We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court, two blocks form one of Canada's longest Beaches, Wasaga.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasaga Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court
Ranked #3 of 16 Wasaga Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I have visited the Mermaid for many years. The present owners Iwona and Graham have done a lot to maintain the property. They have also gone green with the addition of solar panels on the Motel roof. Three of the cottage are quaint and relaxing with wood sculptures dotting the premises you feel further north then Wasaga. One of the cottages has a jacuzzi.

There are more modern cottages and two story units all with gas fireplaces. The court has space for children to play and their is a swimming pool for families or a early morning or late afternoon dip.

The Motel is good sized rooms with mini fridge and coffee and tea you can make in the room. The owners are meticulous in their care of the property.

You can walk out of your rental to the Beach to stroll down to the Beach and either go for a nice walk and view the Escarpement to the west and the wonderful sunsets or walk along to Beach Five Park where there are swings and places to BBQ and spend the day with shade and convneinces.

The property is located on Mosley and not far from a large grocery store and Shoppers and fast food outlets to the west. If you want to go to Coillingwood it is about a twenty minute drive just west and there are other towns worth a visit; Thornbury and Meaford are the closer ones but Owen Sound is also worth a trip, on scenic Highway 26 that runs north along in parts Georgian Bay.

If you drive west you can get a Tim Horton's drop into a very large Dollarama and then turn along the old Wasaga Road that you can turn on to from this plaza and pass some of the other Beach park sites and cottage of Wasaga till you get to Beach One and more famous town of Wasaga Beach. This also includes the historic site of the 18th C British Navy sailing ship the Nancy that was sunk in the Nottawasga River and is covered by a museum building that has the look of sails itself, during the wars of 1812.
The town of Wasaga the big stores and Gifts stores for surfers and one that looks like a Castle further along the main road just south of the area. An area with The Diner a 1950's style diner and other food outlets.

The joy of being in a town that has been a tourist attraction from a very early ear is that a lot of it remains the same and so do the pleasures of going there.

To cap off a trip to this iconic are there is Uncle Norman's Nephew Ice Cream Parlor to chat with the owner and indulge in one of the many flavours of ice cream he offers.

This is Ontario at its best, great accomodation, great location and many delights to find and just relax no fuss. It all starts at the Mermaid. It is appealing to not just the young but to older generation as well and all are made welcome.

Room Tip: A lot to choose from and all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PathonyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Great place for family vacation Mermaid Motel is in a great location so close to everything. My teen loves the pool so did I. The swimming pool is salted water and heated. The play ground, ping pong table, campfire at night, they have everything to amuse the children if you don't mind walking, it is lake and beach walking distance. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable and very clean. Bathroom are large very clean and bright. Towels and sheets smell nice, fresh wind and sun. There are also cottages and condos with your own kitchen and pots and plates. Fridge are big enough to store food for the whole week for a family of four. Each cottage has its own bbq witch my husband loves. Since 2005 vacationing in this place we stay at they're motels, cottages, condos and we love every minute spent there. Thank you for having us and see you next year!

Room Tip: It depends if your a single or a family so family cottage and single person couple night at motel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 411leszekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This is a family motel with rooms and cottages. Wifi is spotty. TVs & fridges in rooms. Variety of beds available depending on the room. Largest cottage has 3 bedrooms. The cottages get booked early in season. Very friendly welcome always. Cleanliness is important to them however you'll need to provide your own glasses and tissue. Coffee machines not found in motel rooms. Tim Hortons is on Mosley Street in a mall area to the right as you look at the street....not far away. The pool and playground are enclosed and appear to be very family friendly. Bring your own beach towels!

Room Tip: Rooms to the side and not on Mosley will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marilyn154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We decided to book it and skip off work for a few days to have a ladies getaway. We are all between 40 - 50. Weather in Ontario was the bomb this summer and when you can get a few days at the beach why not go to the longest freshwater beach in the world "Wasaga"? We chose the Mermaid because it is family run and has a reputation for being well located, super clean and the bonus of a saltwater pool.

We had a basic motel room on the main road. It was the lowest priced room they have. It came with tow doubles, great air con, a cold fridge. It was super clean and a nice 10 minute walk to beach access.

It was noisy due to construction out front on the main road but as we were at the beach during the day who cared? Not us. We all had folding chairs and walked to the beach where we hung out for the afternoon with a few chilled "travellers".

Walked back went for a swim in the really clean, warm and nicely appointed pool. Ordered pizza (can't remember the name of the place but it was in the hotels list) and it was really good - really bacon - properly cooked.

They have other room classes and housekeeping cottages which looked really nicely set-up with private outdoor space. (There was also shared outdoor space for barbecuing and outside dining for the motel rooms although we didn't use it as we ordered in)

Went for a twilight walk to shed some of the wine and pizza calories which was amazing. Big full mom and silvery reflection on a perfect Ontario summer night...

Beds were firm, room was super clean and comfortable. The management at the Mermaid makes sure the setting is fun and welcoming and clean. Obviously they've been doing this "right" for a long time. Great value for the price.

Would I come back - oh yes! we've got it pencilled in. See you on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeniszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

My family stayed in cottage#4 for 2 nights. The owners were most welcoming and helpful. Our cottage was very spacious, clean and well equipped. We also had our own private bbq and deck. It is a great place for children, with the outdoor pool and play area and only a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pbenn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

My husband and I have stayed here twice this year in July and August, and it was amazing. Great people, warm pool, spacious rooms and loved that we could bbq our steak right there as well.We stayed a room with a kitchenette so convinient and lots of appliances in there.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ShariBill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I arrived for my first visit at the Mermaid 22Aug and stayed for 3 beautiful sunny days. What a fabulous time!

From the road, the Mermaid appears to be motel accommodations however, when you enter the property, it contains numerous charming cottages and condos. This GEM is decorated with carvings, totem pole like carvings and birdhouses.
I booked a very clean and very comfortable one bed unit that also contained a decent size fridge.
There is a heated salt water pool with plenty of chaise lounges and a couple of picnic tables with umbrellas on the pool deck. There is also a bbq area that is provided complimentary to guests. As well, there is a ping pong table.
Beach 5 is a short 5 minute stroll down the road. Superstore, LCBO and Tims are a 2 minute drive.
The owners are very kind, friendly and accommodating, ensuring daily, that I had everything I needed. I was also very impressed with them addressing their guests by name!
I was also fortunate to meet another couple of ladies staying there and we got along fabulously which just made the stay ever more fun!
I wish I had have learned about the Mermaid years ago but now I have, I definitely will be returning!!

Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: Select one of the cottages or the side street motel rooms. Will be quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenamuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wasaga Beach hotels
5.9 km away
Saga Resort
Saga Resort
#2 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
151 reviews
6.3 km away
J&J Motel
J&J Motel
#4 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
29 reviews
4.4 km away
Wasaga Motel
Wasaga Motel
#3 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#5 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
45 reviews
5.8 km away
Villa Nova Motel Resort
Villa Nova Motel Resort
#6 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
26 reviews
3.1 km away
Oasis By The Bay Vacation Resort
Oasis By The Bay Vacation Resort
#2 of 32 in Wasaga Beach
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court

Address: 1600 Mosley St, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wasaga Beach
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mermaid Motel & Cottage Court Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing