We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gazelle International Hotel(East New Britain)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$263
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rabaul Hotel(Rabaul)
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
52
41
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
41
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bungalowplace to staywar cemeterybeautiful locationan amazing viewnew britainself containedseafoodhaus winday trippapua new guineapleasant staywalk aroundonly down sidepigeon islandwashing machinesurrounding islands
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 107 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2017

Nestled on a quiet beach, the bungalows are clean and well appointed by remote island standards. Containing a safe and fridge and a cute balcony with great view, be sure to ask front desk for hair dryer. They have them but not left in the room. The staff is just amazing. Everyone smiles and seems genuinely happy to have you there. The food was good. Lounge, dining room and coffee lounge are all open air but I never felt the need to wear bug spray. Overhead fans kept the areas very comfortable. Our group had a personal resort guide and driver, Lawrence. What a beautiful person. He did everything he could to make our stay and our time at the Mask Festival welcoming and comfortable - from cold bottled water and "VIP" seats at the festival [that means you are in a chair under cover on a dais] to suggestions for excursions and markets to visit. Would I return....given that it is halfway around the world for me....ABSOLUTELY! Thanks to all staff onsite.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow facing the beach with a small balcony
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoCarol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017

I visited Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort for the diving. I dived for 5 days and 4 nights (3 dives a day total). Lloyd runs a great operation down at the dive centre. All their gear was in near-new condition and worked perfectly.

The sites we visited were: Small Pidgeon Island Wall #1 & #2, Atun Wreck, Big Pidgeon Wall, Johnny's Wharf, Zero Fighter Wreck, Prawn Farm, George's Wreck, Biplane Wreck, Kabakon Reef, Evelyn's Reef and their house reef. All the sites were easily accessible in their smaller dive boat but they have a much bigger boat for group trips.

I would definitely visit Kokopo again and definitely would dive with Lloyd and the crew (who were all great) again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank foetusmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

Unique setting by the sea and the perfect place to disconnect from all preoccupation.
Authentic place to discover the majestic beauty of PNG. Kind staff and excellent food. The best papaya and mango ever!
Experience a truly unique early morning tour swimming with the dolphins and a touching visit to the war cemetery.
Wish I could have stayed much longer.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Willy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights.
Well located to get out and about and explore the surrounding area and Rabaul. The hotel provides guides and transportation.
Rooms clean and tidy with fresh towels every day.
Staff helpful and friendly.
Restaurant is open sided and serves excellent food. Reasonable prices.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2017

We were island hopping from Port Moresby to Kavieng and stopped off at Rabaul to explore some of the military and natural sites New Britain had to offer. The accommodation was perfect, the resort was within walking distance to famous Kokopo Markets. The food was fantastic and the pool was great to kick back in. The only down side we found was the beach area and the walk along the beach to the southern point. By all accounts the beach should be pristine in such a wonderful location however the beach was sadly covered in litter and broken bottles. The resort it self was pretty good. We booked a land tour organised by the resort and guided by one of the resort staff to visit military sites including involvement of Australian forces in both WWI and WWII at Rabaul. The Japanese and allied military sites were visited and the museums were astonishing and included some oddities such as the underground hospitals, ship wrecks,plane wrecks, bunker systems and barge pens some 200 plus metres from the water. However what was also rare for us in Australia is a visit to a volcano, its bubbling waterways and a Government centre which undertake volcano observatory work which this tour included. Lunch was not included as we wanted to have lunch in the Rabaul Hotel. We were also lucky to witness a traditional dance in a village which was not an arranged tourist agenda and eat peanuts and other local fruits with the villagers. I would recommend the resort for a few days stay whilst in Rabaul. I would say the resort would be regarded as Top End style for this destination.

Room Tip: pick a water view room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carmenere007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews