We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What an amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of C the View Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
C the View Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 49 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What an amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We went for two nights this last weekend and I am amazed at their friendly and professional manner . Their service was above standard and we can certainly recommend staying here. The guest house is on the beach with views and whale watching. All I can say is that I will certainly be back again soon for more R & R.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatntoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    47
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
39
118
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Received a first class response to my booking enquiry and that was a great start. Clear directions to the guesthouse and an effusive welcome made it feel like visiting family; the room was fantastic, with magnificent view across the road to the sea - very apt name for the guesthouse!!
The room had all amenities: good cupboard space, very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and private balcony, as well as those special touches that mean so much to a traveller - mini-fridge, tea/coffee in the room and sincere greetings from all of the staff.
Breakfast was a feast, for the eyes and the appetite - fresh hot coffee, freshly prepared fruit salads, cereals, health bread and jams. We enjoyed a braai with the manageress and her family as well as 2 other guests and this was just like old friends getting together around a fire on any Saturday night - rugby, kids, parents, politics, taxes, cars, weather all came under deep discussion!!
The public areas are very comfortable: indoor jacuzzi, outdoor splash pool, indoor and outdoor braai and for those who want it, quiet sitting areas.
We would unhesitatingly recommend C The View to anybody looking for great accommodation, fantastic views, genuine and caring hosts that treat their guests as long lost friends - we certainly felt that way as we bade a very sad farewell after three days.

Room Tip: Just ask - all are sea-facing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynbar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

My partner and I have now stayed at C' The View five times and would do so more often if we lived in South Africa. It has the facilities of a hotel, and the warmth and personal touch of a guest house. Charlotte, Debbie and Abraham run a delightful establishment - extremely comfortable and spacious - three generous lounges, a barbecue deck, a pool, a jacuzzi, several terraces as well as each room having a balcony that faces the sea. We haven't been there in the whale season but we are sure this would be an ideal spot to view them from. Whenever you go you'll be treated like a VIP and a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a luxury room at the end of a corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitcairn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

This well-managed guest house is ideal if you are looking for peace and quiet and yet closeness to the ocean. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, giving competent and useful tips on what to see and do in the surroundings. Breakfast is varied and sufficient, the rooms clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Extra bonuses are the use of the jacuzzi with an endless view of the ocean as well as enjoying a relaxing massage in your room by an external professional. Highly recommendable accommodation with a home-from-home atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthea002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

I visit CTheView guest house on an almost monthly basis and the service and facilities are always excellent! Charlotte is a superb host and is involved in all aspects of the guest house, something that has become lacking in others. This trip was no different with Charlotte arranging an Easter egg hunt for my 9 year old daughter which she really enjoyed.

Food is good and Charoltte ensures she caters for all palettes (my daughter is an incredibly fussy eater..) Rooms are always clean and neat. A huge plus for CTheView is that anything broken (which is rare) is always fixed or replaced promptly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waynet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

We've stayed at C' The View before, but returned because we enjoyed it so much. Debbie, Abraham and Charlotte make a great team - very welcoming. The place is very spacious and has an informal comfort that we value very much. Every room faces the sea and there are some fabulous beaches nearby.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms have better bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

After flying to numerous location around the world for our work, it was such a delight and joy to be treated like "royalty" during our stay at C'theView Guesthouse. Not only were the accommodations clean, comfortable and peaceful (with breathtaking views), the hospitably provided daily was top-notch! Thank you, Charlotte for running a guesthouse that really lives up to it's 5-star status.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank konasurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
20.5 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
12.6 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
12.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
13.9 km away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 49 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
3.0 km away
At Whale-Phin Guest House
At Whale-Phin Guest House
#16 of 49 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C the View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C the View Guesthouse

Property: C the View Guesthouse
Address: 277 Kusweg Road | Tergniet, Mossel Bay 6525, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — C the View Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
C the View Guesthouse is right on the beach of Tergniet, near Mosselbay in the Beautiful Garden Route, South-Africa! You can literally enjoy the breathtaking view from EVERY room of the house. The view will astonish you from your private balcony! Our warmth, hospitality and genuineness to serve sets us apart from other guesthouses. As one guest said, "I came as a guest and left as a friend" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your C the View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing