We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
21
63
123
31
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
63
123
31
41
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 279 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2015

The only reason we stayed at this hotel was because we were overnighting. And the only good thing about this hotel was the free transport to and from the airport. Everything else was trash!
Firstly the location of the hotel was in lawless area, where it was evident that there were lots of undesirables present and you can literally see selling of narcotics, prostitution and illicit activity taking place.

The attendant at the front desk who checked us in was not pleasant and found the rest of the staff to be quite lazy and "just waiting to pass the day to go home".
The rooms were in horrible condition. Also too, there was no hot water a the shower was cold (not really nice particularly as we arrived in the evening)
The rooms were quite small and beds were very old, springy and uncomfortable.
We were informed that this hotel was attacked and there was armed robbery back in 2007 and a shootout, hence all the doors on the hotel had an extra lock. But I didn't get the sense of security while I was here.

The restaurant was very slow. Food was quite expensive and of poor quality. The food took a really long time to be served. The waiter was also very unattentive to guests. He seemed to have been chatting a lot to his colleague. Much of the staff were very useless when it came to English. I spoke a bit of Spanish and even that too proved difficult for the waiter - they seemed to only speak a very weird type of Spanish...(not mainstream).

Overall a bad place and I won't be staying here again.

Room tip: Do not stay here
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile

If you have a connecting flight via Caracas and you have to spend the night in such city, there no better option than CATIMAR, I've tried them all and it is by far the best hotel to spend the night on a low budget and still clean place.

Beware if you are traveling with children, there's a tv channel broadcasting softcore porn movies during the night... So, keep an eye on the controller.

Hot water is not always available but that being said, the free shuttle to the airport, safe location and in-place restaurant, make this a great choice.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Jaime L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

Great for a short stay and wait for your next flight. You can swim in the front beach (Puerto Viejo Beach). I would not recomend it if you want to dedicate a full beach experience. The neighborhood is not the best you will expect.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2015

I've been here only to wait for my flight to Los Roques. They have a good and fast transfer service from the airport. The building is beautiful outside. But inside... The bedroom was really small, hot, and the air-conditioning was not functioning. There was no window on the bedroom - i felt i was in a box, terrible! I just had a minimum fanlight into the bathroom, but through it, i could barely see if it was day or night. The bathroom was too small. Old and worn furniture. Wifi with bad signal. Very busy and dirty common areas. Breakfast was very poor. For the price, i was expecting something better... But what made me more unconfortable about this place was the staff, very unpolite, not helpful. And, after all, at night, i walked almost 40minutes in a very weird neighborhood to find somewhere to eat. And the beach near the hotel is dangerous and full of garbage.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank GuiTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2014

My mother stayed there and she is used to some hotel services like for example "wake up call", luggage assistant (she is old), coffee and she was told that they don't have those amenities and services. Bathrooms have wet floors and the male attendant said that they just repaired them and they didn't dry them at all. Restaurant was great but she can care less for the rest of Catimar. (Mi madre se alojó alli y ella solicitó una " llamada para despertarse" , el hombre que es el asistente le dijo que ella resolviera, tambien sobre el equipaje (ella es de edad) y sobre el café le dijeron que ellos no tenian esos servicios y comodidades . Los baños tienen los pisos mojados y cuando ella pidio que lo secaran el admistrador dijo que habian sido reparadas recientemente y no se iban a secar asi de rapido. El restaurante es muy bueno, pero el hotel en si es pesimo.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews