We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Acuarela
Nearby Hotels
Posada Arrecife(Isla El Gran Roque)
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Posada Tsunami(Los Roques National Park)
US$465
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Room Service
Villa Caracol(Isla El Gran Roque)
US$572
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Posada Bequeve(Isla El Gran Roque)(Great Value!)
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Posada El Botuto(Los Roques National Park)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Posada Acuario(Isla El Gran Roque)
US$300
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Posada Caracol(Isla El Gran Roque)
US$572
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Posada Va Pensiero(Isla El Gran Roque)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Posada Mediterraneo(Isla El Gran Roque)
US$521
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada la Rosaleda(Los Roques National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
52
15
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
15
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracesandwichcevichefishthe ownerlos roquesaccommodationdinnermealselectricity
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 80 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Since 1997 we have been 7 times to Los Roques, 3 of which we stayed at Acuarela. It's definitely our favourite place - breakfast is delicious, dinner is fantastic (I don't think in London there are many Italian restaurants serving as delicious food as Acuarela in Los Roques...), the service is great and very friendly and the rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. It's great value for money.

Moreover, right next to Acuarela there is now a great playground for the kids.

We recommend this posada highly both for couples who wish to spend some romantic days on the Island or to families with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel is very nice and the rooms are beautiful. Mind: the bathroom is not similar to a 5* in most contries, but this is Venezuela and compared to the other hotels we stayed in still very nice.

Food was great. Each evening they served a four course meal (mainly fish) of very very good quality. The food itself makes this a bargain. Wine you had to pay yourself, but all resonably priced at 200-350 Bs. For breakfast they cook to order: eggs, arrepa and pan cakes.
For lunch they provided a nice sandwich, salad and some drinks in a cooler.

If you take the time to talk to Mino who have been running the place for the last 5 years, he is very helpful (and speaks very good english) and gave us lots of good advice on which islands to go and where to snorkel.

If you are only there for a couple of nights, we highly recomment you to rent a private boat for a day(2000 Bs. or $250) and you can do 3-4 amazing snorkel spots plus a couple of desolated islands. Most people tend to stay on the islands close to Gran Roques.


On the negative side:
Not always a lot of hot water. This is due to the fact the use the sun to heat the water.
Internet was not working. (actually an advantage we thought) and in a worst case there is an internet shop around the corner.
If you do not like fish not sure what the options would be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The beaches and crystal like waters are incredible and the sun does shine all day long, with nice Coastal breezes adding to the whole experience. 
The Posada offers a good standard of accommodation and food. The host's friend is also a genius on the piano. 
But think liKe a journalist and keep asking questions from your host our you will be kept in the dark about all things associated with the Posada. Okay you don't need to be a rocket scientist to get the lie of the land, but a little more help upon arrival would have been very useful especially about the day trips away. 
Go armed with a can of Raid, as waiting for you outside of the mosquito net around the bed is an army of the little blighters particularly in the tiny bathroom. 
Grand Roques, with no attractions or beaches, is just a staging post for trafficking guests away by boat to other islands. 

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Landay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The pousada is nice (although maybe not among the best in town), staff is helpful and attentive, and the food (dinner) is a pro. The problem is that the owner is always there trying to rip off the guests to the last dollar. For instance, he ruined one of our dinners. We had asked the waiters if we could bring our own bottle of wine, and they said OK (without mentioning that there would be any charge). We were then surprised when the owner of the pousada came with the check, charging a fee for opening the bottle (the fee was far more expensive than our wine!). We tried to question, but after being mistreated and yelled at by the hot-bloded italian man, eventually paid the fee...
Los Roques is a beautifull archipelogo (national park), you stay in an island where a small village is located, and during the day you have to take boats to different islands. Depending on how much you are willing to spend, you can either get a boat for yourself or join groups of tourists that get arranged by the pousadas. Most of the islands dont have infrastructure (restaurants, bars, etc), so the pousadas prepare a box with ice, beverages and sneaks. If you enjoy nature and a root type of trip, you willlove it.

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank Planetorexplor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at the posada for our 1 year anniversary. Mimo is in charge of the operation of the posada and is also the head chef.

The food was fantastic (gourmet), the service was attentive and friendly, the rooms were simple, yet comfortable. Keep in mind the island's power comes from a huge diesel generator so power outages are the norm. Each posada has its own generator so that was not a big problem. Also, there is no hot water but since the tank is on the roof, if you take your afternoon shower early, it will be warm enough.

The only complaint is that the food they pack you for your beach day is not very good. Sandwiches are somewhat dry but tolerable.

Mimo arranged a private boat for us to go see the turtles and the starfish and have a bit more of a private beach. Our boat captain was Fuji (Juan Carlos) and he was awesome. While Mimo marked up the boat trip by Bs 200 it was definitely worth it. If you speak Spanish, you will be able to get a slightly better deal by getting the boat yourself somewhere in the town.

Keep in mind that Los Roques attracts a lot of bone fishing enthusiasts. They are nice and friendly but can't stop but talking about fly fishing and bone fishing.

Last but not least, keep in mind you are traveling to a 3rd world country. You are not going to a resort with calypso music and pina coladas, and all the amenities. People move slower, take the time, and go with the flow as the sense of urgency will be exponentially lower than what you are accustomed to. Lower your expectations and don't be overly picky or you will be disappointed no matter where you stay in Los Roques or anywhere in the 3rd world.

Room Tip: I am not sure if all the rooms have air conditioning so make sure and you check before you book.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filisimitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews