We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Estancia la Quinta in El Chalten”
Review of Estancia La Quinta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estancia La Quinta
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in El Chalten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2017

A few weeks ago we spent three days with Alfredo at his wonderful hotel/B&B about three kilometers outside of El Chalten. Alfredo is a generous and welcoming host who clearly enjoys getting to know his guests. The setting is spectacular and our room was large, clean and comfortable. Every morning Alfredo drove us into town, where we hit the trail heads, and he picked us up every evening. We also recommend dinner at El Casco, the onsite restaurant. Like other reviewers, we ate there every night.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A546JNjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

We chose Estancia La Quinta as it seemed more authentically Patagonian than anything in El Chalten "proper", which is a 30-year old pop-up town with a great location but not much else. We were delighted by ELQ. Comfortable, family-run, with calfs, sheep and cats wandering around outside. Alfredo is an affable and interesting man who knows everyone in town and surroundings and, among other services, haggled down on our behalf the price of a taxi to Lago del Desierto from $100 to $65. We had no car but found the free rides with Alfredo to El Chalten in the morning and back in the late afternoon sufficient for our purposes, as what one does in El Chalten is take hikes during the day and there are bars and cafes to hang out in when one is done until the pickup time. Worst case the 5 minute taxi ride from El Chaltent to ELQ won't set you back very much. ELQ's restaurant is pleasant, nothing earth-shaking but a chance to compare notes with fellow travelers on the various hikes and have a decent steak and wine before, perhaps, capping things off at the bar with an after dinner drink and conversation with Alfredo. .

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gonebabygone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

The owner Alfredo is super friendly and helpful as is his staff. Nice breakfast in the morning. Bar in the evening for a drink.
Beds are very comfortable and rooms are spartan but clean. Only knock was wifi was not working.

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank Upnorthtransplant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We stayed at the Estancia La Quinta in early March 2017 and were very satisfied with the accommodation. Alfredo was very welcoming and took the time to explain to us the various hiking options in El Chalten. You can actually hike right up to Mirador Condores and Mirador Aigiules directly from the Estancia. As others have stated, the rooms are simple, but are clean and perfectly adequate. The location is incredibly picturesque and I was happy to stay outside the core of El Chalten. The food at the onsite restaurant was quite good and priced reasonably. We ate there all three nights. There are cows, horses, and kittens on the estancia that are fun to interact with. We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bgardent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Estancia La Quinta while hiking in El Chalten. This is a family run operation and we were made to feel so incredibly welcomed and at home. The owner's English is excellent and he was extremely helpful providing an overview of the area and hiking options. The rooms are simple, but very clean and with nice views. Great water pressure and lots of hot water, which was nice after a long day hiking. Breakfast was well done and at a convenient time. We got to watch the young calves being fed just outside in the yard while having our breakfast! And there were five recently born kittens often playing in the front yard! The restaurant just a few steps away is quite good and very reasonably priced. Overall a wonderful stay!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank smg279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I am not sure why,but we did not feel welcome or pampered at all. Estancia was empty when we arrived,but we got room with the view of storage shed. Internet did not work at all in four days that we were staying there and explanation was that server in town was down,but I am not so sure since we had no problems getting online there. Place is far away from El Chalten 1.5 km from main road and at least 2 km from the town welcome sign. If you don't have a car it is not a good idea to stay there,because you will get complimentary ride to and from bus station ( make sure to ask information to call them to pick you up on arrival) and than one complimentary ride in am and one pick up at 6pm. Our bus was early and we asked if we could have breakfast earlier (note it is included) but we were told that the "girl" comes at 7. We had long bus ride ahead of us and we tried to negotiate but we got coffee and cookies and when the "girl" showed up at 6:45 am Alfredo did not ask her to make a sandwich for us. We ate dinner there every night and we were shocked and disappointed that owners could not get us breakfast... During our trip in Chile and Argentina we always got breakfast earlier per request even if it was out of timeframe of general serving hours. Also warm water is a hot commodity there and one has to wait for 10 minutes under the shower to wash hair. The only reason I am giving two stars is that steak in estancias restaurant was really good!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Estancia la quinta has history. It was the place where the first group who made the first ascent of the mount chalten (aka fitz roy) made their basecamp. This place has the showers with the best pressure. And if you are looking for silence there is no other place. I become friend with Alfredo when I was there climbing the fitzroy (cerro chalten) with my friend and he used to take us to town all the time. The food is amazing and the decor is awesome.

Room Tip: some room are super small. Like 22 and 24 but they are super cute
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenewstateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Chalten hotels
3.6 km away
Los Cerros Boutique Hotel & Spa by DON
3.3 km away
Chalten Suites Hotel
Chalten Suites Hotel
#1 of 19 in El Chalten
264 reviews
2.9 km away
Hosteria Senderos
Hosteria Senderos
#4 of 19 in El Chalten
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hotel Lunajuim
Hotel Lunajuim
#7 of 19 in El Chalten
338 reviews
0 km away
Kalenshen
Kalenshen
#17 of 19 in El Chalten
170 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Destino Sur
Hotel Destino Sur
#5 of 19 in El Chalten
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Quinta

Address: El Chalten 9301, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Chalten
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in El Chalten
Price Range: $123 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia La Quinta 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estancia La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta El Chalten
El Chalten La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing