We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
221
166
38
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
166
38
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night large bathroom the cottages stayed longer fresh fruit breakfast and dinner busy town rabbits hopping lovely property a lovely place to stay fell in love within easy walking distance sitting area nice breakfast road trip an oasis hot shower
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 438 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

After a long car journey we arrived at Couleur Cafe. We stayed in a suite which was tastefully decorated with Malagasy modern art. The bed was comfortable and a mosquito net was provided. The bathroom was a little dated (the reason for only 4/5 - otherwise would’ve been 5/5) but was clean with plenty of warm water. We only stayed for a one night stopover but would have gladly stayed for longer in this lovely boutique-style hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Niaosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

In fact, we could easily have had two nights here. The bed was the most comfortable that we had inMadagascar and the room one of the most spacious. Lovely lawns surrounded the rooms, and were a very pleasant place to pass away the time. The food was also excellent, as were the staff. Get a pousse pousse from just outside the hotel to take you to the excellent local craft markets. It’s good fun and it provides a living for these extremely hard working men.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank traveller123WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Well established older hotel with spacious bungalows.

The inside of the bungalow and restaurant were both painted in drab colours, which made them dark and rather unattractive. Some brighter colours would help. Rabbits in the gardens were a nice touch.

The switch for hot water 'turned itself off' according to reception, so we didn't get any on the second day. To be fair, they did allow us to use the shower in another bungalow.

The food in the restaurant was good, but the dark room meant everyone spoke in whispers.

It may be the best option locally and it was ok, but not great.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Olirow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We loved this gorgeous little hotel. There were a number of private bungalows facing onto a well maintained garden, a little paradise. The bungalow was enormous with a lounge area separated from the bed by a fireplace, which we lit after dinner and fell asleep while watching the fire from the bed. The bathroom was large and clean. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel, and both were delicious. We only stayed one night as we were travelling further south from Tana. I recommend this hotel as something a little different that provides all you need after a day on the road.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

We were on a whirlwind driving tour after our 2017 Study Abroad – drive from Antsirabe to Tana; next day drop students at Ivato airport for afternoon flight and immediately head back to Antsirabe to start our trip to Kirindy/the Tsingy. So we arrived well after dark to Couleur Café, and found they didn’t have our room reservation! Yikes! But the hotel handled it and put us in a large building (that maybe wasn’t quite ready for prime time) with a living room and a bedroom and a door that didn’t lock leading to a dark hallway and who knows where else – it was only the next day that we realized that this suite was pretty much a whole house and that all of the external doors were locked, so we had the whole space to ourselves. In any case our room was huge! This was important because they also did not have a room for our guide; he joined us in the house sleeping in the living room (no problem since he has been a good friend since 2015). So, the hotel handled the situation completely to our satisfaction.

Overall this hotel is so cute – individual brick bungalows in a garden setting, with bunnies hopping around. We only spent the one night so had only one and dinner and breakfast but we were quite impressed with the food. Dinner was great with two choices of appetizer, main, and dessert – my chicken dish was one of the best meals I had in Madagascar during our nearly six weeks in country in 2017. Breakfast was likewise one of the best of our trip – it included rice and udon noodles, which made my husband and our guide super happy. I see in more recent reviews complaints about breakfast and I hope it has not changed as it was pretty perfect and filling with a lot of variety.

We would definitely stay at Couleur Café again when in Antsirabe. It is a lovely property, the shower was nice and hot, the bed was comfortable and the room was warm. Breakfast and dinner were great. Staff took a difficult situation and made it work for us – you really can’t ask for more whether at home or in Madagascar.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank reptileenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews