We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shilasdair Shop - CLOSED
Review Highlights
Sweet yarn shop

We made a special trip to Shilasdair while on Skye. So glad we took the time. Kirsty and Simon... read more

Reviewed October 6, 2019
Jessica T
via mobile
So sad it’s closing

Went here on its last day this week, bought a good lot of quality wool, so sad it closes end of... read more

Reviewed November 3, 2017
476ianc
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 55 reviews
  
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
39
11
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
11
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 55 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We visited Shilasdair after we had been to Skye Skyns and a great little find it was. I'm no knitter but it was great chatting to a couple of other husbands about cars from the past. I did have a good wander and the wools are beautiful AND the finished articles. We came away with a huge bag of wool and a pattern......we also promised that we would send a photograph once the jumper was finished. Shilasdair is a very relaxing shop and the lady was very informative.....even to the male of the species :-) I'm just sorry she might have to wait a wee while for the photograph.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank GloucestershirePip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shilasdairshop, Owner at The Shilasdair Shop, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words - I'm pleased that you found some like-minded customers to chat to!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is such a lovely shop for knitters, a real yarns paradise! Lovely helpful lady serving and a very peaceful and welcoming atmosphere. The quality of the yarn is excellent and the range of colours stunning. I bought a kit for a knitted cushion which is knitting up beautifully, it contained 3 skeins of wool which rolled into HUGE balls, over 100g each! Excellent value for a yarn of such quality produced with such care and very happy memories in every stitch!

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shilasdairshop, Owner at The Shilasdair Shop, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for your very positive comments about the shop. I'm happy that you enjoyed your trip and made the effort to come those extra miles to find us! Please tell all your crafting friends about us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Been wanting to visit this wee shop for 2 years since a friend gave me a pair of hand-dyed socks from here. As wool enthusiasts and my husband a knitter, we loved the shop - bought some beautiful wool and more socks - honestly they are the hardest-wearing wool socks I've ever owned. They might not look as snazzy as SmartWool brand, but they really last and nothing like wearing a bit of Skye craft every day in the winter! Can't believe a previous review that things are overpriced...I think the prices are very reasonable for things that are handcrafted and one-of-a-kind. Visiting this shop is worth it just for the drive - amazing views down the whole length of Waternish peninsula.

Date of experience: May 2013
3  Thank pesti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shilasdairshop, Manager at The Shilasdair Shop, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for your kind words! I'm glad our socks hit the spot - they are certainly very popular and last for a long time - so I'm always glad when people come back for more. Sorry our weather wasn't kinder to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is NOT like any other shop selling wool and wool products. Shilasdar is an Experience in vibrant colours ...of using natural fibres and combining them with dyes made using traditional methods and naturally growing plants....like lichens and weeds.

There is a captivating video showing the methods made to make wool and dyes and knowledgeable staff that understand what our knitting 'issues' are and so are very helpful.

Their Dyehouse Exhibition was not open today (it is off tourist-season and so in major production mode) but the exhibition is geared to give insight into natural dyeing.

Finished products, locally designed and produced, are for sale as are kits which cater to all levels of knitters.

This is a fun place to visit as well as educational for all ages....and a place to spend money on things from our heritage....in other words a real Treasure

Date of experience: April 2013
1  Thank iMacAdamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shilasdairshop, Owner at The Shilasdair Shop, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of visiting the Shilasdair Shop. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you 'got' what we are trying to achieve. I hope that the rest of your visit to Scotland proved as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited here after a rainy day visit to Skye Skyns just up the road. This place is a paradise for knitters and crocheters with a vast choice of hand dyed wools and yarns. The shop also sells finished garments along with the raw materials and patterns.

Coming along in off season, like a number of places the shop isn't open all day, but we phoned ahead and the shop was open when we arrived. Even if you're not a knitter or crocheter the shop is in a wonderfully peaceful spot with a good view across to the coral beaches near Dunvegan.

1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shilasdairshop, Owner at The Shilasdair Shop, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely comments. It is good to see visitors during our long winter and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay on our glorious island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews