We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ullapool Youth Hostel(Ullapool)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Harbour House(Ullapool)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Ullapool)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Arch Inn(Ullapool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sheiling(Ullapool)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
45
74
69
47
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
74
69
47
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohnny cashthe pubfish piedog friendly hotelreal firefront facingloch broomovernight stopen routepleasant stayscottish breakfaststayed here for nightsone night stayharbourferryboatfolkcoast
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 273 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2018 via mobile

Don’t expect high quality accommodation - it falls short on many levels. Basic double room was exactly that with a tiny shower room with very poor shower. Okay bed, plenty of drawer space and a reasonable sized wardrobe. Heating almost non existent, very small oil electric radiator a waste of time.
On the positive, ideal for an overnight stopover en route to Western Isles Ferry. The staff were friendly and there was live music in the bar. Breakfast hit the spot
Location great

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights last week. Room and shower room dated. No power in the shower and toilet wouldn’t flush properly. £125 per night plus extra if you wanted breakfast. Meals in bar ok but nothing special. Old tissue under bed from previous guest.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Isobel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2018

Firstly the pros, located on the quay side with a beautiful view of the loch & surrounding mountains with eider ducks, friendly amenable staff.
Now the cons, from the entrance porch onwards this is a fairly dirty & dishevelled place. The stairs are badly lit, very steep & the worn & dirty stair carpet is loose the stair risers are old & bowed obviously a serious trip or fall hazard. There is a “window” hatch ? Reception in the hallway which says “do not use” so to check in you go into the bar. Our room no 4 is a dual aspect room at the front. The one (dirty window) looks onto the wall of the next hotel where a pair of sparrows were nesting, their comings & goings were a highlight. The room has a worn feeling, the wardrobe knob was missing, the 16 inch tv sat forlornly on a writing desk by the window & the one armchair was dirty with sunken cushions & if you sat on it you experience a cold damp feeling.The bed, mattress was worn & one side was sunken, the bed linen was clean & of good quality, however the duvet “clumped” leaving lumps of filling in some areas & no filling in others. The room was ensuite, the electric shower was barely controllable so one second you were scalded the next cold the shower hose was broken & the water struggled to drain, the silicone was caked on but still grubby, black soap scum clung to the small washbasin taps, there was a fan which didn’t work, a broken toilet seat, the was no heating in this tiny room which was not big enough to properly dry oneself. Our friends had “delightful” room 2, the one shown on the website, from the pictures this room looks ok, however this is the room with the carpet in the bathroom which left nothing to the imagination. Our rooms were the superior rooms, I dread to think what the basic rooms were like. The breakfast was good, we chose not to eat in the restaurant, or to use the bar, didn’t want to spend any more here than we had to, either time or money!
We spent 2 nights here as part of our NC 500 trip, we were apologised to by staff who did offer to refund our money if we chose to move, however accommodation is at a premium, alternatives were unavailable so we had to make do, hence the title tourist trap. This area is becoming more popular & a little competition might ensure that places such as the ferry boat improve their facilities.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank lesleydurrant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2018

Rooms were functional and comfortable but unfortunately we were on the top floor and from there had a view of the roof and chimney pots of the front part of the building. The plumbing was of the high volume musical variety which was certainly different. Downstairs in the bar the atmosphere was slightly booze pub, but the food was delicious! If booking again I would ask for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must, picturesque
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 886nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

This is a great wee hotel on the quay in Ullapool. Th views are fantastic. Our bedroom was lovely, also with a great view. Great fresh food in the bar/restaurant. Everything was well done and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ewen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews