We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage in great location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnside Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning Waternish Peninsula
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The stunning Waternish Peninsula
Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom and view towards the Loch
The view from the master bedroom out towards the Loch
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom with shower
Burnside cottage in the sun
The stunning view from the twin bedroom
Family bathroom with bath and shower
Kids room - with great views of the sea from the top bunk
The stunning colours of a sunset on Watnernish
The garden in full bloom.
The sea arches just the otherside of Ardmore Bay - a short walk from the house.
The burn or little stream of Burnside Cottage
A perfect day in Waternish
The moorland is just out the back door
Sun going down over the Outer hebrides.
Dolphins in the Minch
Watnerish at dusk
The post box by the front gate - from the days when the cottage was the old post office.
A Seal off Waternish point.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
680Elaine...
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in great location.”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a great week at Burnside Cottage.
The house is lovely, so cosy and very comfortable.
The location is fabulous and even although the weather was not kind to us every day, the changing light across the bay provide some beautiful views.
We liked the local pub The Stein Inn and enjoyed some lovely sunsets over a wee tipple.
I would recommend a trip to the Fairy Glen and the Fairy Pools....very pretty.
Hopefully we will return to Skye and Burnside Cottage very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidM235...
1 review
“Great cottage - everything we needed and more.”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Burnside cottage is an excellent, well equipped cottage that offers good value for money. Sara was accommodating to our requests regarding date changes. Generally very helpful, with lots of good information on local walks etc.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
896france...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Burnside cottage is a is fully equiped, very comfortable, extremely clean, great garden and sitting area, great views. There's an east wing and west wing with seperate bathrooms/bedrooms (one en-suite) which is very convenient. The kitchen was great to sit as was of course the lounge. There is also a very comfortable portch where you can sit in the early evenings and watch the beautiful sun-sets. We spent a week there and would have been very happy to stay longer. Definitely to be repeated!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluelizar...
N Wales
Level 6 Contributor
649 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were looking forward to our first visit to Skye and weren’t disappointed. The booking was painless and done online earlier in the year through Holiday Lettings. The owner (Sara) lives abroad but the caretaker (Kim) lives locally (only a few doors away). We were travelling from N Wales the day before with a stopover near Fort William. U sing directions from Google we arrived at Burnside Cottage around 3pm. No sign of anybody to let us in and no instructions in the porch (thankfully unlocked). We waited a while then decided to get a meal at the nearby Stein Inn after leaving a note in the porch with our contact details. We returned a few hours later and still no sign of anybody. It’s now 8pm at night. Luckily we were able to access the internet via our dying mobile phone and obtained a contact number for Sara. We rang and left 2 messages. I then tried Holiday Lettings but they had closed for the day. At 10pm we gave up and slept in the porch as we had no choice (all properties in the area were fully booked). First thing the following morning I rang Holiday Lettings who managed to contact the caretakers husband who let us in with the spare key. I have never been so happy to see a bed and shower! It was upsetting as we were tired but determined not to let it spoil our holiday, which it didn’t. Thankfully it was just us and our dog! Sara did call us later when she received our messages but we were catching up on sleep! She later emailed the code for the key lock. It transpired that the message from Sara via Holiday Lettings giving us the key safe code had not made its way to us. I can’t verify this. In hindsight we should have checked how we were gaining access (serves me right for letting my husband book the trip)! Nevertheless, we enjoyed a lovely week in Skye and the weather was mostly kind to us. The cottage is in a quiet location with views over stunning Loch Bay and beyond. Plenty of walks in the area and you can cover most of Skye by car within a few hours. The only pub / restaurant is Stein Inn. You will need to drive further out for more choice (Dunvegan, Portree etc). The cottage has been renovated to a good standard with contemporary decor, wooden laminate floors (a bit slippy), lovely bedding and skylights in the lounge / bedroom. The kitchen was well laid out with all mod-cons. Unfortunately the central ring on the gas oven decided to start clicking a few days in and only stopped when we switched it off at the mains. We contacted Kim but either nobody came round or else they didn’t manage to fix it. A little frustrating but manageable. My only gripe was the outside area – the exterior walls look tired, the driveway / paths needed a good weeding and the flower tubs need fresh plants or just removing. There were also a number of cigarette butts near the outside tap and in the small trough outside the side door. We did receive a box of chocolates for the inconvenience and a refund for the first night (not sure if this would have happened without a prompt though) but disappointing all the same.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: Spending first night in the porch!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. I was horrified that you had to sleep in the porch the first night. Unfortunately I was away for the night and only received your message the following morning, as soon as I heard I tried to contact you and the caretakers to make sure you could get in, luckily by that time you had managed to get inside. It is strange that you didn't receive all the arrival information I sent via Holiday Lettings I can see that it was sent on my message thread. I now make sure that I send all the information twice once via Holiday Lettings and again through my personal email to try and make sure nobody else has the same experience as you. As a good will gesture we reimbursed you for the first night.
I am sorry that the hob ignitor started to click due to the remote location of the cottage it is difficult to get problems repaired straight away but you will be pleased to know that the hob has now been changed. We have also found a new gardener to help keep the garden under control - everything grows so fast in the spring and summer on Skye.
Please accept my apologies for the mix up and hope it has not put you off visiting this beautiful part of the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannoni
Piacenza, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice and confortable house in a wonderfull place”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My only regret was about shortness of our holiday time.
The house is confortable and very cosy. We used very often the kitchen and it was ok!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Even better than we expected”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is in a lovely position in a quiet remote spot - fantastic if you want to get away from it all which we did. Lovely walks directly from the property and lots to see and do nearby but even the longer trips we took were a pleasure when the drive home each evening was so stunning - driving into a Waternish sunset is something that took our breath away every time.

The house itself is superbly equipped, modern yet cosy and homely - we loved it and would definitely go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacobsdog
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Every Creature Comfort in a Splendid Setting”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
9
people found this review helpful

This was my seventh trip to the Isle of Skye and my wife's third. So you can imagine we are both very much fans of this beautiful place.

We booked Burnside Cottage direct with the owner. She was excellent at responding to our emails and in providing useful information, both for the area itself and the cottage.

The cottage is situated in the peaceful hamlet of Hallistra (about a thirty to forty minutes drive from Portree) on Skye's Waternish Peninsula. It directly overlooks the sea and the views in general from it are stunning.

Burnside Cottage is pet-friendly. We took our two dogs with us and there are some lovely walks to be had without having to drive to the better known sights of the isle. We also noticed no extra charge was made for us having our dogs there - something we've had to pay as an extra to the main booking charge on previous stays elsewhere.

The cottage was spotlessly clean and tidy on arrival and the caretaker couple who oversee its upkeep for the owner, friendly and helpful when we met them.

Burnside Cottage has been provided with every creature comfort you can reasonably think of. Extremely comfy. reclining sofas make it a real pleasure to enjoy the front room area while watching TV/listening to music etc. in the evenings. A quality CD/radio/iPod unit is provided, as is Wi-Fi and satellite TV with an excellent range of channels.

A selection of DVDs and CDs are on hand to compliment your own. There is even a calculator or two, should you want do work out your bills - hopefully not!

The kitchen area has a broad range of good quality appliances: dishwasher,fridge-freezer, breadmaker (with recipe and ingredients provided), microwave, main cooker etc. All cutlery, crockery, glasses, linen, cleaning materials are also on hand. A washing machine and tumble dryer have also been provided, accessed in the utility room.

There are three bedrooms (one with bunk beds), one with shower en-suite, and another separate bath, shower and loo. Fixtures and fittings are quality, the showers powerful and hence enjoyable to use.

There is a log-burning stove in the front room. Ideal for colder nights to enjoy a cosy evening at home. One tip for taller people like myself: do please stoop when walking in the passageway leading from the kitchen to the front room. It is quite low and you can bang your head if you don't!

One particularly enjoyable way of spending time at the cottage, we found, was sitting in the comfortable porch area enjoying some wine, reading or just generally taking in the views.

We had planned to go out for the day most days of our stay; but we found Burnside Cottage so delightfully relaxing and situated that we spend most of time at the cottage or walking nearby with the dogs.

I've done a few reviews for Trip Advisor over the years and usually found some negatives to detail on each one. I can genuinely say that for this review, I cannot think of any, other than our stay having to come to an end at the end of the week.

Burnside Cottage is the best holiday cottage I have stayed in to date. I strongly recommend both it and its location to anyone considering a holiday in self-catering accommodation on the Isle of Skye

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing