We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not recommend highly enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ketapang Indah Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Banyuwangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2010

After reading the reviews was a little dubious about staying here. I need not have worried. It is definatly the best hotel in the area. Went to Banguangi for a wedding and stayed three nights. Rooms are clean, the pool is a welcome relief and the food if you are looking for a bit of western fare is pretty good also. We had to check out at 6pm on the last day and the hotel had made a boxed breakfast for each of us which they did not have to do.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2009

Absolutely true!!!! I have seen it during my stay with my parents and family. Not just that, in the middle of the night, someone knocking on our door and heard sound coming from the roof. It is so frightening experience. We really got freaked out and check-out the next morning.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Janeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My partner and I stayed at this hotel, because we got stuck in Banyuwangi for a couple of days after missing a plane/train. I read one of the reviews which described the hotel as like something out of "The Shining" and thought that this didn't sound promising, but we didn't have any choice because we got to Banyuwangi at short notice. When I read this review, I thought it was probably an exaggeration, but when I got to the hotel I completely understood what the person meant: although the rooms are average (not horrendous, but certainly not great), the whole place has a *really* bad vibe to it (for the record, this is coming from an atheist who doesn't believe any pseudo-spiritual inclincations). The grounds are too spacious, without enough trees, and although it is just next to the beach, the compound is surrounded by a high chicken wire fence, which makes it feel slightly like being inside a prison or something. There are also *lots* of bats, which doesn't help to improve the overal ambience of the place.
The rooms are okay, and there's a fridge and cable TV, but the bathroom is semi-open (ie. no flyscreen to the outside, and open room thing), meaning that while no-one can see in, there's also nothing stopping any insects from coming in. Everytime I used the bathroom after dark I kept waiting for a bat to swoop down!
In summary - it's fine as a stopover location (which it seems would be its only purpose, as Banyuwangi doesn't seem to have much in the way of tourist attractions), but definitely not recommended for a long-term stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegreenwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank DianaRoossumantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank YULIANTO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank tommytang105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Christina X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banyuwangi hotels
0 km away
Grand Harvest Resort and Villas
10.3 km away
EL Royale Hotel & Resort
EL Royale Hotel & Resort
#4 of 16 in Banyuwangi
36 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Blambangan
Hotel Blambangan
#3 of 16 in Banyuwangi
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi
Mirah Hotel Banyuwangi
#8 of 16 in Banyuwangi
101 reviews
38.7 km away
Minak Jinggo Hotel
Minak Jinggo Hotel
#10 of 16 in Banyuwangi
11 reviews
1.5 km away
Mahkota Plengkung Banyuwangi
Mahkota Plengkung Banyuwangi
#11 of 16 in Banyuwangi
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ketapang Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketapang Indah Hotel

Address: Jl. Gatot Subroto km. 6, Banyuwangi 68421, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Banyuwangi
Price Range: $35 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ketapang Indah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ketapang Indah is a family orientated hotel, it features a collection of comfortable guest rooms and cottages spread across a generous landscape shaded by mature coconut palms. Covering six hectares, Ketapang Indah Hotel extends to a stretch of volcanic black sand beach with inspiring sunrise views over the Bali Strait. The property blends traditional Javanese hospitality with more contemporary styled facilities to anticipate the needs of both leisure and business travelers. Ketapang Indah Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the natural beauty and culture of East Java. The volcanic crater lake of Ijen is a magnificent turquoise colour and the site of a labour-intensive sulphur mine. Plengkung, otherwise known as G-Land, is a world-class surfing beach located within the Alas Purwo National Park, some 88 kilometres from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ketapang Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing