We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave it a try, but will NEVER be back.”
Review of Kingsbridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsbridge Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We needed to extend our trip & chose to stay overnight in the Wasaga Beach area, rather than Collingwood. Knowing that prices ranged from $90 - $150 / night, this seemed like a good bet with a rare vacancy on a Friday night. We checked in, & quickly discovered why it's a budget overnight spot...

I'm 30yrs old, travel the province weekly & have spent nights at dozens of motels during the past few months. The lousy, stiff double mattresses at Kingsbridge Inn had me waking up with back aches & pains that I've never felt before. I couldn't decide if this was due to the stiff mattress, or plastic, hospital-issue pillows...

The A/C unit (probably from the '60s) didn't work well, but when it did, it kept us awake for hours with it's unacceptably loud operation volume. The cover fell off twice onto my laptop, revealing an air filter that had more dust than filter.

The water pressure (2nd floor unit) was terrible, but otherwise, the washroom was acceptable & really quite large, and really highlighted how small the bedroom actually was. The mismatched, poor quality, and non-sturdy furniture we left unused.

We wore slippers constantly to avoid stepping onto the soiled & stained carpeting (which hadn't been vacuumed despite 2 visits from "Room Service"). Complaining or calling for a return visit by housekeeping could have been possible, IF a phone had been provided. NO PHONE? In addition, the internet access was extremely slow & unreliable.

If not for close proximity (2 - 3 minutes by car) to the beach, this "Inn" would remain vacant during even the peak season. I've stayed in dozens of motels around the province for as little as $35 / night, & they were much cleaner, larger, well-appointed and better maintained than this Kingsbridge Inn. The hallway leading to the staircase looks like it's under construction & rugs were thrown on the floor to hide shoddy work.

The staff were very friendly, even allowing us to check out shortly past noon, but that doesn't come close to excusing all the other shortfalls in comfort, and convenience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wintersledding, Owner at Kingsbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

In response to this person, he had called the motel a few times before booking, this was the last room to offer him in his price range, and even then he got a deal for 2 nights, and he states prices ranged from $90.00 to $150.00, well he did not pay anywhere near $90.00 a night. He knew exactly what type of room he was getting as per the phone calls, he knew there wasn't phones in the rooms, the internet is free, extra car parking is free, the coffee is free and made for guests in the mornings, and most people like a firm mattress. We are not the Holiday Inn and know it, and we are very competive in our rates and you get what you pay for, as there are newer and nicer motels in the area he could have chosen. We have good housekeepers and they did vacuum and clean his room daily. We are always concerned when we have not pleased a guest, and are not given a chance to make them happy, we cannot correct a situation if it is not brought to our attention while they are here and we may have refunded their money and then they could have gone elsewhere more to their likeing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

We had a motel room with 2 double beds, 20" TV with about 60 channels, fridge, a/c, small bathroom with shower(no tub). Right outside each room is a table and umbrella, park bench. $80 for Sun. & Mon. - $40 for third nite!! Staff is amazing (Dianne & Amber). The motel is older but very clean. Coffee available every morning at the office. A great place to stay if you don't plan on spending all your time in the room. About a 10-12 minute walk to the beach. Salt water pool very clean. BBQ's available for guests use. Efficiency units available as well. Super Walmart across the street along with box stores and restaurants (Boston Pizza). Dianne recommended the Georgian Circle Family Restaurant. It is about a 8 minute drive to the other end of town, but well worth it. Friendly staff, great food and huge portions. Home style cooking at its best. We will definitely return to both next visit to Wasaga Beach.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gogowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

If you are looking to just get away but aren't to particular about how fancy or glarious the place, then you will love it at the Kingsbridge Inn...Lots of smiles and laughter from both the staff and the other friendly visitors.
Apon our travel to Wasaga Beach we pact enough for 2 days, but in the event that we could not find a place to stay that was affordable we would just make a whole day of the beach and return home.( due to the price of gas, food ect.....)
We got a really good deal at the Kingsbridge Inn and ended up staying for 3 nights, getting the 3rd night with 50% off..WHAT A DEAL!!!!
' DOES THIS WOMAN EVER SLEEP '. She ( the owner ) is up at an early hour and has coffee out for all to enjoy. On my travel to retrieve a cup for my husband and myself she is already working at vacuuming the pool to have it clean and ready for everyone. We must have seen her trott past our room atleast 20 times in a day trying to help someone or just doing what she could to keep her customers happy...NO WONDER SHE IS SO SKINNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Our room was no fancy palace but it certainly was clean and cozy, and the cleaning staff looked after us well, making sure our towels were fresh and our rooms tidy.
Our stay at the Kingsbridge Inn was found to be very pleasant from the whole family.. Friendly staff and very enjoyable company from many other visitors.
For an older motel we found it to be quite compfortable and nice and I feel I got more for my dollar during our visit to Wasaga Beach this year then we got in 2006.
To all the staff at Kingsbridge Inn we thank you and Cheers to you all..

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luvbugOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

I booked this motel because it was advertised as being a five minute walk to the beach and the pictures on their web site showed large, clean, comfortable rooms. But, in reality, the beach is 2.5 miles away. And the room was small and dirty with a very uncomfortable bed. The futon was also very uncomfortable due to it being very thin so you could feel the springs through it. There was no bathtub, only a tiny shower stall. The air conditioner was very noisy.

The TV had few channels and no Family Channel, which didn't please my grand-daughter. The pool wasn't too bad. It is a salt water pool, so no chlorine. But it really needed cleaning.

I plan on going back to Wasaga Beach again next year, but I will definitely not be staying at this place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retired_and_happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wintersledding, owner at Kingsbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2008

We have driven to the beach and it is exactly .09 kms to the waters edge, which is less than half a mile, not anywhere near the 2 1/2 miles as stated by this person. We have had guests tell us it is only a five min walk, we say 7 to 10 mins. We have Rogers Cable TV in every room, with over 40 channels and several are family channels. We have a heated, salt water pool that is cleaned every morning, and kept sparkling clean, and inspected through out the summer, by the Health dept. If this person was so unhappy with the room we would have gladly upgraded them to a bigger room, if possible, and this person could have told the office or the cleaners, that it was not cleaned to their liking, and again we would have been more than happy to do whatever was needed to make his or hers stay a happy one. I am sorry this person did not have a good holiday here, but wish they had come and spoken to us so we could have had the opportunity to please them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We’re a couple in our early 30s and we stayed at Kingsbridge Inn over the Civic Holiday long week-end. We stayed in a motel room at the inn, not the cottage so our rooms were obviously different in appearance. When booking the motel, there is a minimum of two nights for a long week-end. At the time of booking, they charge your credit card for one night’s stay and the balance along with the taxes (10%) is charged when you check-in. Check-in is at 3:00 pm (that’s what I was told but the sign on the back of the door says 2:00 pm), so you might want to clarify. Check-out is at 10:00 am and if you stay any longer than 10:00 am, the same sign in the room says they will charge you for an extra night’s stay. To expedite check-in, provide a photocopy of your id (remember to ask for it back if you wish when you check-out). They also take an imprint of your credit card when you check in.

Even though they say it’s only 5 minute walk to Beach area 1, it actually took 10 to 12 minutes to walk to Beach area 1. Beach area 1 is the most crowded and the further west you go, the beach areas are less crowded. Beach area 1 however is where they have the restaurants, shops and Bananas Beach Club and where all the events take place.

Grounds: They do have gas barbecues around the resort which you can use but we never used them as we always ate out. Also, there is a sauna and a salt water pool that is open from 10:00 am to 10:00 pm. There are lots of inflatable pool toys and floats for kids. Coffee is provided every morning.

Rooms: We were in a second floor room right opposite the swimming pool. The staircase and the hallway are really narrow and the room was not really that big but we only stayed for two nights so it wasn’t a big deal. We had an air-conditioned room with a queen size bed, a mini-fridge, alarm clock and TV. The funny thing was that we couldn’t find a remote for the TV. There was no phone or hair dryer in the room. There is also wireless internet at Kingsbridge Inn so we were able to use our laptop to look up for restaurants in the vicinity. You have to call the front desk to get the access code in order to use the laptop. The bathroom had a tub with a shower. The only toiletries provided were a couple of really small bars of soap so bring your own toiletries. Bath towels were provided. The housekeeping made the beds, cleaned the rooms and the bathroom, and changed the towels. The housekeeping can be trusted as we had our laptop and wallet in the room and nothing was even touched.

Area: Right across the Kingsbridge Inn is Boston Pizza and right next to Kingsbridge Inn is the 50s and 60s Diner where they serve all day breakfast. We really liked the deco of the place but there is a lineup for breakfast as it’s gets really crowded. Breakfast was reasonably priced,( 3 eggs, bacon, sausages with hash brown was $4.99). We also had dinner here one night but hardly anyone here for dinner (closes at 8 pm). We also walked a bit further and had dinner at Mr. Sizzles the second night (Seafood and Cajun Grill) which had delicious Steak and Shrimps for a reasonable price. They also served Pina Coladas. There is also a Wal-Mart right across the Kingsbridge Inn and Coffee Time a bit further dwon from Wal-Mart. As you walk in the opposite direction towards the Beach Area 1, there are also some stores that sell beachwear, Western hats, t-shirts and souvenirs which I personally found were all overpriced.

Overall, even though the Kingsbridge Inn was satisfactory, we would prefer to stay somewhere a bit closer to the beach next time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jackie1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

This motel needs a makeover FAST!!! When I walked in I wanted to turn around and get out of there! We were told that we would have a sepreate bedroom, which we did but it was the size of a tent! The bathroom was so tiny and did not even have a bathtub! the shower stall was rediculously filthy and the floor of it had cracked paint and mold, so filthy that my kids would not even go in it. The sink leaked and the whole place smelled musty. The housekeepers are chain smoking teenagers who have probably never even cleaned their own rooms, much less an entire motel! When they left after cleaning our unit, they did not even change the sheets or vacumn the carpet. I had to pick the crumbs off the floor with my fingers! The bed was sloppily made and the sheets weren't even tucked in. If it wasn't for the fact my husband really needed to get away and relax, I would have insisted that we leave! I asked twice to change rooms but everything was booked. Our room didn't even have a phone! The walls were covered in wood panelling (so 70's) and the entire unit was smaller that my kitchen at home! In that small space they crammed in one bedroom, a kitchen, bathroom, a futon, an old table and chairs and a t.v! I felt totally claustrophobic!!!! Our bathroom was covered in large ants, no wonder though because they don't ever vacumn!! We went and stayed at the Donato House for our last night which was a breath of fresh air and a wonderful place to stay! I was very disappointed in the Kingsbridge Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BurlingtonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wintersledding, owner at Kingsbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2008

Yes we are an older motel, and we have renovated more than half of our 34 rooms. I do agree that wood paneling is outdated, and this year 2009 we are planning on changing that. Our rooms do not have phones and so far has never been a problem, now with cell phones, or our wireless internet, and we do have a pay phone. When guest gets a call we make sure they receive the message. When we take a reservation we do try to upsell the larger units if available. Also we try to make sure the guests know exactly what they are getting and what is in the room. When someone is not happy with the cleaning or the room we really try to move them or do whatever they need to make them comfortable. An unhappy guest is unacceptable to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

This August, our family spent a week in Wasaga Beach. We stayed at the Kingsbridge Inn a few blocks away from the beach. We enjoyed our day-trips to the beach and surrounding areas, Blue Mountain and Collingwood. The hosts, Dianne, Larry and Sophie were "great". They were very knowledgeable and extremely helpful with directions etc. Being long time residents of the beach they were able to advise us when and were to go, and at what times for traffic etc. The motel room, as well as the grounds were kept very clean. The salt water pool was excellent and kept us at the motel for a couple of days just relaxing in the quite atmosphere. Being that this location was just the right distance from the beach (few minutes) yet very quiet and family orientated will ensure our return to this motel in the future.

PS....Restaurant's, gas station, convenience and grocery stores are all within a few minutes walk....Great

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jim-Toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wasaga Beach hotels
0.7 km away
Saga Resort
Saga Resort
#2 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
148 reviews
0.3 km away
J&J Motel
J&J Motel
#4 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
29 reviews
1.1 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#5 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Wasaga Motel
Wasaga Motel
#3 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
22 reviews
3.4 km away
Oasis By The Bay Vacation Resort
Oasis By The Bay Vacation Resort
#2 of 32 in Wasaga Beach
66 reviews
1.9 km away
Wasaga Riverdocks Suites Inc
Wasaga Riverdocks Suites Inc
#12 of 16 in Wasaga Beach
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsbridge Inn

Address: 268 Main St, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2N6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Wasaga Beach
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingsbridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Kingsbridge Hotel Wasaga Beach
Kingsbridge Inn Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing