We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lochedge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lochedge
Ranked #16 of 27 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Darlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

What a fantastic place - sheer perfection! The location is idyllic; remote and tranquil, yet only about quarter of a mile from the main road. We stayed in a beautiful room (the kingsize) overlooking the loch, spacious and exceptionally clean. The little touches in the room make all the difference - beautiful toiletries, freshly baked cakes delivered each day (the treacle flapjack's to die for!), filter coffee and choice of teas.

Breakfasts were excellent, with a good choice of cereals, apricots and yoghurt, homemade bread, jams and marmalade and cocoked food served to order; all served in the dining room overlooking the loch. We enjoyed an evening meal on each of the three nights we stayed. The menus were varied with plenty of choice; the food beautifuylly cooked and presented, with coffee served in the guest lounge. Cindy is a fantastic cook!

Richard and Cindy were lovely hosts - warm, friendly and helpful, attentive without being intrusive and nothing was too much trouble. Richard, in particular, was very knowledgeable about the island and was always ready and able to make recommendations.

We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed at Lochedge for 4 days and could not be happier with my experience. Not only were the hosts wonderfully friendly, but they were great cooks who were accommodating to my vegetarian diet.

The rooms were beautiful with plenty of space, but of course the real attraction of the room was the view out the window! The location of the B&B is perfect. Plenty of site seeing to do and trails close by. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was our first trip to the Hebrides and were so luck to find Lochedge. The bedrooms are very well equipped and extremely comfortable, the lounge and dining area are great places to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Loch and surrounding hillsides. The breakfast was great and if required Cindy and Richard cook some really tasty dinners and they seem more than happy to take time to tell you about any local places to visit.

Cindy and Richard have obviously put a lot of thought into creating a marvellous guest house, if you are planning to visit this incredibly beautiful part of Scotland I would defy anybody to find somewhere better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful B&B for 4 nights and couldn't have been happier. Cindy and Richard are fabulous people and so lovely and helpful. Everything from suggestions of activities to island history was spot on. They know the best spots on the whole of the island for views, wildlife, local art, and anything else we were looking for. Also, I can't emphasize enough how amazing Cindy's cooking was. I highly suggest partaking in at least one dinner.

The building is wonderfully designed and maintained with great showers and beds. Great view from my room as well as the lounge and dining room. (I had the opportunity to spot an otter from the dining room!) The wireless internet worked perfectly when I finally remembered to check my email after a few days of bliss. I will be staying here in the future when I get another opportunity to visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G4352365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Lochedge is a recently opened BandB and Richard and Cindy have everything in place to make a huge success of their venture.The rooms are spacious,comfortable and very well fitted.Breakfast and dinner menus offer a wide choice and are thoughtfully put together using local produce .The hosts make guests feel very welcome and have an excellent knowledge and love of the local area.We will certainly stay there when we next visit Harris.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

If you are looking for somewhere fantastic to stay then this is most definitely it!

Great value for the unbelievably well designed and fitted accommodation which is kept sparkling clean. We have stayed in many places up and down the UK but this certainly stood out above all, including well established hotels.

Cindy and Richard are enthusiastic and friendly, attentive without being invasive and Cindy is a great cook; we had our evening meal here and it was fantastic.

It is a rare thing indeed to stay at a B&B that is part of a home and not feel like you are intruding on someone's space; this simply isn't the case here. The B&B accommodation is entirely separate from the living area and this makes for a relaxing environment indeed.

We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Accessed by a breathtaking trip through the surrounding countryside you descend loch side to the B&B; it doesn't matter what the weather it is simply beautiful.

In short, Cindy and Richard have thought of absolutely everything and it certainly shows.

A real joy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the kingsize bedroom; fantastic views over the loch (all rooms have views such as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKatieKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochedge, Owner at Lochedge, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Katie and Gary,
Thank you for your kind review - it had us welling up for sure. You were the first guests of the season and if our future visitors enjoy their stay as much as you did, we'll be more than happy. Best wishes, Cindy and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights as I was carrying out work at a nearby school. The rooms are very clean and the bed is very comfortable. The power of the shower is excellent which is just what you need after working or walking all day.

The hosts are very friendly and the food is excellent.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isle of Harris hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.0 km away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
0.0 km away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochedge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochedge

Property: Lochedge
Address: 7 Maraig, HS3 3AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Loch Màraig at the foot of Clisham and about a mile below the main Tarbert to Stornoway road, Lochedge is graded as a 4 Star Gold by Visit Scotland and is a member of their Walkers Welcome, Cyclists Welcome and Anglers Welcome scheme. Our location means we are an ideal base for walking in the Harris Hills as well as exploring both Harris and Lewis.We provide stylish, ‘eco-sensible’ accommodation with plenty of space to relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of wildlife out on the loch – and perhaps even sight of an otter out on the shore while you're enjoying breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lochedge Isle Of Harris, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing