We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great people!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diaz Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great people!!!!”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I have been here once and had a fantastic stay. From check-inn to departing the guys were awesome. On arrival, some how my booking information was mistaken by putting me in a smoking area room and i questioned it, because i am a none smoker. With immediate affect, the porter phoned reception, and apologies for the inconvenience caused and moved me 3 floors up and gave me a bigger room. What a quick and excellent service.

Room Tip: Book the rooms that overlook the bay, awesome in the morning with sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    35
    14
    10
    8
See reviews for
31
30
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Diaz Strand Hotel at Mossel Bay is wonderfully positioned overlooking the bay, on the outskirts of the town, and has a small shopping centre attached where free internet access is available. The room was large, with a balcony to take advantage of the view. There was a problem with the temperature of the buffet food on the first night, but on the second night a staff member made sure that the lids were quickly replaced over the food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights this past weekend. We stayed in a suite on the 11th floor and the views from our balcony and the bedroom were breathtaking. The hotel self is in a fairly good condition, it has a mini market with everything you need as part of the complex. The breakfast buffet was good and again the views from the breakfast room were amazing. For some reason there were no face cloths in the bathroom and despite requesting some to be sent to our room twice, these never arrived. Otherwise the stay was very relaxing and I would go back any time.

Room Tip: Choose a suite on the 11th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonniCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have experience the hospitality of the hotel & resort on various occasions, and all we can say is excellent!! We normally book well in advance for even a week-end, due to the popularity and high demand for accommodation in this hotel. From the friendly and helpful staff at reception desk to the room- and dinning room staff, that go out of their way to make you feel welcome and special and assist to make your stay a memorable one.

All the rooms are sea facing, the higher the better we find, because it gives you a panaramic view from George mountains to the left to Mossel Bay town on the right with 90% of the front view overlooking the bay. If you are visiting in summertime, whales visit the bay regularly to give bith to their calves, you could be in luck to view these magnificent creatures from the luxury of your room's balcony - visit the hotels website gallery to sea pictures.

If you like to fall asleep with the sound of breaking waves, you will not be dissapointed! If the sound is too loud you can close the windows and sliding door, and enjoy the quitness of the room.

From the hotel you have access to shopping facilities "next door" that cater from beverages to beach wear and beach gear (sandals, costumes and umbrellas) for anything that you might have forgot to bring along. You walk from the hotel right onto the beach, walking for kilometres either way on the beach.

Other popular facilities that is also "next door" is an entertainment centre for young and older people (that is still young at heart) and enjoy water activities like waterslides (awesome, say a 50++ grandpa ), tube rides and mini golf. To enter these facilitiies, as well as a warm water pool centre, ask reception staff about access.

Then there are a variety of bars and restaurants in close proximity of the hotel to satisfy each and every one's taste. Having said this, the food that you will be served at the hotel won't give you reason to visit these places on a regular basis, in between maybe and for a sundowner, yes.

Mossel Bay is also very central for exploring the Garden Route and neibouring towns like the famous Hartenbos, George and Oudshoorn (ostrich mecca).

Overall, I can recommend this hotel and the facilities without any doubt to all local South African people as well as to visiting people from abroad.

Peet148

Room Tip: 1. Request a room to your preference, smoking or non-smoking, corner suites are normally larger with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peet148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel is literally next to the beach and our room, with its balcony, had wonderful views across the sweep of the bay. The hotel is just off centre of the bay so there are views in both direction.

It was clean and comfortable. the bedroom was larger than average as was the bathroom with "his and hers" wash basins.

The staff were a bit of a disappointment compared with some other hotels in South Africa. They weren't particularly friendly, rarely smiled and weren't particularly efficient at clearing plates, getting toast, tea/coffee etc. We've had a lot worse in capital cities around the world but usually experience better in holiday resorts.

The food was good with the exception of the puddings which were a bit uninspiring.

It wouldn't stop us going again because of the views and location and with a bit more care, it could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livingwhilewecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
120 reviews
3.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
5.4 km away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
492 reviews
0.6 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
178 reviews
25.7 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diaz Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diaz Hotel & Resort

Property: Diaz Hotel & Resort
Address: 1 Beach East Boulevard | Diaz Strand, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa (Formerly Diaz Strand Hotel & Resort)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diaz Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the picturesque Garden Route, in the historically-rich and climatically-temperate town of Mossel Bay, and right at the ocean's edge, lies a celebration of opulence and splendour: the matchless Diaz Hotel & Resort. Located only 10m from the high-water mark, it offers spectacular ocean views from every window and private balcony. It is the perfect venue for your next dream beach holiday, corporate brainstorming sessions or year end functions. It offers 81 bedrooms and 5 suites, all en-suite with separate bath and shower, private balconies and uninterrupted sea views. Packages include breakfast and undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Diaz Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing