We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bagan House Lacquerware Shop
Save
Review Highlights
Authentic but touristy

Very interesting shop offering to see the insides of the traditional crafts. More touristy then... read more

Reviewed April 4, 2018
tinalevyz
,
Istanbul, Turkey
via mobile
Great Experience

A very interesting visit to Bagan House. At first you get a detailed description of how they do the... read more

Reviewed April 2, 2018
AP194R
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Read all 87 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bagan
from US$350.00
More Info
from US$450.00
More Info
from US$68.80
More Info
from US$35.44
More Info
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
35
41
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
41
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each piece maw maw finished product whole process biscuits showroom bamboo demonstration stages producing aung factory
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 87 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

A very interesting visit to Bagan House. At first you get a detailed description of how they do the process from beginning to end and then a walk through the factory to view the process and after you can go into the showroom and view or buy some of the finished product. The staff were friendly and professional and it was a very pleasant experience.

Thank AP194R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

We were showed the whole process from the Bamboo circle of a bracelet to all the various finished articles. We did not realize how much time and the attention to detail it took and also the many processes
We were made very welcome by the staff and they even gave us tea and biscuits while we looked around.Unfortunately items were very expensive to purchase. but we could understand why as each is handmade.

Thank 918teresah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

To begin they teach you all about the incredible work that goes into producing their Lacquerware. Their selection is incredible and the prices are reasonable for the quality you get. The owner, Maw Maw Aung, is a lovely person who has given demonstrations around the world including the US. As a student she stood up for democracy and spent a year in jail. For this alone or shop is a treasure.

Thank atlanticcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018

When you are told what goes into making lacquerware, you realise that it is a lot more complicated than it would first appear. Nice people, happy to demonstrate and be photographed. Large selection of products available to be purchased.

1  Thank wendyanddavid536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maw Maw A, Owner at Bagan House Lacquerware Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Thank You very much. We hope that you had great times in Bagan.
Best Wishes,
Maw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2017

I stayed once, they told me about how to make handmade things and it was good to know. I love to see the best handmade things in showroom, it's amazing.
I bought 10 bracelets by handmade and they give me 1 more, it was great!
The less good thing, it was rain, so the view was not beautiful like i thought.
Maybe later, i will come back in the hot season, :D

Thank ThamNguyen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews