We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful well-equipped, cosy cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnside Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom and view towards the Loch
The view from the master bedroom out towards the Loch
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom with shower
Burnside cottage in the sun
The stunning view from the twin bedroom
Family bathroom with bath and shower
Kids room - with great views of the sea from the top bunk
The stunning colours of a sunset on Watnernish
The garden in full bloom.
The sea arches just the otherside of Ardmore Bay - a short walk from the house.
The burn or little stream of Burnside Cottage
A perfect day in Waternish
The moorland is just out the back door
Sun going down over the Outer hebrides.
Dolphins in the Minch
Watnerish at dusk
The post box by the front gate - from the days when the cottage was the old post office.
A Seal off Waternish point.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A wonderful well-equipped, cosy cottage.”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A beautiful, well-equipped cottage in the heart of the wonderful countryside on the Isle of Skye. We all thoroughly enjoyed our week staying at Burnside Cottage . Jasper, our dog thoroughly liked the various walks we did around the Island and we do thank Sara for all the information on where to go and what to do. The weather was not too bad and we were only forced to have one morning in the Cottage due to heavy rain.Even then the sun came out in the afternoon. Thank you Sara for for providing us with 5* accommodation for a lovely experience on the Ilsle of Skye.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
27daniel2...
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
“Wonderful, fully equipped cottage for the all family.”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

This is a wonderful fully equipped cottage, with a great view and a lovely garden. Sara loaded us with local information about the island. So even if you make no plans, you will find helpful books and maps of Isle of Skye in the cottage. Next to great music, books, movies and games for the all family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galesa2
Se Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent well equipped holiday cottage”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had a lovely 2 week stay at Burnside. The cottage is equipped with everything you could imagine. It's roomy and comfortable. Particularly suitable for families and or a couple of couples.

We had a near endless search for a suitable property - required accommodation for 2 couples and possibly an additional couple so 2 bathrooms were essential - that was affordable and comfortable. Burnside was good value for money and fit the bill perfectly.

The nearby Stein and Loch Bay restaurant are walkable at 4 mikes/7ks round trip but it is an undertaking. We used Alis local taxi service on one occasion and walked on another.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pjse2016
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable retreat in scenic location”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this comfortable, clean and well kept cottage in a peaceful rural location in north Skye. It was well equipped and a very cosy and relaxing base to return to after a busy day sightseeing. We hope to return to Skye to continue exploring its wonderful scenery and would certainly be happy to stay in Burnside Cottage again when we go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and well equipped
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjlweir
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at this cottage in October 2015 and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.
The cottage is very well appointed, thought out and spacious, with every possible item provided.
Heating system is great plus added benefits of fireplace...and washing and drying facilities etc.
Whilst the location is remote, the setting is beautiful, stunning views, with lovely coastal and hillside walks - plus you are only five minutes from a very nice local pub.
Very helpful owner who made the entire experience extremely straightforward and hassle free.
We will definitely return in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing