We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
160
98
41
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
98
41
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager mrgondola ridethe hotel managerdecent stayhotel is locatedexcellent viewpleasant staycold weathersnow clad mountainsbeautiful locationgolf courseshanazhospitalityheatergandolatoeswinter
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 351 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Gulmarg is a very beautiful place with very limited hotel options. So we did stay at this place with prior booking. However, for me the biggest issue was cleanliness. The restaurant , rooms & all were very shabby. We had a road facing room & the hotel in front kept on playing really loud music the entire night. Considering the tariff one pays for this hotel & the services you get ... Not a very great deal.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank tasneem_banu_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeHotel2016, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Hotel Gulmarg, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out to write about your experience with us. I am sorry that due to certain unfortunate events your stay with us did not go as planned. Your comments have been passed to the team and i can assure you corrective measures have been put into place. We again thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We stayed at this place in April 2016 as a part of our Kashmir trip. Our experience as follows...

THE GOOD

Nice location, easily accessible to the market and our room had a undisturbed view of the Shiva temple. That made for a great start and were pretty happy to begin with.
The food was good too with hygienic eating areas.

THE BAD

The rooms are cramped with very low ceiling height and you can actually touch the ceiling if you raise your arm.
The geyser does not work at all, it is just a showpiece and nothing more than that. There is a solar water heating facility, but it seems to be a terrible waste of money as the sun-rays are never intense enough to charge the solar panels and water to heat. So brace yourself for extremely cold water every morning.
The hotel was severely understaffed. For every call we made, it took them at least three reminders and one hour to attend to it. That really ruined our stay out there.
There are frequent power failures in Gulmarg, and the hotel guys have a deisel generator... that's understandable. The worst part is only one electricity point in the room works on the generator. So, you get up in the morning, shivering, no electricity and only one electricity point ... where you have to plug the electric blanket. If you have a phone charger or camera charger, you are screwed. I asked the guys for an power extension cord, but their expression told us seems they had heard such a thing for the first time in their lives. That left us with no charge in our camera.

THE UGLY

When we complained all this to the manager, he was extremely aggressive and violent to respond. We asked him to look at the room, he literally banged on our door instead of knocking. There was neither politeness nor any sense of courtesy to talk to me or my wife. When we complained about the geyser, he started turning its knobs and pipes violently and even broke one of its taps in the process.

The way he behaved and spoke to me and my wife made us extremely insecure and unsafe. He was aggressive and had a hostile attitude towards us. We realised if we say any further, he might physically attack us. We were shell-shocked and my wife was left in tears during the entire ordeal. We wanted to lodge a police complaint against him, but we were in a foreign place with the localites in majority did not want to spoil the remainder of the trip.

WE WOULD URGE COUPLES TO STAY AWAY FROM SUCH A HORRIBLE PLACE

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Siddhant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016

One of the best budget hotels in Gulmarg. It is near the main market, so you may have food in the hotel or if you prefer veg restaurants, you may go to Bakshi restaurant in main market. Rooms are very clean. And there is no bad smell in the rooms as bad smell is found in the rooms of a number of hotel nearby. It is near the gulmarg meadows.Beautiful scenery all around.

Room Tip: Rooms facing meadows provide a good scenery.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RKSharmaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Had not originally Intended to stay at Welcome hotel. Got stranded in a terrible snowstorm and could not reach our hotel. Welcome hotel rooms were fairly average, but warm and cosy, which is actually all we wanted that day. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to accommodate us. The food was good. Value for money, certainly. It is on the main road, near the marketplace. About 1/2 a km from the cable car....fine to walk.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank musicalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Very nice place to stay in gulmarg. Staff and manager are very helpful people. There are a few good budget hotels in gulmarg. The best part in the hotel is, the food. Yo won't find good food in the small gulmarg. I would recommend this hotel for your visit in gulmarg. :)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kumud j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews