to fridge in a hallway away from the room so the noise from the fridge doesn’t disturb you. Excellent idea.

Very comfortable inside with a foray of magazines and papers. Huge amount of reading material books etc and a record collection for your use.

We were made welcome with a fresh pot of tea and tunnocks marshmallow biscuits.

We had the double superior room. Lovely comfortable bed.
Well equipped room with tv and coffee making facilities.

Bathroom was extremely clean and had everything we needed. Lovely powerful shower.

The only issue I had and to be fair I completely forgot to mention it at breakfast the day after was that the tv was sat on the table area in front of the bed. And when I’m bed it was difficult to see without sitting up. But such a minor thing in what was an exquisite establishment.

Breakfast was second to none. The amount was more than enough and made from locally sourced retailers.

Well done Terry and Shirley. Highly recommend anyone to stop here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank andy770770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

An absolutely stunning boutique B&B. You will not be disappointed, guaranteed. My only regret is we stayed just one night on our trip around the NC500 route.
We had a beautiful room on the first floor, decorated to a high standard with a marine theme. There is a comfy bed and settee and a little bar style table at the window where you can sit and look out whilst relaxing and enjoying the view.
The bathroom was superb with great lighting and everything looks brand new.
The breakfast was fabulous. lots of delicious food laid out and delightful crockery and accessories.
There is a lounge where you can sit and enjoy books, records and a drink. Everything has been thought out.
The town of Ullapool is a real treasure and we loved our time there. Terry and Shirley love their boutique hotel and this is plain to see in the way they welcome their guests and present the best possible experience.

Room Tip: I expect say every room to be an absolute delight and presented in the same way our room was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry R, Owner at Westlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely and detailed review.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope that we have the opportunity to meet you again at Westlea House.
Regards Terry & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I booked two rooms for my friends travelling with me on a cycling tour. I didn't stay there myself but my friends were delighted. They couldn't praise it enough. Very comfortable rooms, exceptionally well decorated and appointed. From what they said, the next time I'm in Ullapool I will definitely be staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RBfaekeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry R, Owner at Westlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

We are very pleased that your friends enjoyed their stay at Westlea House so much. We hope to welcome you all back here in the future. We were certainly impressed with the distances you were cycling each day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

If you are lucky enough to have Ullapool on your Itinerary, then you must find Westlea Guest House. We were lucky enough to have Nordic Visitor book our trip to Scotland. While there are many B&B options in this special town, Westlea has the perfect combination of charming and intelligent hosts, warm and eclectic accommodations, wonderful breakfasts, great location, and world class service. We were so comfortable in this unique and distinct setting. We were thrilled by every suggestion from restaurants to pottery to the highlights of the North 500. We are very happy we got to spend time in Ullapool with Terry and Shirley. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bradley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry R, Owner at Westlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you very much for this review. Comments such as yours help to keep us motivated and remind us why we enjoy running the B&B so much.
Kind Regards Terry & Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 km away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
660 reviews
0.8 km away
Harbour House
Harbour House
#3 of 7 in Ullapool
162 reviews
0.3 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
25.9 km away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
0.4 km away
The Arch Inn
The Arch Inn
#6 of 46 in Ullapool
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westlea Guest House

Address: 2 Market Street | Ross-Shire, Ullapool IV26 2XE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and comfortable Boutique B&B situated on quiet tree lined street in the centre of Ullapool.Guests can use the lovely guest lounge to relax,read books or play records in the vinyl lounge ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westlea Guest House Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing