We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely cottage with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of awel y mor

Awel y Mor with glass balcony. ideal for enjoying sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Awel y Mor with glass balcony. ideal for enjoying sunsets
walk-in shower. towels all provided wood burner for those chilly evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Awel y Mor with glass balcony. ideal for enjoying sunsets
walk-in shower. towels all provided
wood burner for those chilly evenings
view across the garden towards the sea
our hens. we give all guests complimentary eggs
Mwnt church
I make welsh cakes for all guests too!
mwnt beach, ideal for a lazy realaxing day or a bracing coastal walk
Awel y mor sitting room
awel y Mor bedroom - leads out onto balcony
this is our pond. guests are welcome to take a walk around it.
this is the view from the cottage kitchen window and  the kitchen sink!
friends waiting for breakfast!
foxgloves out around the pond
now with the added luxury of a tv in the bedroom!
looking back towards our place across the pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cardigan, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sabine E
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a very nice week. The kitchen was fully equipped, the best kitchen we ever had in a holiday cottage. The views from the balcony, especially by sunset, were amazing. We had a very warm welcome from Jenny, she provided us with cookies, milk and eggs.
To find this lovely house, I would recommend GPS-Coordinates or very good travel directions.
I would recommend this house to friends and family and everyone, who is looking for a quiet, friendly place at a stunning coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quietness and Views
Liked least: slow Wifi
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review! Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you had a good journey home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopemwnt
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned from another great holiday at Awel y mor. This must be the 6th Easter we've spent in this beautiful well equipped cottage . Welcome includes Welsh cakes, tea, coffee (enough for several days) milk and fresh eggs. Cottage warm and comfortable with everything you need for a quiet relaxing holiday. Great views from the balcony. Thanks Jenny and Richard. See you again next year, if not before

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Was good to see you both again. Glad you enjoyed and that the weather was obliging too! See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz E
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage with everything you could want”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a great stay here. The cottage was clean and tidy when we arrived with little homely touches such as fresh flowers, eggs from the chickens on the farm and a plate of Welsh cakes. We have often found that places which look as good as this one are sadly lacking when you look below the surface - not this one! The kitchen was well equipped, the place was very warm with thermostats so you could have it at the temperature you required, a very comfortable bed and the most amazing view over the fields to the sea. It is also only a mile from one of the best places to spot dolphins on the coast. In fact the only slight drawback to the place was the intermittent internet service - down to the lack of good broadband service in Wales and not the owners fault. We are already planning when we shall return as we loved it so much and would highly recommend it to other people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and tidy and in a great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopemwnt
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway from it all”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our 4th visit to Bigni cottages Mwnt. We stayed in Awel y Mor this time and with the fab weather were able to take full advantage of the balcony. Sat out watching the wildlife and the amazing sunsets everyday. The cottage was clean and very well equipped with eggs, milk, tea and Welsh cakes on arrival. Jenny and Richard are on hand if required. It was great to see the dogs, lambs and chickens again. This cottage is a wonderful place for a quiet relaxing holiday. Mwnt beach is walk away and the coast path a great place to watch out for dolphins and seals. We are sure to return and would recommend to anyone looking for a little bit of peace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie D
1 review
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Where to start?!? Despite a week of typical British summer time weather, my fiancé, ten year old stepson and I had a lovely week away at Awel y Mor.

We arrived at this beautiful cottage and were blown away by the view (nothing but countryside and sea to be seen for miles). The hard work and time that Jenny and Richard have put into renovating and maintaining the cottage is definitely worth it. Inside the cottage is beautifully presented and clean. The log burner was set up ready for us on arrival; it came in very handy on a couple of cooler nights!! The thoughtful touches, e.g. welsh cakes and eggs and milk were lovely! Jenny and Richard made us feel very welcome and were next door if we needed anything.

There's lots to do nearby, we would recommend:
* Mwnt beach - a must!! Beautiful little beach, with a shop and toilet facilities; approximately 15 minute walk from the cottage.
* New Quay - we had a couple of lovely visits, nice beach and dolphin watching.
* Cardigan Bay Island Farm Park- lots of fun was had clapping for the seals!
* Penbryn Beach - a lovely little walk from St Michael's Church through the woods down to the beach.

Would definitely recommend and am hoping to visit again! Thanks again to Jenny and Richard for everything. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many to list!
Liked least: The weather!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopemwnt
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our forth stay at Swn y Mor, next to the above cottage. Cottage in wonderful location away from it all. Views of the setting sun over Cardigan Bay. The cottage is very well equipped and decorated, The owner provides lots of extras that make this holiday home that extra bit special. Tea, milk, fresh eggs in fridge and welsh cakes on arrival. What more could you want after a journey. No need to buy dishwasher or washing tablets all provided. We will be back next year if not before. Oh and of course the farm dogs who keep you entertained.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill I
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage in a beautiful place”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Everything in this cottage was well thought out and well equipped. The view from the upstairs bedroom was stunning with gorgeous sunsets over the sea. There was a log burner and a gas barbecue and loungers on the balcony so we could sit and gaze at the view. The best rental we have ever stayed in. Owners friendly but not intrusive. We had a wonderful week of relaxation and sunshine and were very sorry when we had to leave

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views , primitive to the beach
Liked least: Could not access the wifi all week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing