We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME EXPERIENCE..!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Gulmarg
Thane, India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME EXPERIENCE..!!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

From 14th to 17th of March i was staying in Heevan Retreat, Gulmarg (Room no. 21). View from my room was just awesome. In gulmarg the minimum temperature was -6 but the heating facilities in this hotel were superb. Rooms have 24 hrs running hot water.
I had a perfect stay in this hotel. Hats off to the Restaurant team of Heevan Retreat. This hotel has the best food in Gulmarg. I really enjoyed its Breakfast,lunch and dinner to the fullest. Chef Bashir Ahmad has a great magic in his hands. I think this hotel has the best restaurant team in Gulmarg.
Room service is appropriate. Hotel lobby is also too good. This hotel has a very nice gift shop of kashmiri specialties like Pashmina Shawls, small Shikaras etc. Interior is also superb.

Room Tip: Since i was alone room no. 21 was just perfect for me. This room has a superb view. Other rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aalaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    241
    68
    16
    19
See reviews for
351
124
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chandrapur, India
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

me and my husband hd come to Gulmarg after a hectic visit to vaisnodevi and srinagar!!! passing thru huge walls of snow the view of this wonderful place wz a sight for sour eyes..we just loved the ambience and warmness of wood cladding and carpeted floors.. the staff is also gr8..everyone here is helpful..the view outside is superb..food is gr8 and last but not the least
'ITS THE BEST PLACE TO VISIT WITH UR LOVED ONES'.

ps- the wi-fi wz the best thing :)

Room Tip: 1)the rooms are a bit small for big families but u can always select the one u like.. 2)the gas hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KHUSHBOOMEHTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed in Hotel Heevan, Srinagar before checking-in here. That hotel was our benchmark since it gave us the best of everything. When we reached Gulmarg, to our surprise the road to the hotel was full with snow and ice. It was not possible for our Winger to go up. We were 9 of us including oldies and an infant with 17 bags. It took us nearly an hour and a half to reach the place. First, the hotel did not help us with their car (The driver was missing). We took help from a localite who was driving a 4 wheel car. Second, out of 4 rooms, 2 were small. The heater of big rooms were strong. There was no way to shut the heaters so after sometime, the rooms and restaurant were warm like hell. We were unable to breath and requested the staff to shut it (They did it). Third, the food was not tasty (Eaten better food in Srinagar and other places). All of us were sick after eating. Fourth, while coming back from Gondola ride, we spotted the hotel car, the driver had come to fetch some guests, we told him to drop them and come back for us, he and the staff snapped and told us to walk and come. We complained to the manager who then apologized to us. Last but not the least, the bathroom were smaller than my wardrobe. My cousin is 6 feet tall, he had to bend to enter the bathroom...

Room Tip: Do not take the big rooms. The bathrooms are matchbox size and the heaters are on high mode (you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsme_ajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at Heevan Retreat in the start of March 2012 for 4 nights. After travelling in India over 3 weeks we stumbled accross a slice of Heaven, in the retreat!
The retreat is very comfortable with all modern amenities and hot water ( which is important in thealpine areas) and the staff were exceptional with no request being too much. On one occassion we were going onto the icey road into Gulmarg and one of the staff appeared to help us, guiding us through the icy conditions. Also staff accompanied us in getting ki rental gear so as to ensure we got there safely. This we felt was above and beyond what would expect from a hotel.

The food was great with a wide selection of kasmiri and western foods, we were rolling out of the dining room each day totally full.

The Heevan Retreat has great central heating which especially in the winter makes you feel home away from home and spacious rooms.

No request was too much for the front office staff and restaraunt staff and I would say staying at the retreat was one of the highlights of accommodation whilst travelling in India and Kashmir. We stayed at the resort in the Winter season yet i can imagine it would be just as nice in the summer season.

The retreat has a pool table, and lounge area which are great for relaxing after sking or if you want a day off just reading a book, and plenty of opportunity to meet other travellers from around the world. Also rooms has Cable TV whicjh is great after hard day sking.

All in all i would suggest staying at Heevan, as we had done based on other travellers reports on Trip Adviser. We were certainly more than satisfied and would definately return to stay at Heevan when we come back to Kashmir.

Steve and Ash (Australia)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveoz303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was our second stay at Hotel Heevan. After our first stay in 2009 there was no other hotel in Gulmarg that we wanted to stay in. Our room was warm and very comfortable with western style bathroom and hot running water all the time, which is an exception in Gulmarg. The food was excellent and deserves the reputation for the best in Gulmarg. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, but Jay (Javid) was superb and nothing was too much trouble for him to organise. It will be a sad day for the hotel if he decides to work in Srinagar. The new lounge area with wood heater and pool table are a nice place to relax at the end of a hard day. Why would you stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FiandAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had a perfect stay in the Hotel!
Absolutely the best Food in gulmarg!!! We did enjoy each meal. The Service was really Perfect, the Roms were Big, well heated, cleaned every Day, the shower always with hot water, which was very Important After the skiing Day :-)
Big Compilent to the Whole Hotel staff - wie felt Not like in a Hotel, we felt like being at home! Thank you guy's for everything, next Time wie will Choose your Hotel again, that's for sure!
In was a Perfect stay in gulmarg!
See you next Time,
Sven, Didi, Philipp, Stefan & Claus from Austria

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I am from the United States and I had no idea about hotels in Gulmarg. I found the Hotel Heevan to be the best in Gulmarg.I traveled around to the other hotels visitng friends and saw what the others were like. This hotel had the best food and helpful staff. Should I return, I will come here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnStokely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulmarg hotels
2.0 km away
The Vintage Gulmarg
The Vintage Gulmarg
#1 of 17 in Gulmarg
861 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#7 of 17 in Gulmarg
397 reviews
1.9 km away
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
Welcome Hotel Gulmarg
#8 of 17 in Gulmarg
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#12 of 17 in Gulmarg
230 reviews
2.1 km away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#9 of 17 in Gulmarg
302 reviews
0.3 km away
Pineview Hotel
Pineview Hotel
#15 of 17 in Gulmarg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heevan Retreat Gulmarg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heevan Retreat Gulmarg

Property: Heevan Retreat Gulmarg
Address: Near Gondola, Gulmarg 193403, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Baramulla District > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heevan Retreat Gulmarg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Idyllic surroundings amidst the beautiful valley of Gulmarg, is Heevan Retreat. En route to Khilanmarg and five minutes from where Gondola Cable Car Corporation begins, Heevan Retreat offers scintillating views of Affarvat range of Mountains. Hotel has 35 centrally heated deluxe rooms and suites. All the rooms are spacious, exclusively furnished and fitted with CCTVs. Besides, a multi-cuisine restaurant serves appetizing food catering to varied tastes. Hotel also has Business Centre, Shopping Arcade, Conference and Banquet Hall. Uninterrupted power supply and 24 hour room service ensures you a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Heevan Retreat Gulmarg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg Hotel Gulmarg
Heevan Retreat Gulmarg Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing