We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Estancia La Quinta!”
Review of Estancia La Quinta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estancia La Quinta
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Estancia La Quinta while hiking in El Chalten. This is a family run operation and we were made to feel so incredibly welcomed and at home. The owner's English is excellent and he was extremely helpful providing an overview of the area and hiking options. The rooms are simple, but very clean and with nice views. Great water pressure and lots of hot water, which was nice after a long day hiking. Breakfast was well done and at a convenient time. We got to watch the young calves being fed just outside in the yard while having our breakfast! And there were five recently born kittens often playing in the front yard! The restaurant just a few steps away is quite good and very reasonably priced. Overall a wonderful stay!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank smg279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I am not sure why,but we did not feel welcome or pampered at all. Estancia was empty when we arrived,but we got room with the view of storage shed. Internet did not work at all in four days that we were staying there and explanation was that server in town was down,but I am not so sure since we had no problems getting online there. Place is far away from El Chalten 1.5 km from main road and at least 2 km from the town welcome sign. If you don't have a car it is not a good idea to stay there,because you will get complimentary ride to and from bus station ( make sure to ask information to call them to pick you up on arrival) and than one complimentary ride in am and one pick up at 6pm. Our bus was early and we asked if we could have breakfast earlier (note it is included) but we were told that the "girl" comes at 7. We had long bus ride ahead of us and we tried to negotiate but we got coffee and cookies and when the "girl" showed up at 6:45 am Alfredo did not ask her to make a sandwich for us. We ate dinner there every night and we were shocked and disappointed that owners could not get us breakfast... During our trip in Chile and Argentina we always got breakfast earlier per request even if it was out of timeframe of general serving hours. Also warm water is a hot commodity there and one has to wait for 10 minutes under the shower to wash hair. The only reason I am giving two stars is that steak in estancias restaurant was really good!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Estancia la quinta has history. It was the place where the first group who made the first ascent of the mount chalten (aka fitz roy) made their basecamp. This place has the showers with the best pressure. And if you are looking for silence there is no other place. I become friend with Alfredo when I was there climbing the fitzroy (cerro chalten) with my friend and he used to take us to town all the time. The food is amazing and the decor is awesome.

Room Tip: some room are super small. Like 22 and 24 but they are super cute
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenewstateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Bucolic setting - a few friendly cows and a horse grazed on the grass in front of our room window. You can even bottle feed one of the calves during their 2/day feeding. Owners and staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful with planning our hiking days. They can prepare a paper bag lunch of a sub sandwich, apple, cookie, water. No wifi in the rooms and very weak in common areas. It's about a 45 min walk into town either by road or over a hill which includes the bonus of being part of a condor spotting trail that people start from the ranger station. A couple of asides: When you arrive by bus into the town you will first stop at the ranger station for a 15 min orientation (English & Spanish) and a map of the area hikes, then you're back on the bus for a brief ride into town. You have to check out the popular La Tapera Restaurant for fabulous food. I mention the following times in case they have any bearing on your decision to stay as you are out of town.
Dinner is 8-10pm - meal was good, but not great.
Breakfast/coffee is at 8-10am. Breakfast bonus' of farm fresh berries, flan and stewed rhubarb.
Shuttle: Free daily at 9am & 6pm and from/to bus depot for arrival/departure. If you request their shuttle outside those times, the cost is 200 pesos. If the owners happen to be going into town throughout the day, you can tag along for free.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PermanentWknd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Excellence place to stay kind and friendly hosts , family run , very quite , the food is excellent and the walk in to town is spectacular. He has contacts to get any thing you need , horse back riding etc etc I highly recommend this place

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tomcrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I came to Estancia La Quinta after a few exhausting days in El Calafate, and our one night stay was truly rejuvenating. We wish we would've stayed longer!

Our room, the junior double, was small but well equipped with a comfortable bed. As other reviewers said, it's not in the center of town and a taxi ride cost us AR$150 (US$10) but don't let that dissuade you. Alfredo offers rides into town at set times, or you can hike in as we did.

We ate at the restaurant one night and found it decent. I enjoyed my trout and my partner had the ribeye. The strawberry dessert was quite tasty.

Be sure to walk around the farm and meet the calves and kittens.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Ms. Halversen, Alfredo and their family maintain a high quality hotel that blends into the incredible frontier feeling one gets in the middle of Patagonia. the food in the restaurant should draw outside guests. The only minor drawback is that the driveway is 1.5km to the main road. It is a 40 minute walk to El Chalten. We were there to hike so we were happy. They do provide a shuttle service which is very reasonable. I would highly recommend Estancia La Quinta and I hope to visit again. To give you an idea of the spread; they have some 800 head of cattle. We were there in the summer. hiked 1.5 hours through the back of the property and saw a total 40 cattle. It is like a station in Australia or a wheat farm in Saskatchewan.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel and could the rugged landscape and the Argentinian wild hares were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Thank christopherwK1126SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
3.6 km away
Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa by DON
3.3 km away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
256 reviews
2.9 km away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
La Guanaca
La Guanaca
#14 of 19 in El Chalten
100 reviews
0 km away
Kalenshen
Kalenshen
#16 of 19 in El Chalten
167 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Quinta

Address: El Chalten 9301, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range: $130 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia La Quinta 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Estancia La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta El Chalten
El Chalten La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing