We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
67
132
103
36
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
132
103
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives self catering the reserve wonderful view the kitchen plenty of food game park thatched roof dinner buffet bedroom chalet richards bay kruger national park reception area no hot water early morning self drive kzn wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 360 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We had a one bedroom self-catering unit with balcony. On arrival we found 4 out of 6 lights in the kitchen/lounge not working. The room safe was not working but according to reception, none in the resort are working.The braai was lacking a crucial component to make it operational and 2 outside lights were not working. On arrival the swimming pool was green and you could not see the bottom. By the time we left the pool was clearer but too late for us. We were so looking forward to our visit and were very disappointed with the reality. We were self-catering and brought most of our needs with us. Just as well because the camp shop is under provisioned. No meat unless you mean bacon. The fruit and vegetable offer had 2 forlorn looking apples. Private enterprise is clearly winning against this quasi-government institution. Considering the high prices charged by Hilltop such poor performance needs to be investigated. Compared with camps in the Kruger National Park this place is simply not in the same league. Shame on you!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NickandMaretha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

We are a family of 4 - two kids 13 and 11 - and we spent 3 nights at the camp. We self drove around the two reserves - driving around Umfolozi one day - gave ourselves 10 hours. We had intended to cook a bit more but believed the advertised well stocked shop. It is not a well stocked shop unless you want to survive on ice lollies and cans of drink. No meat, no veg, not fresh bread, not much really. I suggest you bring everything you want or just eat in the restaurant. The meals in the restaurants were lovely - buffet style - help yourself and even my fussy 11 year old didnt go to bed hungry. Breakfast was the same with choice of eggs and plenty of food to fill you up for the days drive. We had some great sightings. Be aware of the sugar ants if you are not used to SA - we did have a parade of several hundred thought the lodge one morning and the kitchen was covered but they are easily cleaned away. Thatched roof does mean you will find life inside but that is part and parcel of the experience.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank ClarkeFamilyCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

I found the buffet and food below average and the service in the restaurant from waiters was shocking and slow. The rooms were clean and tranquil. Really enjoyed the solitude. But I would rather do the self catering chalets than eat at the restaurant.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ludwig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018

Heard the dinner buffet is good so we decided to try it. It was alright. Limited food choice but as we were on safari, I didn't expect much. My friend had steak and it's overcooked she couldn't even chew it. Salad and other cooked food were nice but cocktails were disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cheukyuc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

The only friendly face in Hluhluwe park was our waiter, who also gave us some tips on where to see animals. Made a special meal for me as i did nor want any of the veggie meals on the menu. Hubby said his burger bun was stale bur his lime milkshake was nice. Cutlery and glasses was dirty but we had a nice view over the park. The cappuccinos were lifesavers during our early morning drive.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Gwendolinel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews