We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other traveller has booked this property
Relax in the tropical breezeway overlooking natural bush gardens with birds, wallabies and more.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the tropical breezeway overlooking natural bush gardens with birds, wallabies and more.
Air conditioned queen bedroom oozing quaintness. Bright and breezy bathroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Relax in the tropical breezeway overlooking natural bush gardens with birds, wallabies and more.
Air conditioned queen bedroom oozing quaintness.
Bright and breezy bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mandorah, Top End, Northern Territory

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kylie R
NA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There are a number of things at this property that need attention in order for me to be able to recommend anyone staying here or justify the price of $250 per night for a minimum 2 nights. They are as follows -

• The kitchen is old and is not big enough to have multiple people in using the minimal bench space provided
• The oven took twice as long to cook anything as well as not having any operating instructions
• The fridge door is mouldy
• The dining room chairs are too short for the table (and I'm tall)
• You cannot block off the lounge/dining from the elements so there are mosquitoes and termites galore, not to mention heat
• There are no railings on the deck so don't bring young children
• It's promoted as secluded but your neighbours are 20 metres away
• Only half of the outdoor BBQ works and has seen much better days
• Some of the walls are dirty and in need of painting
• There's no way of winding the matchstick blinds up in the main bedroom
• The main bedroom aircon remote batteries were jammed in the remote and dead and even when replaced the remote still didn't work
• The pool is much smaller than the size the website picture implies
• There are holes in most of the fly screens so even in rooms where you could close the doors to escape the bugs, you can't
• The walls are paper thin so you hear every noise anyone else in the house makes

Brutally honest but it's just not worth the money. Maybe with a spruce up but not until then.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are disappointed that Wagait Beach Bush Retreat didn’t meet your expectations.

You have raised a number of issues, some of which can be rectified fairly quickly and others that reflect your opinion.

Essentially our property is designed for a tropical lifestyle making the most of the shady trees, cool breezes and outdoor living. A popular element of our property is the breezeway that is the lounge/dining area. Most people tell us they like it because it is different and unique; it is open to nature adding to the property’s charm.

The property is a small house sleeping up to four adults in two bedrooms. The size of the kitchen is in keeping with this sized house. We feel that there is ample room for two adults to prepare meals at the same time in this space.

We have also had people compliment us on how accurately the photos represent the property. We have reviewed the photos on our website showing the pool and believe that they show the size fairly.

Other guests have commented to us on how quiet and secluded the property is too. The property is on 1 acre and all neighbouring properties, most of which are vacant blocks, are 1 acre; all of which enhances the feel of seclusion.

Thank you for pointing out that the BBQ was not working properly. One of the jets was blocked and we have rectified that. Plans are in place for replacing/repairing the screens and we will attend to the other issues you raised.

Thanks again for your review. We have taken a positive approach to your comments to ensure that our guests continue to be satisfied with their experience at Wagait Beach Bush Retreat. We have operated this holiday house for several years now and many of our guests are repeat customers, they are happy with what we have to offer and enjoy staying in our property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing