We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lope Lope Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort(Espiritu Santo)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Deco Stop Lodge(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beachfront Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas(Espiritu Santo)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Canoes Island Getaway(Aore Island)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Espiritu(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Turtle Bay Lodge(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santo(Luganville)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
149
28
11
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
28
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerprivate beachhorse ridingblue holechampagne beachpure luxurydeeper waterin room wifistunning scenerycruise shipabsolutely loved our stayking beda wonderful staylocal tusker beerhigh tidelovely eveningpate
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 195 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent the last 4 nights of our honeymoon at Lope Lope and had an amazing time, only wished we could have stayed longer! We were greeted by Kal at the airport and really appreciated the stop-off in town to get some supplies for our stay. A welcome cocktail and sparkling wine in the fridge on arrival to our private bungalow overlooking the beach was the perfect start to our time here. There is heaps to do on Santo and Kal and Megan are ready to help you arrange your day of activities (Millenium Caves and horse riding on the beach are a must) if you can pull yourself away from the bungalow. There is snorkelling directly in front of the ranch and the use of snorkel gear and kayaks is free to guests. The bar/restaurant at Lope Lope is awesome with free pool and darts, the friendliest bar staff, and a great party with pool competition every Friday night. The only real downside was that the weather was ordinary during our stay so we couldn’t go game fishing, and that it was a little quite at times as we were the only guests. This place is great and we highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks Megan, Kal, Beez, and Fiona for a great time and say hi to Colin, Cam, and Sandy for us! Cheers Trav & Krystle

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis_W_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Hi you two!

Thanks for a great and accurate review - we must say that we really enjoyed having you at Lope Lope... it is awesome to see couples like you making your own holiday special and enjoying what Santo has to offer!

We showed the staff your review, and they are delighted that they lived up to all your expectations - and they all asked me to say "Hi and see you soon" :)! It is reviews like these that make them work harder, smarter and treat all guests in a special way. Thanks a mill from all of them.

Enjoy your travels, and hey K, all the best with the new job - hope it frees up your time for more fantastic holidays.

Cheers

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We recently stayed here for 7 nights and were pretty disappointed. We tried to leave early but were told we would have to pay the full rate ($396) for each night we had booked as our booking was preventing someone else booking the room, this was despite the fact that Lope Lope was empty besides ourselves.
There were lots of small things that contributed to the stay being uncomfortable including the bathroom door only opening halfway, the hammock breaking the first time we tried it, no shampoo and conditioner and not being able to shower without being bit by mosquitoes. Then there was the big things. We werent able to sleep a full night through during the whole stay because the waves crashed so loudly on the doorstep of the bungalow. It sounded like a freight train; we tried the airconditioner, just to mute the sound outside. Then there is the annoying stuff that you get in most places, like 4000 Vatu being stolen from our clothes when we used the in-house laundry service and the taxi that the manager called charging us double.
It was also a fairly boring place to stay after the first day, there is nothing free to do here, bar swimming in the blue hole and walking a bit. Everything else is costly and not included in the expensive room price. There is no beach to speak of and there are no recliners etc to relax in.
There is no room service except for drinks and ice. The water made me very sick, but there are no signs saying not to drink it.
The up side of Lope Lope is the local staff, they are incredibly helpful and will go out of their way for you. Megan is also great.The place is very pretty in a very rugged kind of way and a short stay would have been great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, General Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Hi J & C

Thank you for posting to our Trip Advisor listing… we are pretty shocked by it, especially after you told one of our managers a day out from leaving that you were having an absolute fantastic/awesome time! It seems you may be venting some anger based on our cancellation policy and the fact that you decided to leave a day earlier to do shopping in Port Vila.

Even though your review is mostly negative, we in turn will see it in a positive light and use your valuable comments to further improve and address any possible areas we can and possibly may be lacking in. Our guests have always come first and our local staff absolutely strive for that; they get to see all these reviews… that drives them each day and provides the service you pointed out in the latter part of your review.

Anyway, a few comments/answers below aimed at answering you and any future guests wanting to enjoy a great time at Lope Lope.

Lope Lope Adventure Lodge has a cancellation policy, the same as just about any hotel or resort anywhere else in the world. Our cancellation policy is on our website, check-in forms and listed on all booking agents like Agoda, Wotif and Expedia – basically, by leaving a day earlier, you are liable for that night’s room rate unless we could sell the room on short notice and then refund you. Unfortunately that did not happen as you chose to stay the last night.

We wish you had spoken to us regarding anything that was not getting done in the rooms - we always encourage our guests to talk to us about anything to make their stay extra special. The shampoo and conditioner was something that should have been refilled daily (usually is) - when you told Kal about it on your last night he had our staff take extras to your room. However, we have spoken to our housekeeping staff regarding this issue; thanks for highlighting this isolated incident.

Our showers are outdoor showers, and this being a tropical island we do get mosquitoes that actually should not be a problem whilst having a shower though... and of course there is a bath inside for anyone who feels uncomfortable using the spacious outdoor garden shower. We do provide each room with mosquito coils for any outdoor areas that are not protected (like the front deck over the water). Bungalows inside are 100% mosquito proof, unless doors get left open of course.

Noisy… as advertised, the bungalows are absolute waterfront and while the ocean in front of the bungalows is sheltered you do get all the normal lapping sounds associated with tides going in and out. We have never had a report on this being a problem so far, but do know that in bad weather (high winds and seas) it could be noisier than expected (probably a couple of days during your stay).

We can’t really comment on the VT4,000 missing from your laundry (we cannot pin-point it), but there is every chance it fell out of the laundry into the washing machine, or while it was on the line. Our staff our very honest people and we have never had a problem with theft in any way, shape or form – once again, we have addressed it to make absolutely sure; they will check pockets now in case any guest did not prior to submitting their laundry.

We’ll find out which taxi it was that charged you more than usual and make sure to stop using their services, as they all know the rates they should charge. Kayaks and snorkeling gear are all complimentary to our guests, and of course we have pool tables and a dartboard in the bar.

However, we do encourage all our guests to explore the island and see what Santo is all about... taking tours, riding horses, visiting historic sites, enjoying meals at other restaurants etc. instead of only spending time at the resort.

Continental breakfasts are included with the room price as are airport transfers. Please see photographs of our property (ours or those taken by our guests - see Trip Advisor for those) in regards to the beach. Besides each bungalow having a small private beach, there is a big one to the right of the restaurant and another on the left of the bungalows (the one at the blue hole).

Room service is not something we have advertised as one of our amenities, but whenever any guest requested a meal sent to their bungalow we have always been more than happy to accommodate.

Water… all of us drink the water here, and we have not had any guest complaints until now – all mini bars are stocked with bottled water for your convenience. You said to the manager that you thought you had picked up a stomach bug in Port Vila the previous day, so our owner brought over medication the next night (his personal stock) and arranged for “Green Coconut” juice, a natural rehydrate that works wonders. All was at no charge. The bottom line for any traveler anywhere, is to always bring the basic medication you may need on a trip to the tropics (as we mention on our website).

We thank you for your kind words regarding our local staff. Some of these issues should never have come up such as housekeeping missing the shampoos and conditioners; as for the other issues we wish you had brought them to our attention immediately so we could have remedied the situation. We are sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here…

Kind Regards

The Lope Lope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2012

After spending 4 beautiful days on Ratua Island we were a little nervous about our next destination Lope Lope Adventure Lodge. We shouldn't have been. It couldn't have been more different but we loved it! Its not a resort. Private beautiful Bungalows - so so relaxing and peaceful and a spectacularly beautiful location. There is also the Restaurant and Bar as part of the complex which made life easy. Meagan was fabulous a font of local knowledge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifestooshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Hi you two,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, as we certainly enjoyed your company...

Take care on your travels and we look forward to seeing a lot more of you in the future.

Kind Regards

Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Recently we spent 6 wonderful days at Lope Lope. It was perfect!!! The weather was a bit too hot and humid for us, but we still had an excellent time, enjoying every minute of it. What a nice surprise was the fresh water Blue Hall, a 2 minutes walk from our bungallow, so private, so classy, exclusive, the staff and owners were extremely nice, friendly and helpful in any way. We would like to thank Megan for introducing us to Sandy who showed us a bit of his beautiful island and being so nice to us. It's so much you can do and see, one week it's not enough time to spend in such a beautiful place. Accommodation, restaurant (try the fish and chips, the best we had so far) and bar are all first class in quality and service.
We wish everyone at Lope Lope all the best and good luck in the future and hope to see you soon. We highly recommend it to all our friends and business associates.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Hi guys, it was a pleasure having you stay with us at Lope Lope, we enjoyed our conversations over dinner. Be sure to fly directly to Santo not Vila next time.... lol

In the meantime I will work on my hot chocolate recipe (Kal) We’re always happy to hear that we’ve lived up to our reputation and look forward to having you back sometime hopefully not in the too distant future.

Cheers, see you soon
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here just for a couple of nights and cant fault it... Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Weather really bad while we were staying but still idyllic surroundings. Good solid food in restaurant... Welcome drink was any cocktail you would like from the menu.... bottle of sparkling wine in fridge. This place really deserves to do well...

Only negative... we changed dates at short notice ....still booking for 2 nights but because it was late notice they charged us for three (incl original night we had booked).... still well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturallattice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopeLope, Manager at Lope Lope Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Hi Guys - thank you for staying with us; we enjoyed your company and hope the rest of your trip went well, especially the part by dugout canoe... Thank you for the feedback!

In regards to your booking; when you go through outside vendors like Agoda we are unable to make any changes to their booking system, however I do remember after you had changed your Agoda booking that the email we received indicated your reservation had been amended and it carried the same booking ID.

As our cancellation policy was in place when you did the last minute amendment, Agoda applied it as a cancellation (not an amendment), hence the extra day charged. We did contact them and they agreed to refund you as per our request – after all, you only had the time to stay 2 nights and therefore it is only fair you pay for two!

We apologize for any inconvenience caused – enjoy your travels, and see you back soon.

Kind Regards

Kalvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews