We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful!”
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dreadful!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

http://www.tyrgraigcastle.co.uk/ makes this place look like a top class luxury establishment; make no mistake - IT IS NOT.

First impressions on arrival were not good. The whole of the exterior is stained with mould or algae and there are weeds growing form gaps in the mortar of the stone work - very grubby indeed.

We stayed in one of the turret rooms and we were immediately disgusted by the state of the carpets; they were truely filthy. Plasterwork on the ceiling is cracked and the wallpaper is lifting from the walls, presumably due to damp. Our room was freezing and we had to ask for the heating to be put on upon arrival - a very uninspiring start to what should have been a 2 night romantic break.

There is a great view of the sea but, unfortunately, this is spoiled by a caravan site, a rusty railway line and a sad little housing estate dominating the view - fortunately the fog rolled in shortly after we arrived so the view disappeared completely - a great improvement.

I had considered eating here but a quick inspection of the area around the back of the kitchens was enough to put me off - I wonder if all the positive comments about the standard of the food in the visitors book would have been made if these happy customers were aware of the conditions in which it had been prepared.

The heating was turned off sometime late in the evening and the temperature in our room plumetted again, so much so that sleep was impossible and, by 4am it was so cold that I sat in my car for an hour with the heating going full-bore in an attempt to restore circulation.

Did I complain? No; there would have been little point as nothing short of bulldozing the entire creaking pile into the sea and rebuilding from scratch would have resulted in an acceptable stay.

Finally, the sign outside boasts 4 stars - who awarded these stars? Helen Keller? A retired Soviet Gulag inspector? It certainly cannot be one of the recognised rating agencies.

So a planned 2 night get-away turned into a grubby over-night shiver-fest - we left early [without risking the breakfast]

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Adrian802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sporeman001, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Mr Smith,

Thank you for your comments. Naturally, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with Barmouth, the weather (as mentioned in a private e-mail ) and your overnight stay here with us at Tyr Graig Castle.

It’s a shame you didn’t pick up from our warm welcome that we are here to cater for your comfort. If only you had told us you were unhappy we could have easily done something about it including changing your room.

We have initiated a full inspection of your room following your comments and have identified the problem causing the discolouration on the wallpaper and it has now being rectified.

The exterior of the 120-year old building does show some effects of our harsh coastal weather particularly as it’s elevated and is exposed to the open sea. A closer inspection would have revealed to you that the south facing turret and the adjoining annexe have been completely and newly rendered. This was done last year and the rest of the building is scheduled to undergo the same next year.

In regard to heating, it is impossible for us to satisfy everyone’s individual needs. As a case in point, 2 other guests commented to us how warm their rooms were on the same night of your stay. Our policy to not keep the heating on all through the night is based purely on majority preference. For those who do feel the cold, there are extra blankets in each room and if necessary we would make a portable heater available, on request, as documented in our guest information folder.

The area you referred to at the back of the building is our empty bottles collection area. Unfortunately, by nature, such areas are not pretty to look at which is why it’s situated away from general view. We can however assure you that we do maintain a very high standard of hygiene and pest control. In fact, our kitchen holds a 5-star rating for food hygiene from the Food Standards Agency. If you had eaten with us, you would have understood why we have so many happy customers commenting about our food in the visitor’s book.

On the subject of rating, we are also pleased to advise that we received our 4-star award from Visit Wales, one of four national assessing bodies (Visit England, Visit Scotland and the AA being the others) who all assess holiday accommodation to the same criteria and star awards.

We regret that you didn’t have the same positive experience as the majority of our guests to the point that you feel you would like this beautiful old building to be bulldozed into the sea. Thankfully you are the only one that wishes this extreme punishment on her, but we thank you for your opinion nevertheless.

Janette Osman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    109
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
30
290
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a beautiful hotel, with friendly, attentive staff. The owner showed us around the hotel on our arrival with a potted history of the building, very interesting. Information for locking up if out late and times of meals.
The food was delicious, both breakfast and our evening meal, they even provided me with 'veggie sausages' for my cooked breakfast, a rareity. No hurrying us out of the dining room, just patient and attentive staff.
The room we were allocated was beautifully decorated, the bed comfortable and everything worked.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with three windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear DebbyP
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate and value all feedback. We're pleased to find that you appreciated the "little touches" and that you were happy with your stay at Ty'r Graig.
Kind regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just come back from a 2 night stay at this wonderful hotel. The views are just breathtaking! We had dinner one evening there and the food was very good as was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a 4poster bed room...amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nishsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Nishky,
Thank you for posting a review of Ty'r Graig and your recent stay. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, from the restaurant to the four poster, both of which have the spectacular views you loved.
Kind regards
Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The (rather cosy) room had an excellent sea view. The castle is wonderfully quirky and atmospheric. Very good food in the restaurant overlooking the sea. Breakfast was one of the best we had! The host is very friendly and made us feel at home.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the bigger room. A sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear c g
Thank you for taking the time to post a review here; we value and appreciate all feedback. Your kind comments have been passed to the people concerned and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Kind regards
Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

What a super place! spotlessly clean, great staff and good grub. My first time in Barmouth and I'll be spending a lot more in this hotel...hopefully. My thanks to all the staff and of course CHEF!.

Room Tip: We had a turett room over looking the bay...super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nektarios B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This hotel is good value, food is always good - we have stayed a number of times and always happy with the service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_andi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

As soon as we walked into the Ty'r Graig Hotel it was a 'Wow' factor. 'Steve' the Hotel Manager greeted us with a great warmth and friendliness. He told us about the hotel and showed us around before we checked into our rooms. Our rooms were lovely and the sea view from our rooms were amazing. Breakfast was leisurley looking out over the sea and the service was very good.

We would recommend this hotel and we will be definately going back.

Room Tip: Sea View or four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmouth
1.7 km away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
194 reviews
0.6 km away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
308 reviews
20.3 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
1.7 km away
Morwendon House
Morwendon House
#1 of 3 in Llanaber
409 reviews
1.6 km away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Property: Ty'r Graig Castle
Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty'r Graig Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing