We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Sea Gypsy Cafe

Sea Gypsy Cafe
Ranked #14 of 131 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Sea Gypsy Cafe is one of the most unique places that you will ever visit. We are situated on the water our oysters are hanging from a pole alive in the sea. We offer a warm friendly and welcoming experience. Great food good value. We offer not only seafood but also meats, chicken, vegetarian meals as well as burgers, toasties and pastas. Takeaways can be placed over the phone and delivered by delivery extreme. A shuttle service is also available if required at no extra cost to and from the shop. Come and join us we are people that care. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards Colin and Team.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Went there for a lunch after 1 hour sea trip. Wanted a quick bite before driving for another 2-3 hours. I only ordered iced coffee, which was delicious and my husband went for hike&chips. When his order was on the table, I decided to go for the same one. It looked and tasted delicious. Definitely a place for a nice lunch.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Ilona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you. Regards Colin and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 480 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

Recommended to visitors to what used to be our favorite restaurant, The Sea Gypsy. A party of eight we were placed at 2 tables, no offer to move them together. No lamp was provided to read the menu. We had to use our cell phone light. Waited at least half an hour before our food order was even taken and then food took at least another hour. It was not even worth the wait. My T-bone was largely fat and gristle. Chips were obviously the last of a batch since they were all the tiny pieces and the food was cold. Each person's meal was served with extended time between and thus food became even more cold. Other people ordered meals which were equally disappointing - nobody enjoyed their meal - baskets, steaks, etc. My husband was even served in a chipped glass which cut his lip. At the end of a very disappointing meal we waited a further half an hour to order desert for the kids - staff were more intent on tidying and preparing for the next day and management appeared to be invisible. I will not be taking any future visitors to this restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank couttsbelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for your review will get urgent attention. Kind regards Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Good views, nice service but disgusting food.
You can go for some drinks but do not you dare to eat anything!!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leavermande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Wow. Thank you for your review. Regards Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

I took my Mum for lunch. Being right at the sea we were expecting lovely fresh seafood. Ordered the hake & calamari. Definitely not fresh, definitely disappointed

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank traceyb214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Thank you for your review. Regards Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

Oh dear Oh dear...

Annual visit to MB from UK as we have a house here... Usually go here 3 or 4 times during our visit...Not anymore..
Food very average... service not great...And i ordered the 20 rands per prawns dish which was a complete rip off!! 8 prawns (160 rands worth) arrived..Hardly large. Id asked for them in garlic butter but arrived in covered in some red die with cold not cooked chips and a salad the size of a match box ( iam not joking) and a salad being bits if chopped lettuce thats it!! And to finish off my 5th guests meal of hake and chips arrived 30 minutes after everyone elses main course!!
Cooks need more supervision/training plus no sign of any management all evening ..TOTAL DISASTER and waste of money

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 764gareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you for your review. Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Gypsy Cafe also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Great Brak River, Mossel Bay
 

Been to Sea Gypsy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing