We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in Ciudad Bolivar”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ciudad Bolivar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Casa Grande de Angostura
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Bolivar
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Ciudad Bolivar”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We spent one night at La Casa Grande and enjoyed our stay there. The posada is a beautiful old building located near the Malecon in Cuidad Bolivar. The rooms were a little bit dated, but very clean and the rooftop view of the Orinoco River is unbeatable. We thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and jacuzzi on the roof top. The staff made us feel welcome and were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We really didn't have much time here - arriving late and sadly leaving early. IN that short time the staff were tremendous, very friendly. They showed us round the hotel which is rather nice, especially the surprising roof top terrace, pool and jacuzzi with 360° views of Ciudad Bolivar. Our only real grumble was the ground floor room - no outside windows, but we were there for such a short time that we really didn't care ....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy101088
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Hotel was fine.
We only stayed for one night and just a few hours at that.

The rooms are basic and we had no hot water which was a shame.

They did however prepare an good dinner for us at very short notice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy101088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We only had one nights stay here but it was just amazing and greatly needed after our trip to Angel Falls and our overnight in hammocks. The hotel looks standard from the outside but is just beautiful inside with lovely fountain features and decor. A large spiral stairs leads up to the pool area which has the most amazing views over the Orinoco river to catch the sunset in the evening. The staff were great and the chef even better. We were tired after our trip in Angel Falls so didn't want to venture out. We booked for dinner in the hotel and they recommended their speciality of fish and we had the most delicious 'lau lau' for dinner. We did pay more than you would in the local restaurants but it was worth it. The rooms are cosy and very clean and a nice big comfortable bed. The breakfast was great too. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishcalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Friendly colonial style property twinned with the excellent Posada Casa Grande just around the corner.

We stayed 1 night before setting off across the Gran Sabanah and this hotel was ideal for that. Ciudad Bolivar is not the kind of town where you would stay for too much longer.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikeymires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

What a little Gem outside Caracas! Stylish, cool rooms and peaceful courtyard with water feature. Decorated to a high standard - a truly boutique hotel. Very reasonably priced and well-stocked mini-bar. Rooms on ground floor do not have windows to outside but face the courtyard so tend to be rather dark; but also means it is cool enough not to need air conditioning. Pool and sun deck on roof gives great views of the Orinoco.

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
Thank RichardM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ciudad Bolivar
0.3 km away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#3 of 6 in Ciudad Bolivar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
827.0 km away
Bijou Amethyste Hotel
Bijou Amethyste Hotel
#5 of 8 in Punto Fijo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Laja Real
Hotel Laja Real
#2 of 6 in Ciudad Bolivar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Casa Grande de Angostura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Casa Grande de Angostura

Property: Posada Casa Grande de Angostura
Address: Calle Boyaca No 30 | Con Calle Venezuela, Ciudad Bolivar 8001, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Guayana Region > Ciudad Bolivar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ciudad Bolivar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Casa Grande de Angostura 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Grande de Angostura is a true colonial jewel situated in Ciudad Bolívar. This two-story house is listed under historical protection and was restored with special care to every detail. The roof terrace with a small swimming pool offers a stunning view over the city, the Orinoco River and the “Angostura Bridge”, the first bridge built over the Orinoco. We invite you to enjoy a warm afternoon at our small roof-top pool with a cold drink and a magnificent sunset. This Boutique Hotel is an ideal starting point to many interesting destinations around the country. Ciudad Bolivar’s airport is just a few minutes away, with daily departures of tours to the Canaima national park and Angel Falls, the tallest waterfall in the world. The beautiful town of Ciudad Bolivar served as an important base to Simon Bolívar’s South American war of liberation, and was nominated to be proclaimed one of UNESCOs world heritage sites. The Capital of the State has a very colorful townscape, about 350.000 inhabitants and an average temperature of 28ºC. Casa Grande has 15 superior rooms or suites (single, double or triple). Room facilities include air conditioner, fan, fridge, minibar, room safe, phone, internet access, cable TV. Bathrooms are fully equipped and include all amenities. There is a gourmet restaurant in Casa Grande, as well as in Posada Angostura, located just next door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing