We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
11
3
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
3
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night stayed here margaret owner breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 18 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after being out camping and was a really comfy haven for us. Really good value for money. Great views and location. Lovely breakfast that set us up for the day! The lady owner was a really nice lady and so friendly.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This B&B was truly nice. The lady running it is extremely nice and friendly. You will get a good cooked breakfast and a nice room with all facilities and views over the sea.
The B&B is within a 5-10- minute walk from the pier and the shops and restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrulinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Went to The Essex for my birthday meal, went with 9 people, a few of us running late but not a problem for the staff, had a brilliant meal, all of us enjoyed our food and the service great, will definately be going back, can't wait, nice to find somewhere close to where we live that we all enjoyed!

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkib06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here in July (high season) and at 160 pounds for three nights it is still good value. I asked for non-sugar Muesli for breakfast and our hostess bought this especially for us which was nice. The room was a bit on the small side and full of all types of objects we did not need - on the other hand it had a lovely view of the sea....

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldstarSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Comfy, not fancy, two bedrooms and the landlady Mrs. McFadden is exceedingly nice. We've stayed at least three different holidays. Ullapool is our favourite and Essex Cottage is walking distance to everything. Beautiful view of the inlet, ferries, hills, fog and sunsets.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMcB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews