We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
403
87
25
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
87
25
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel standard room pork belly cigar lounge star hotel underfloor heating attention to detail fine dining coffee machine south africa great restaurant two night stay wonderful food main building long drive karoo town stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 533 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Quaint hotel with high comfort and excellent decor, we stayed in a suite facing the reception. Room was very well decorated and equipped, bed was excellent. The breakfast in the main dining room was good and well presented..only comment was the doors to the dining room were open and the cold winter air put a damper on the meal. overall we enjoyed our stay very much, thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms facing rear parking and back street are quieter,
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capsud2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janus_Schoeman, General Manager at Drostdy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

We are busy upgrading our breakfast - something to look forward to on your next visit.

Till then...

Janus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

I’ve been wanting to visit the Drostdy since it opened, and gave my parents a weekend away here to celebrate their 50th anniversary.

My 14-year-old son and I visited in August and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The attention to detail of the layout and interiors is inspiring. We ate dinner in the restaurant on both nights of our stay, selected different courses every night and all meals were presented beautifully and delicious.

The continued drought means that baths are out of the question, and all bath plugs have been removed so it is strictly shower-only in the Karoo. A great way to learn to appreciate every drop of water.

We were travelling in my bakkie and my son’s bike was on the back which was a concern for overnight parking but I needn’t have worried. The concierge advised that absolutely nothing would go missing from the vehicle overnight and he was right.

The location of the Drostdy makes it very easy to wander around town, enjoy the architecture and visit the cactus nursery. The Valley Of Desolation is a short drive away.

Best of all in this hotel, is the staff. They made our stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank SJCHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janus_Schoeman, General Manager at Drostdy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

We cannot wait for your return!

What a testimonial on the staff!

Thank You!

Janus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We were recommended to stay or have lunch here Unfortunately we only tried the restaurant which was excellent

What a lovely place, the hotel has been beautifully restored by the Rupert family and has beautiful floors and decor.

We sat outside and the staff were extremely attentive and competent.

The staff are all extremely well trained locally in a hotel school and then work in the hotel or restaurant before moving on. As a result the type of service we received was exceptional.

We all choose different items off the menu and everything was very well presented and very tasty. An excellent experience. would definitely go back and would like to stay over next time.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janus_Schoeman, General Manager at Drostdy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Dear Sandy

Next time you are welcome to contact me should you wish to stay in our beautiful hotel.

Kindest
Janus
janus@drostdy.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at night so had no idea what the place looked like (other than on line photos).
The staff were very polite and courteous.
The room over looking a pool (tad cold for any thoughts of a swim!).
The room is lovely and the mattress is lush!
The bathrooms exceptional, real class
Breakfast was fantastic, unfortunately we couldn’t stop very long... pity.
A must stay if your going this way!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank martinj113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janus_Schoeman, General Manager at Drostdy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Martin

A great stop over indeed.

Looking forward to having you here for a couple of nights next time.

Till then...
Janus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Our second time visiting this hotel and both times were excellent! Great service and great food! We had lots of fun with the barman, Leonard entertained us and gave really Good service on both of our visits.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank helenanortje91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janus_Schoeman, General Manager at Drostdy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Dear Helena

What a pleasure we have to be served by Leonard... did he do his can trick?

See you soon.

Kindest
Janus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews