We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergue lo de Trivi(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Grande Hostel(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$26
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hem Herhu(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabanas Cerro Torre(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cabanas Rivendel(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Patagonicus Bed & Breakfast(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Cabanas Arco Iris(El Chalten)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
122
44
9
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
44
9
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalfredoin townthe ownerfruit grownel cascofree ridesonsite restaurantevery eveningshuttle servicehorseback riding triphard boiled eggscommon areaslambhiking optionshome madethe hotel offerseach morning
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 189 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2017

We stayed at the Estancia La Quinta in early March 2017 and were very satisfied with the accommodation. Alfredo was very welcoming and took the time to explain to us the various hiking options in El Chalten. You can actually hike right up to Mirador Condores and Mirador Aigiules directly from the Estancia. As others have stated, the rooms are simple, but are clean and perfectly adequate. The location is incredibly picturesque and I was happy to stay outside the core of El Chalten. The food at the onsite restaurant was quite good and priced reasonably. We ate there all three nights. There are cows, horses, and kittens on the estancia that are fun to interact with. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bgardent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Estancia La Quinta while hiking in El Chalten. This is a family run operation and we were made to feel so incredibly welcomed and at home. The owner's English is excellent and he was extremely helpful providing an overview of the area and hiking options. The rooms are simple, but very clean and with nice views. Great water pressure and lots of hot water, which was nice after a long day hiking. Breakfast was well done and at a convenient time. We got to watch the young calves being fed just outside in the yard while having our breakfast! And there were five recently born kittens often playing in the front yard! The restaurant just a few steps away is quite good and very reasonably priced. Overall a wonderful stay!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank smg279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

I am not sure why,but we did not feel welcome or pampered at all. Estancia was empty when we arrived,but we got room with the view of storage shed. Internet did not work at all in four days that we were staying there and explanation was that server in town was down,but I am not so sure since we had no problems getting online there. Place is far away from El Chalten 1.5 km from main road and at least 2 km from the town welcome sign. If you don't have a car it is not a good idea to stay there,because you will get complimentary ride to and from bus station ( make sure to ask information to call them to pick you up on arrival) and than one complimentary ride in am and one pick up at 6pm. Our bus was early and we asked if we could have breakfast earlier (note it is included) but we were told that the "girl" comes at 7. We had long bus ride ahead of us and we tried to negotiate but we got coffee and cookies and when the "girl" showed up at 6:45 am Alfredo did not ask her to make a sandwich for us. We ate dinner there every night and we were shocked and disappointed that owners could not get us breakfast... During our trip in Chile and Argentina we always got breakfast earlier per request even if it was out of timeframe of general serving hours. Also warm water is a hot commodity there and one has to wait for 10 minutes under the shower to wash hair. The only reason I am giving two stars is that steak in estancias restaurant was really good!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2017

Estancia la quinta has history. It was the place where the first group who made the first ascent of the mount chalten (aka fitz roy) made their basecamp. This place has the showers with the best pressure. And if you are looking for silence there is no other place. I become friend with Alfredo when I was there climbing the fitzroy (cerro chalten) with my friend and he used to take us to town all the time. The food is amazing and the decor is awesome.

Room Tip: some room are super small. Like 22 and 24 but they are super cute
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenewstateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2017 via mobile

Bucolic setting - a few friendly cows and a horse grazed on the grass in front of our room window. You can even bottle feed one of the calves during their 2/day feeding. Owners and staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful with planning our hiking days. They can prepare a paper bag lunch of a sub sandwich, apple, cookie, water. No wifi in the rooms and very weak in common areas. It's about a 45 min walk into town either by road or over a hill which includes the bonus of being part of a condor spotting trail that people start from the ranger station. A couple of asides: When you arrive by bus into the town you will first stop at the ranger station for a 15 min orientation (English & Spanish) and a map of the area hikes, then you're back on the bus for a brief ride into town. You have to check out the popular La Tapera Restaurant for fabulous food. I mention the following times in case they have any bearing on your decision to stay as you are out of town.
Dinner is 8-10pm - meal was good, but not great.
Breakfast/coffee is at 8-10am. Breakfast bonus' of farm fresh berries, flan and stewed rhubarb.
Shuttle: Free daily at 9am & 6pm and from/to bus depot for arrival/departure. If you request their shuttle outside those times, the cost is 200 pesos. If the owners happen to be going into town throughout the day, you can tag along for free.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PermanentWknd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews