We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Espiritu(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort(Espiritu Santo)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beachfront Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lonnoc Beach Lodge(Espiritu Santo)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Deco Stop Lodge(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Village de Santo Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lonnoc Beach Bungalows(Espiritu Santo)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Lonnoc Bamboo Bungalow(Vanuatu, Espiritu Santo, Hog Harbour)
US$60
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
159
45
8
2
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
45
8
2
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalo riverlobsterother guestslunch and dinnerday tripblue holedive mastersanto beefmeal timesnight divescuba divinglaid backmillion dollar pointabsolute blissmarine lifebeachfront fareoutside world
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 224 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

Great family holiday in an amazing and well-preserved tropical paradise!

Many positives to call out, including the location, facilities, management & staff, snorkeling & diving, accommodations and food. All were great for us.

We were made to feel very welcome, with management and staff flexible around our needs or preferences. Not so much about luxury, but for sure there is a genuine interest to make sure you are happy and enjoying your bokissa island experience.

If you're a diver then it's hard to go past bokissa. You have access to the big ticket sites around Santo and as well you can dive the local wreck the Henry Bonneaud, that I visited twice because it was so good!

If you're a family (even with young kids like ours) with a mildly adventurous spirit, I can highly recommend bokissa.


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G, Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Thank you for your review and we all enjoyed having your family become part of the "Bokissa family" for a short time. We are not about luxury but hopefully we make up for that in other ways.
We hope you will venture our way again and maybe your girls will experience the delights of diving in Santo next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

Spent week at Bokissa, fare are spaced out nicely along the foreshore and clean and comfortable, but bit dated. Food was very good, the local fish is absolutely delicious and served quite often in many different ways. Breakfast is basic and if you want eggs and bacon, will cost you extra.

Snorkelling from the shore is good ,but better snorkelling is from the northern point of the island back towards the jetty.

The island is well maintained with large pool to relax in, while having a few cocktails in the sun lounges dotted around the pool and decking area. Rainforest walk is a must do, there are two walks you can do, one through the middle or around the edge of the island, make sure you wear good shoes as can be quite uneven on the tracks.
The only thing missing is few single kayaks and stand up paddle boards. (There is double kayaks on the island).
Overall, we great relaxing time, meeting some wonderful people and staff were friendly and helpful, definitely will be back to enjoy the isolation and peace of this island..

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G, Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of Bokissa island. It certainly gives prospective guests a great overview of what to expect when they come here. You seemed to achieve a wonderful balance between relaxing and the more strenuous activities we have to offer. I love that you can do as little or as much as you like at Bokissa and we love to watch our guests unwind. We certainly hope that we can add you to our growing list of returnees. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017

We booked this trip so I could dive on the famous USS Coolidge and million dollar point.
And whilst my wife does not scuba she loved the snorkelling that was to be had on the island. I did too
The food was great and varied , the dive guides were experienced but lay back which I liked.
I bought my own gear except tanks and weights.

It is not cheap as land based resorts and has limited accommodation , so it feels like a 5 star location.

The kayaks need to be checked before use as we found seat straps broken.

Many guests told us that they came there every year or quite often.
We are the type who prefer new destinations , but I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: watch out for the dugongs in the morning and evening
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G, Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our dive masters and receive great feedback from guests regarding their abilities as dive masters and how they also make the experience "fun" in their own personal ways. They really are an asset to the resort as are our chefs.
You are correct about our returnee guests- some months they make up half of our total guest numbers. I credit the staff for much of this as many of them have been with Bokissa for 15 or more years and guests often leave feeling they are part of the "Bokissa family". We've had 3 generations of returnee guests at times.
We have taken on board your comments regarding the kayaks and are working on upgrading these and other aspects of the resort which require attention.













Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Excellent snorkelling off the beach, friendly staff, great food, huge swimming pool, very comfortable beds, spacious ensuite. There were several interesting rain forest walks and a very large library! Wonderful place to chill out!

Room Tip: All are detached bungalows facing the beach
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G, Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Thank you for your review Liz and we are very pleased you enjoyed the wonderful assets of Bokissa. We hope you join our growing list of returnee guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2017

My wife and I, being keen snorkelers, search for holiday destinations where the coral is not only good but easily accessible. We’ve encountered a few places where “right off the beach” should have been appended with “after a 10-minute swim”. Bokissa is genuinely right off the beach, and the reef (well maintained by the resort) teems with marine life. We couldn’t have asked for anything better. Diving, I’m told, is excellent.

Getting to Bokissa involves a 40-minute boat journey. It’s remote. It’s also tranquil. The resort is the only settlement on the island. Security is assured (unlike a similar place we went to once where an islander stole the in-room safe) and we never locked the door of our faré (cabin).

The faré was a disappointment on a number of counts. It was nothing like the pictures shown on the resort’s accommodation page on its website. There are no chairs, only the beds to sit on, no writing table, even though there’s space for them.

There are 13 Beachfront farés, one duplex, and one Deluxe Beachfront Spa faré (that’s the one featured on the accommodation page). To get to see the Beachfront faré’s interior, you need to go to the booking page.

Along with the resort itself, the faré felt neglected and in need of refurbishment: A patched-up hammock, a shower with a mind of its own, attachments that swivelled and dumped your toothbrushes in the sink or on the floor, and so on. The rack rate for the resort rooms suggest something better and anyone contemplating a stay should bear that in mind. (In defence of the resort, it is remote and its costs are higher than they would be on the mainland. Its website also states it’s 3.5 stars.)

While the website says that air conditioning is available, it doesn't mention that it's only between 8pm and 6am.

The food was well-cooked and presented, comprising fresh local produce, meat, and freshly caught fish. The chef has been with the resort for 20 years, and other staff were long-time employees, too. The staff were friendly and invariably helpful. Any problems reported were attended to promptly. Sue and Peter are genial hosts and leave you to your own devices – no hassling to take tours, etc.

A spacious dining hall accommodates a 12-shelf library, a bar, a pool table, dartboard, and comfortable lounge chairs. Ideal for inclement weather.

As expected in the tropics, the weather was humid, with showers on most days. This means mosquitos and flies, so pack plenty of insect repellent.

I was disappointed that the kayaks were two-person only. I prefer solo kayaking.

Despite my comments above about refurbishment, our expectations about snorkelling were well met and we enjoyed our time on the island.

Pros
• Beautiful location
• Excellent snorkelling straight off the beach
• Good fresh food, well cooked and presented
• Peaceful and private
• Secure
• Responsive management.

Cons
• Accommodation
• Limited air conditioning
• Kayaks are two-person only
• Long journey from the mainland.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Perrorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G, Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Thank you for your comprehensive review of Bokissa island resort and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken on board your comments regarding the 2 person kayaks, the website information and our accommodation. Our snorkeling and diving are excellent and we are very proud of our wonderful staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews