We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the most beautiful and relaxing...”
other traveller has booked this property
View from the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
View from the deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mossel Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Yolandi T
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
“One of the most beautiful and relaxing accommodations with the friendliest owners”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Barefoot Lodge is one of the most beautiful accommodations in Mossel Bay with a stunning view. We received such a warm welcome from Marianne and would recommend this lodge to anyone.

Thanks a million for a wonderful stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank H
Giessen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Marianne gave us a warm welcome to this marvelous house. The place is spotless clean, the kitchen is very well appointed and the the beds are comfortable and we immediately felt at home.The welcome treats like coffee, cookies, shower gel and shampoo were a nice touch. We spent long hours on the deck watching the whales breaching. The internet was very fast and there are two restaurants close by, the sea is literally only a stone throw away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonetteca...
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Barefoot lodge very neat,Cozy beach and restaurant within 3mins walking distance ...nice inside braai we as family had a lovely stay beginning and end Mariaan let us feel at home with her friendliness.Big thanks to I Mariaan we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanj304
Port Elizabeth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome Birthday weekend away”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Barefoot Lodge was really the best Birthday present that my daughters,sisters and friends
could give me,the house was clean and it had everything in it that a person could think of.It is a very cosy house with the builtin braai that heated the whole house seeing that we were
there in the heart of winter.It was really a fantastic, awesome time we had there.Best for all
its only a few steps away from the beach.
I really had the time of my life that weekend.i couldnt have asked for better.THANK YOU
BAREFOOT LODGE!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the soothing sound of the waves and the location of the house
Liked least: the double bunk in the one bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Undoubtedly the best. Well positioned, lovely views form the deck, well stocked, very clean and comfortable. It felt like home away from home. Mariana with her welcoming smile, was the cherry on the top. Even a birthday card for my father's 90th birthday. Well done and you will definitely see us again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experinece
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieMa...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We finished our South Africa trip at Barefoot Lodge and it was the perfect end to an amazing holiday. The lodge has everything you need from beach towels to washing machine and stunning BBQ terrace overlooking to sea. Marrianna was very helpful and was very accommodating to anything we need.

The lodge is a stone throw away from a lovely beach area, with a park and restaurant over the sea, it was not noisy and has a great atmosphere. Would recommend for couple and families with young children. We loved it so much we have booked again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil J
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday rental.”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great location overlooking the beach, spotless house, very spacious and beautifully decorated. Great communication from booking, though to being met at the property. Fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. We were travelling with a 2yr old and there were even beach toys for her to play with, along with beach chairs and umbrellas.
Highly recommended and I will definitely be returning on our next trip to SA.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing