We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Essex Cottage
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poolewe Hotel(Poolewe)
US$153
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morefield Motel(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Ullapool)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
11
3
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
3
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Can not be beaten!!!! Sooo comfortable and cozy. Water right outside window and mountains surrounding... Couldn't be better!!! And Margaret is sooo sweet and friendly and helpful! Breakfast was delicious as well. My mom has been coming here for decades and has had the same wonderful experience.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lucas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Ullapool is a lovely place to visit. We stayed there for two nights and rented a B&B room from lovely Margaret. It was good value for the money. The customer service was excellent and the breakfast was delicious. Also we had a lovely view from our window. It was a great find. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carriad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a great place to stay in Ullapool - great location, really comfortable room and a fantastic breakfast (best poached eggs ever ) ! We were only able to stay one night as it was fully booked but Margaret even helped find something else for us - true service!
I can highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Was looking for somewhere to stay overnight having spent the day getting soaked in the Fannich Hills. Room was booked by phone a couple of weeks in advance, twin room with single occupancy.
Twin room was large, very well decorated, very clean, well equipped and stunning views from the front of the cottage.
Breakfast was fantastic, the hosts are very welcoming and I would thoroughly recommend staying at Essex Cottage.

Room Tip: Fantastic location, hosts and views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfb4138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after being out camping and was a really comfy haven for us. Really good value for money. Great views and location. Lovely breakfast that set us up for the day! The lady owner was a really nice lady and so friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews