We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break 2012”
Review of The Ferry Boat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ferry Boat Inn
Ranked #41 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked the Ferry Boat Inn late for the Easter weekend - so didn't manage to get a sea view. We did however get a cozy,clean room on the third floor with a partial view of the harbour(with the option to change rooms to a front facing on the Sunday if we wished) - we were happy with our room so we stayed. The Hotel is in a prime location and we got a parking place right outside.Before going we read mixed review about the Hotel and staff.We were greated by the very friendly Amy and Nick, and proceeded to be delighted by the friendlieness of every member of staff we met, without exception - nothing was a bother to any of them - they even put up with our guitar playing and singing. Breakfast was excellent.We ate at the Hotel on out last night - I had a notion for a dish that wasn't on the menu - that wasn't a bother either.The highest accolade that we can give this Hotel is - that we are definitely going back !! The Andersons, Old Kilpatrick

Room Tip: Book early for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAndersons_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

I had haddock, it was so big it was hanging over the plate at both ends unfortunately the oil was dripping from it,the fish was disgusting, the plate was soaking with oil, pity the fish wasnt as nice as the chips

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We walked in off the street and were given a room with a fabulous view for the night prior to a ferry crossing. One of the staff was very friendly although his colleague was the complete opposite. I agree with a previous review on the 'update' of the bar area however the views and location do make up some of its downfalls. The bedroom was clean and spacious although a pet hate of mine was having carpet in the bathroom. Would we stay again - yes and would recommend it to others. The food was lovely with the biggest piece of haddock we have seen on our travels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I had my reservations & unfortunately they were not wrong.. We were greeted very warmly by a lovely lass. When we went to our room & at First glance I was pleasently surprised. On closer inspection, hygiene standards were very poor,there was grout missing from around the sink & shower & MY PET HATE carpet in the bathroom...whats that all about. Its disgusting & a harbour for germs.
The menu was not very appealing so we went to another hotel. Breakfast was soso,nothing to write home about.
The price of the lager was rather expensive, when we asked why it was so dear ,the barman said that the price was set ,so as to keep the local riff raff away...Charming.
On going to bed we were in for an unpleasant surprise...The springs had gone in the bed, my husband sank down,it was so lumpy,creaky & very uncomfortable All in all not a very good nights sleep.
Dont think we will be booking in there again.........

Room Tip: Look about for all the options avialable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Booking by phone was easy, and they took the call on trust, no deposit or card number. Part of a long tour around Scotland, it was our intention to find comfy friendly pub type atmospheres and we found it here. Right on the main drag towards the harbour we parked right outside, were welcomed well and taken to rooms that were of really high standard. The down side was the staircases up thereto. However on leaving - the rear fire escape door (not alarmed) was level to our rooms, next to the road behind the pub, and re-loading the car was effortless on the morrow. Good food was on offer, but we sampled a local carvery instead which is no disrespect to the offerings which, watching others, were adequate good platefuls. The bar was friendly as were the uniformed staff, and offerings and the draught beer good, but sadly the floor is wooden plank in modern fashion which made for an empty hollow feel to it. Our rooms were fully equipped, very comfortable, and warm. When it came to breakfast the plate was full, a generous great fry up - although lots of choice on offer, and usual coffee with toast and jams. Yes a place to which a return would be a pleasure.

Room Tip: There are several floors to the rear of bar areas, obviously built on to an original 1700's buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanpaull2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Having just visited Ullapool on my honeymoon I decided to take my wife to the Ferry Boat Inn boasting it was probably the best pub in Scotland. On our arrival, to my horror we discovered it had been " modernised" / vandalised. This is an object lesson on how to ruin a traditional pub, I appreciate this is only my opinion and whoever committed this act of vandalism probably thinks it is a great improvement but sadly I can not agree. A sad day indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StonewallEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We arrived for our stay awaiting our ferry the next day, straight away the girl who "greeted" us barely talked and didn't seem capable of lifting her feet when walking which is a personal pet hate she gave the impression of being disinterested. We went straight to our room which was room 8 a twin at the back with a restricted view of the bay - restricted by the roof space in front and also the condensation on the window! The window was desperately in need of re-grouting or replacement as there was water seeping in and lying on the window sill, with the toilet window being slightly worse. Now it is understandable given the time of year and the brutal weather those windows receive for the condensation but the windows are not subject to conservation as they are not on the front so why not fit double glazed upvc? We went down later on and asked for a dinner menu which was duly delivered then the guy never returned to see if we wished to order so we went to the chip shop instead! The beds were surprisingly clean and comfortable which afforded a decent nights sleep the mould and mildew around the walls of the shower room were rather displeasing. Breakfast was pretty standard hot food cooked to order and cold items available at the buffet. Certainly not big brand price, service or quality and not worth consideration again

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HectorFash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
0.3 km away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
659 reviews
7.2 km away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.9 km away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferry Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferry Boat Inn

Address: Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range: $116 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ferry Boat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ferry Boat Inn is a 3 Star (Visit Scotland) 18th Century Inn, situated on the busy Shore Street of Ullapool overlooking Lochbroom and Ullapool Harbour. With 9 en-suite rooms and a lively Bar & Restaurant, The Ferry Boat Inn offers a welcoming stay right in the centre of Ullapool. Our Menu changes daily with local fish specials, main courses and of course delicious deserts too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ferry Boat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ferry Boat Hotel Ullapool
The Ferry Boat Inn Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing