We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Espiritu(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Beachfront Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort(Espiritu Santo)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Lonnoc Beach Lodge(Espiritu Santo)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Deco Stop Lodge(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Village de Santo Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Santo(Luganville)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Lonnoc Beach Bungalows(Espiritu Santo)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Lonnoc Bamboo Bungalow(Vanuatu, Espiritu Santo, Hog Harbour)
US$60
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
158
45
8
2
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
45
8
2
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalo riverlobsterother guestslunch and dinnerday tripblue holedive mastersanto beefmeal timesnight divescuba divinglaid backmillion dollar pointabsolute blissmarine lifebeachfront fareoutside world
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 223 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2017

The ideal location to go to, to escape the pressures of the continual day in, day out pressures that we in the industrial world are subjected too in our endeavors to make a living. No TV, limited communications with the outside world, just far enough away from civilization, but again just around the corner when the need to jump back on the fast train calls. This location is as close as you will get to experience the AVATAR life style, with the local people guiding this influence. For those snorkellers & underwater divers, the colourfull off shore reefs with an exceptional abundance of diversified fish life are a minimum of 20 steps from your hut into the awaiting aqua blue waters,attach your flippers, mask, and your away. The surrounding islands & waters also offer untold treasures with kayaking to unspoiled locations.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvmkburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBokissa, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Bokissa has a special untouched paradise lost feel which brings guests back to us year after year. We hope we can welcome you back to your Bokissa family again one day. Julie Ingles. Sales and Marketing Representative/.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

We had a great, relaxing 6 nights on Bokissa. The resort, the only 'business' on the island, is not large nor luxurious, but wonderfully laid-back and friendly with good service and good food. The fares/cabins are spaced and each has its own verandah seating, plus chaise lounges plus double hammock. Ours had a queen bed and a single and was quite spacious. We had no feeling of crowding at Bokissa so it was perfect for a relaxing break. The snorkelling was really good with varied coral and amazing fish immediately available from the beach in front of the resort. The water is clear, making the snorkelling really good even on overcast days. Each day everyone was offered 2 different choices for lunch and 2 for dinner, and the meals were always good. We all ate together on a terrace with a wonderful view over the pool and water and we enjoyed the people we met during our stay. Lunch and dinner (12:00 and 7:00) are a long time apart, and I was glad I had brought snack food for an afternoon cuppa each day. I would really recommend bringing snack food. Bokissa is not the BIG tropical resort experience, and doesn't pretend to be. It is a really nice, comfortable, uncrowded and quiet tropical resort with very good snorkelling and walking where you eat well and could meet interesting people to share meals (and maybe snorkelling) with.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 753tric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Website and photos sure sell this location. We arrived in the midst of a fair amount of tension and unrest between management and staff and it reflected in our Bokissa experience. Don't get me wrong we enjoyed our 6 night stay:- the isolated location, the snorkelling, the coral, the beachfront location of the fare, relaxing under the huge shade trees, the limited number of guests, some of the meals, the couple massage, the helpfulness and friendliness of staff and making new friends but when the negatives affect your creature comforts the positives get outweighed.
The fare was old and run down. Housekeeping ensured cleanliness but the walls and floors were marked and stained, ensuite fixtures are well used and in need of modernising. The queen bed was firm and pillows thin. The aircon whilst we went knowing of its time restrictions, both it and the ceiling fan are excessively noisy so unless you have earplugs you want get any sleep if on during the night. Supplied bath linen was also well used, thin and in need of replacing. The fare could also benefit with fumigating as cockroaches were active at night.
The Continental Breakfast was disappointing, only two sort of fruit choices were the norm, some days only one, and on two days there was no fruit at all, one of the 3 cereal choices ran out (muesli) and was not restocked, fruit juice was limited to processed OJ and pineapple, only white bread supplied for toast. Lunch and evening meals were generous portions, well presented and tasty but their enjoyment was overshadowed by the large number of rats that were scampering around the dining and service area. Don't expect an abundance of "seafood", other than the one meal of lobster (which was sumptuous), the seafood is a single option of local fish served each night, in a different way (mornay, crumbed, whole, battered etc). No prawns, or large variety of seafood choices as marketed, and no theme nights. Make sure you bring some snacks/nibbles/biscuits as there is nothing supplied to have with a cuppa or if you get peckish between the 12md lunch service and 7pm evening meal.
We were unable to get Panadol or bandaids when we needed them, the bar ran out of Coke, Orange Juice and a number of spirits (limited the "cocktail" choices), so there could be a huge improvement in stock management processes. There were only 5 - 6 other couples on the island so it was not due to excess demand that supply was exhausted.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank di1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G, Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Firstly I would like to apologise that the negative issues you raised were outweighed by the positives and affected your stay at Bokissa island resort. It is unfortunate that you chose not to raise any of your concerns with us at the time of your stay so we did not have the opportunity to remedy any problems.
As far as the fares are concerned- we agree they are in need of modernising and are liaising with the shareholders to come up with a plan to do so. Likewise upgrading all the linen, furnishings and fixtures such as the air con units/ceiling fans.
It is a pity you didn't mention the cockroaches as we do have bombs we can use if they become a problem. We are having an extremely dry season which has resulted in the bush rats coming out in search of food and water. The rat bait has been unavailable for some time, but we have now been able to purchase more to get them under control. The rats do become a problem on occasion due to the nature of the island with the lush tropical rain forest.
We do have supply issues at times with both food and beverages- muesli has simply been unavailable for weeks and I spent several hours on one trip to town scouring every local shop and managed to purchase the last 2 packets. The town frequently runs out of items, even staples such as eggs and onions and we do our best to work around this. There are items we are able to stock up on and others we can't. Wholemeal flour for example has been out of stock for months and we do not stock up on it due to the problem with weevils.
I do not understand your comment regarding the seafood- we have very fresh fish on the menu for lunch as well as dinner (as you say cooked in a wide variety of ways), also lobster and calamari. Our emphasis is on local fish and as prawns are not locally caught we don't serve them as often. I understand that the web site could be misleading regarding the seafood and also theme nights and afternoon tea and I will endeavour to have this changed. It does stipulate on the web site that if you like between meal snacks to bring your own- we do have local cassava/kumala chips for sale as well as peanuts, imported chips and chocolate bars- these are available both at the bar and in the fare minibars.
Panadol, bandaids and a large stock of medical supplies are available free of charge both for our staff and guests. I have no recollection of a guest inquiring for either.
Supply for our bar has been an issue in the past few months- the Tusker shop were not available to supply us with Tusker for several weeks, leading us to arrange to have some sent up from Port Vila on an island trader. They also have been out of stock for most of our house wines and also spirits. Very frustrating and embarrassing for us. We have ordered stocks from elsewhere when available- often at greatly increased cost to us, simply to try and keep constant supplies for our guests. It is one of the difficulties we are faced with living in "paradise" and on a remote island. The costs for us to go to town are high so we have to limit shopping trips and unfortunately we are unable to keep high levels of expensive goods in stock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

Great family holiday in an amazing and well-preserved tropical paradise!

Many positives to call out, including the location, facilities, management & staff, snorkeling & diving, accommodations and food. All were great for us.

We were made to feel very welcome, with management and staff flexible around our needs or preferences. Not so much about luxury, but for sure there is a genuine interest to make sure you are happy and enjoying your bokissa island experience.

If you're a diver then it's hard to go past bokissa. You have access to the big ticket sites around Santo and as well you can dive the local wreck the Henry Bonneaud, that I visited twice because it was so good!

If you're a family (even with young kids like ours) with a mildly adventurous spirit, I can highly recommend bokissa.


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G, Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Thank you for your review and we all enjoyed having your family become part of the "Bokissa family" for a short time. We are not about luxury but hopefully we make up for that in other ways.
We hope you will venture our way again and maybe your girls will experience the delights of diving in Santo next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

Spent week at Bokissa, fare are spaced out nicely along the foreshore and clean and comfortable, but bit dated. Food was very good, the local fish is absolutely delicious and served quite often in many different ways. Breakfast is basic and if you want eggs and bacon, will cost you extra.

Snorkelling from the shore is good ,but better snorkelling is from the northern point of the island back towards the jetty.

The island is well maintained with large pool to relax in, while having a few cocktails in the sun lounges dotted around the pool and decking area. Rainforest walk is a must do, there are two walks you can do, one through the middle or around the edge of the island, make sure you wear good shoes as can be quite uneven on the tracks.
The only thing missing is few single kayaks and stand up paddle boards. (There is double kayaks on the island).
Overall, we great relaxing time, meeting some wonderful people and staff were friendly and helpful, definitely will be back to enjoy the isolation and peace of this island..

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G, Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of Bokissa island. It certainly gives prospective guests a great overview of what to expect when they come here. You seemed to achieve a wonderful balance between relaxing and the more strenuous activities we have to offer. I love that you can do as little or as much as you like at Bokissa and we love to watch our guests unwind. We certainly hope that we can add you to our growing list of returnees. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews