We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
Nearby Hotels
US$1,211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pak Ping Rim Khong(Chiang Saen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Thai Resort(Chiang Saen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siam Triangle Hotel(Chiang Saen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camping du Monde(Chiang Saen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
310
22
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
22
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschiang saen lakeoverlooking the lakebird lifewonderful hostsnorthern thailandgolden triangleoff the beaten trackthe cottagesowner's motherquiet retreatheart and soulperfect place to relaxenglish breakfasta wonderful staydelicious thai foodsmall resortwatching the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 336 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sadly, we only stayed at Viang Yonok for one night on our cycle tour. Ian and Vassana were wonderful hosts. Our bungalow was extremely clean and comfortable with a lovely verandah to relax on and watch the sunset over the lake. We followed Vassana's menu recommendations and enjoyed a super meal - one of the best we had in Thailand. We hope to be able to return and stay a bit longer next time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jg6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi Lg6343,
Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your brief stay in our little piece of paradise.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2013

After a day each in Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai, we were filled up with the tourist traps. We drove towards Chiang Saen and realized that we had escaped the madness when we drove into the grounds of Viang Yonok Hotel. Ian and Vassana are very smart, laid-back hosts who only wanted to make us happy. The view outside the cabin was of a very tranquil freshwater lake and even included a small one-man fishing boat in the morning. That evening they served grilled fish caught that day from the lake cooked on a charcoal grill by Vassana's mother and in their open terraced restaurant. Breakfast there the next morning was excellent with ham and eggs cooked to our taste and lots of fresh Thai fruit and coffee.

I agree with one of the earlier reviewers that the local town is fun to visit in the evening to see the market and the local people enjoying themselves. The foods and deserts there were good and the bargaining a kick.

You will certainly enjoy yourself here and definitely decompress if you have had your fill of Bangkok and Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi Guest150,
Thank you very much for your review. Indeed, if you need a place to chill out for a while...... this is it. We realised that some years ago, when we moved here. The still water of Chiang Saen lake does have a calming effect on the soul..... Great to hear you enjoyed our food & facilities and the ancient town of Chiang Saen certainly has more character than the big cities.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Staying at Viang Yonok for 2 nights between Christmas & New Year was like catching up with old friends. We were immediately made to feel at home by Ian & Vassana, and enjoyed our many conversations with Ian about his music career, time at sea and his passion for restoring bikes. The food that was prepared for us each day was wonderful, a cooked breakfast (fruit pancakes were fantastic) with great coffee in the morning and a selection of fresh seafood dishes at night. We stayed in the Woodpecker Room which had "the best" views of the Chiang Saen Lake. The entire property was peaceful and homely. Ian was good enough to invite us to join him and other guests on their trip to a hill tribe to buy more coffee. The journey took us off the beaten path, through some local villages, to the Royal Project and the most beautiful scenery. Our only regret is that we didn't allow more time at Viang Yonok to explore the region further. We will certainly be recommending this place to our friends & family and hope that we can return some day to see a little more of this beautiful part of the world. Congratulations to Ian & Vassana on creating a piece of paradise in Chiang Saen. Tony & Glenyse Woods

Room Tip: The Woodpecker Room has a great view of the lake and big king sized bed.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenyse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi TonyGlenWoods,
Thank you very much for your great review. You came at the busiest time of year, but we were able to take you through the mountains on the smaller roads to escape the crowds, on that day out.
It's great to hear you enjoyed your brief stay in our little piece of paradise. That's right, we had our special direct delivery of seafood from down south, courtesy of Vassana's family visiting.
Maybe we'll see you back up here one day if you have a chance.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Arrived here with our two children on Christmas Eve, hoped Santa would find his way to us and also hoped this would be a good place to enjoy Christmas. We needn't have worried. Of all the places we stayed in our six week vacation throughout Thailand, Viang Yonok was a standout experience. Santa managed two visits, one in the middle of the night to leave a couple of presents for the children, and again later in the day to help with a fabulous Christmas Dinner, which was very generously provided by the Hotels owners Vassana and Ian. A most beautiful and relaxing resort, with blissful views over Chiang Saen lake, engaging hosts, and wonderful traditional Thai meals. Chiang Saen proved to be a most interesting and picturesque destination with the Hotel keen to help us explore and indulge in the fascinating history of the area. We will count Viang Yonok as one of those very special places you might stumble upon (thanks Tripadvisor reviewers) only once in a while. Places that in their simplicity make them unique, and where no massages are required to feel relaxed and at peace. So its a big thank you from our family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jauntsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hi jauntsaway,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy you and the family enjoyed your stay at Viang Yonok so much. Indeed, we all had a great time at Christmas, good fun for kids and adults alike and glad you enjoyed our turkey dinner. Santa did a good job keeping people amused and giving present to the kids, we'll have to get him to come next year too.... Good that you enjoyed the history and natural wonders of the area and had a memorable holiday.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here a few weeks ago and absolutely loved it. We have been to Thailand about 7 times and have to say that we have never experienced this kind of service anywhere else. We extended our stay as we liked it so much. Thank you Ian and Vanessa for making our stay so memorable.
If you are looking for a 'time out' from the tourist route then Viang Yonok is the right place for you. The rooms are great, (we had a free upgrade), the grounds are beautiful, the food AMAZING, the staff so friendly and helpful, the sunsets beautiful, did I mention the food was AMAZING? Really this was a great holiday spot just 4k's from the lovely little town of Chiang Saen.
We will be back! Thanks for the pancake mix too, if we close our eyes while we eat the pancakes we can almost pretend we are in your dining room :)

Thanks heaps, Lynette and Andrew

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merryfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi Merryfam,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It's great to hear that you loved our service, food & everything else and had such a memorable stay. Best service in 7 trips to Thailand is wonderful to hear. I guess we must be doing things about right....
There is a lot to see up here, so we look forward to your return visit and we'll show you some more of the wonders of Chiang Rai.
Best wishes
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews