We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good holiday”

Review of Valley view barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
1 review
“Good holiday”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Situated on a farm, very friendly hosts, the kids loved feeding the lambs! area of exceptional beauty, constant flies but you expect them on a farm, would go there again!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmc0633
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed January 15, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Just returned home from a weekend at the barn. The photos do not do the property justice at all! The accommodation is over two floors and is well spaced. We had 12 adults in our party and we had plenty of room without feeling on top of each other. A beautiful Welsh welcome hamper on arrival which was unexpected. A well equipped kitchen and a great kitchen table that easily sat all of us with plenty of room for extras.

A few minor flaws - no lighting, solar or otherwise outside to enter/exit the hot tubs which worked. There is a step so be careful in the dark. The hot tubs were great but did trip out a few times, this was rectified every time we asked so wasn't too much of a problem and we were shown how to manage if happened again. Upstairs shower had had a leak before we arrived but with 6 other bathrooms/shower rooms available wasn't really an issue.

Barn owners were friendly and approachable (even the dogs). Overall a great weekend had by all in an amazing location on a working farm with the most spectacular views. We would definitely recommend it to large groups and mixed ages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2018
Thank you and hope to see you all again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katiewood...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

So last week a few days prior to us coming to the cottage we tried to ring them for key arrangements but couldn't get hold of them... eventually we got hold of them only to be told that the shower had broken and dishwasher had broken but was hoping to be fixed for when we got there. When we got there the lady took us round and basically might aswell of told us what was working... the dishwasher hadn't been sorted, the shower wasn't working ( main shower upstairs) we couldn't put the lights on outside because it was tripping electricity.., so had to go out in the hot tub in the pitch black and nearly broke our necks due to the drop next to the hot tub as well as not being able to see what we were doing! Then hot tub tripped the first night the farmer came round sorted it day after but said if we needed anything then tough as he wouldn't be available... it tripped again so couldn't use oneof the hot tubs. We asked if someone came to clean the hot tubs on a daily basis... she said that her husband would come do it but he's pretty useless... about 10 mins later came back with chemicals for us to do it ourselves. There was no path to the hot tub was gravel/ stones which meant some of the girls cut their foot going in and out of the hot tub. We didn't get given a key for the cottage so all weekend it was unlocked so we couldn't go out... they had dogs that kept appearing out of no where ( counted four) we get it was on a farm but they were constantly outside didn't go in to the point most nights ( early mornings) we'd get woken up with the dogs barking! It's fair to say I've been to a lot of cottages not had a problem but I won't be coming back to this one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
First of all can I say how sorry I am that you did not enjoy your stay at the barn, then to your complaints you offered to do the hot tubs yourself when you said that the last place you stayed they did not treat the water and it turned green and you couldn't use it. The one dishwasher was broken but you did have another in the barn, also the shower has been damaged and was out of use as I couldn't get it fixed in time for your stay. There really solar lights out side by the hot tubs so there shouldn't have been a problem there, and lastly dogs barking, to be fair when you have people screaming and laughing out load whilst in the hot tubs that you say you couldn't use then the dogs will bark. And you did not have to damage my oak flooring by having a ketchup fight and then comment in the visitors book how you has a saucy time. That now has to be sanded down and restrained. So again thanks for taking the time to post this review and sorry we all felt a bit let down
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gkhandake...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

There are two hot tubs at this property, however we were only able to use one at a time as they both tripped out (on separate occasions) and took 10 hours to warm back up. As we were a large group this was very disappointing as we were not able to enjoy the tubs as a whole group. Also the outside lights were tripped so making your way from the tub to the house was very dangerous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Sorry to hear this but the hot tubs have 2 heaters in them and take 3 to 4 hours max to heat up and also there are solar lights at the hot tubs so is not dangerous
And as you have made clear a disappointing weekend away but because of that did you al find it funny to have a ketchup fight in the kitchen marking the oak foot in there and then commenting how you all had a saucy time.
Really not a good way to leave somewhere when your going to complain.
Again sorry you had such a bad time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbawil
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peacefull in luxurious surroundings !!”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a large group of 12 for a family get together! it was perfect, very secluded and away from everything. Perched on a hill overlooking hills and forest with just the wildlife to submerge yourself into.
The Barn is luxurious all but two of the 7 bedrooms had ensuites two kitchens one on each floor, handy to have the food separate from the drinks! The kitchen up stairs is huge and accommodates 12/14 with ease. The louse upstairs holds the most fabulous view that you just don't want to tear yourself away from.
Outside you have a enclosed small garden with limited grass and two hot tubs to share between you all. At night this is a wonderful experience to sit and watch the stars and enjoy the peace and quiet!
A must for anyone who just wants to get away from it all

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you and look forward to seeing you all again
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Property”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely excellent property, plenty of space for everyone.
Friendly owners who couldn't do enough for you.
Location is amazing with stunning views. Loved sitting in the hot tubs looking over the valley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonhY3...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing place, the owners are brilliant, sorted a minibus for our party of girls into Rhayader, I phoned numerous times with different queries and Sharon the owner was amazing! The barn is spectacular a must see, we (11 ladies celebrating 40th) had a fab time and would highly recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you and look forward to seeing you all again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing