We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“October Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“October Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

As soon as we walked into the Ty'r Graig Hotel it was a 'Wow' factor. 'Steve' the Hotel Manager greeted us with a great warmth and friendliness. He told us about the hotel and showed us around before we checked into our rooms. Our rooms were lovely and the sea view from our rooms were amazing. Breakfast was leisurley looking out over the sea and the service was very good.

We would recommend this hotel and we will be definately going back.

Room Tip: Sea View or four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    105
    39
    16
    7
See reviews for
29
282
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
staffs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

this review is over due my computer was stolen stayed at this hotel in september had a turret room very nice clean and warm it was decorated well the views are really good all though the estate below is not good breakfast was really nice the staff were quite friendly had breakfast in the conservetry which was cold better heating needed !we had an evening meal which was good all though bit overpriced lounge is really nice and warm and anice place to relax overall a nice place to stay we didnt like barmouth but thats us other nice places to go .overall a good hotel just a mention the bath room was so very small knew this we i booked but didnt relise how small.try the hotel it is really different....

Room Tip: have a turret room view fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel has a stunning view with spacious and comfortable rooms. The service is first class and all the staff friendly and willing to help. My colleague and I travel all over the country with our work and we are very hard to impress. This hotel, from the owners to the staff, go the extra mile to make sure your stay is a most relaxing and pleasurable experience. We thoroughly recommend this hotel , first rate and we will be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have just returned fron a couple of days in this hotel and wow what a great improvment it was from 4 yrs ago. I satying in a single room that had views to die for and so clean and fresh.. proberbly the best single room I have ever staying in a hotel. The staff are very helpful and the owner so welcoming.... The meals are first class also.. Ok it is not a castle but it has so much more to offer and if you look at it the history is great... All in I would recommend this hotel and hope to return soon.. relaxing and charming .. thanks to all

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed in one of the turret rooms for three nights in October. Nice room with sea views out of three windows. Reasonably clean (some signs of mould in the bathroom but nothing too bad) with tea and coffee making facilities. Tiny bathroom with electric shower. Nicely decorated.

Had two evening meals which were good. I agree that they were slightly overpriced but the service was good and the food well prepared and presented (although my prawns were overcooked). Reasonable wine list.

Cooked breakfast was excellent. Could do with more choice at buffet (e.g. yoghurt, pastries).

Wi fi available but didn't work too well upstairs.

No lift and no ground floor rooms so would be a problem for anyone with mobility difficulties.

Nice feel to this victorian hotel with nice entrance hall and staircase and stained glass windows.

Nice area for a holiday and although it was very windy we had a great time. The Tyr Graig is worth a try and is reasonable value for money..

Room Tip: Go for a turret room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Had a lovely 2 night stay. The room was very clean and comfortable, with great views. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. Would definitely recommend and would love to return one day.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompson868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Arrived for a one night stay, on entry it is evident that the hotel is steeped in Victorian history, On being shown to the room the smell of damp smacked us in the face. The ceiling was fighting back the mould which the owner later informed had been down to a rendering issue which was now fixed. Parts of the walls had suffered too. The room was small but functional. The bathroom however was very small, meaning that the sink overlapped the toilet. Breakfast was quite good and the staff were pleasant and helpful. It was really just the room that let the stay down, but it's views of the sea and Barmouth are very impressive.

Room Tip: dont bother paying the extra for a turret room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cannell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1.7 km away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.6 km away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
20.3 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.6 km away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.9 km away
Crystal House
Crystal House
#15 of 24 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Property: Ty'r Graig Castle
Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing