We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Essex Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poolewe Hotel(Poolewe)
US$154
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morefield Motel(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
11
3
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
3
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after being out camping and was a really comfy haven for us. Really good value for money. Great views and location. Lovely breakfast that set us up for the day! The lady owner was a really nice lady and so friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This B&B was truly nice. The lady running it is extremely nice and friendly. You will get a good cooked breakfast and a nice room with all facilities and views over the sea.
The B&B is within a 5-10- minute walk from the pier and the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrulinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Went to The Essex for my birthday meal, went with 9 people, a few of us running late but not a problem for the staff, had a brilliant meal, all of us enjoyed our food and the service great, will definately be going back, can't wait, nice to find somewhere close to where we live that we all enjoyed!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkib06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here in July (high season) and at 160 pounds for three nights it is still good value. I asked for non-sugar Muesli for breakfast and our hostess bought this especially for us which was nice. The room was a bit on the small side and full of all types of objects we did not need - on the other hand it had a lovely view of the sea....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldstarSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Comfy, not fancy, two bedrooms and the landlady Mrs. McFadden is exceedingly nice. We've stayed at least three different holidays. Ullapool is our favourite and Essex Cottage is walking distance to everything. Beautiful view of the inlet, ferries, hills, fog and sunsets.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMcB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews