We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
10
23
28
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
23
28
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 73 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Rasil for four weeks. I visited the pool, the two restaurants, and stayed at the two buildings.
This hotel is very close to the old downtown, what locals call Puerto Ordaz. You can see many abandoned buildings nearby. The new buildings are located in Unare and Alta Vista (closer to the airport). Remember Ciudad Guayana is a new city, less than 70 years old.
The hotel has two separated buildings. The lobby and reception are in the new building, and the swimming pool and the hotel's restaurant are in the old building. These buildings are separated (or united) by the parking lot.
If you like to see the dawn, select the old building. If you like a more modern room layout and furniture, ask for the new building.
Rooms were clean, water preassure is great. It was difficult to get hot water in my room at the old building but I really never needed it. It is always hot in Ciudad Guayana. My room had internet access via wire (I always carry my cable), and you can also get wireless in the new building.
They have security boxes free of charge. You have to ask at the reception in order to get to the accounting room where they keep the safes. It was kind of awkward to go into the accounting office to access my deposit box.
There is another restaurant next to the reception, I cannot recall the name. They have good food, and much better service than the rest of the hotel (it seemed to me like this restaurant was not part of the hotel).
The restaurant on the old building, I think is called Meridien, serve complimentary breakfast buffet. It was very good. I tried almost everything. Service is slow, and the waiters can easily ignore you if something is good on the TV. Since it is a buffet I was not too bothered about this.
My final thought, Hotel Rasil will not be first on my list next time I visit Ciudad Guayana.
I hope this review is helpful for you.

The local market is within walking distance. There is a drugstore four blocks away on Via Venezuela street.
I think this was the best hotel back in the 1970s, today there are many things they can improve on.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anmegk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2012

It was very nice, excelent service, a lovely pool and my room was gorgeous....
No doubt, I will come back.
Enjoy it

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 45Juan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Warning!
Do not stay at this hotel.
Service Bad
Dirty bathrooms
Dirty and old rug
Old matters
No hot water
you name it is bad.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingtheworkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2005

This hotel is very middle of the roads...checking in is always a long wait! Allow yourself atleast half an hour (I'm not kidding!) The rooms always smell musty if you're lucky and like a dark back alley beside a pub if you are not!

There is good water pressure in the shower (no baths) but the hot water does tend to fluctuate while in use, just be careful and never have the water too hot! As far as toiletries, bring your own! You get a small soap and one sachet of shampoo (I have long hair and this doesn't even come close, luckily my partner shaves his head so he doesn't need any!)

The beds are big and quite comfortable, just ask for more pillows, the ones they supply are about an inch thick. There is no tea/coffee making facilities but you do get water in a flask (I always have the water in the mini bar though) if you need internet access it is available (I have used it in my room on floors 3 & 4)

The electronic swipe cards for the rooms work 75% of the time so be prepared to visit reception a few times if you are staying for more than a day or two.

Now, hotel layout....bizarre, I'm sure there is a story behind it! The restaurant, pool, pool bar, and casino are in the building on the otherside of the carpark, I'm not sure why? I think they are refurbishing the restaurant in the hotel room building. But we have been staying here for a day or so every few weeks for the last year and I haven't seen any progress...

Most of the staff are slow, and pretty much oblivious to customers, they will happily carry on a conversation with each other and totally ignore you, so be prepared! Just relax and be patient!

There is a very small lobby bar with about 4 or 5 bar stools but very rarely do people frequent it, they have a very limited selection of anything and the barman insists on playing an Eagles DVD ALL THE TIME!!
It's been a year....get over it!

The restaurant is a conference room being used as a restaurant, so lots of bright lighting and a TV in the corner...not very romantic, the Maitre'D here seems to be the only professionally trained member of staff and it is very noticeable, I hope he is trying to train the others, again it is just a case of slow service, the food is OK, really nothing to write home about but edible, most of the time they have a buffet on but you can still order from the menu.

Be prepared for VERY COLD air-conditioning everywhere, in the room, bars, restaurant, casino it is VERY COLD.....

My partner and I only stay here because it is for business and it's the preferred hotel of the company...if you have a choice, stay at the Intercontinental, the reception is still very slow and unwelcoming but atleast you can go from your room to the restaurants without getting wet!

8  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews