We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
312
22
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
22
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the lake bird life northern thailand wonderful hosts chiang rai off the beaten track the cottages heart and soul perfect place to relax english breakfast a wonderful stay watching the sunset couple of nights low season golden triangle area jim mum
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 338 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a cosy, peaceful place! Chai made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Very comfy beds, clean chalets and excellent "full monty" breakfast. Each chalet has a verandah with a view of the lake, the garden is full of birds and an adequate plunge pool to cool off and enjoy your sundowners by. Definitely will be back for some more down time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi Sarah M,
We're sorry we did not get to meet you, as we were on holiday when you came to visit Viang Yonok. Never mind, it's good hear that Mr Chai looked after you well and you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your return.
Best Wishes
Ian & vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Viang Yonok is a wonderful hotel with small, private comfortable bungalows. The location is remote, and unless you want to visit local sites (the hotel is very close to the Golden Triangle of Thailand, Laos and Myanmar), you can curl up with a good book and enjoy the hotel's excellent cuisine. If you do want to tour the area, there are many nice day trips and the hotel's owners will arrange them for you at your convenience and at a very reasonable cost.
The owners, Vassana and Ian do everything possible to ensure you enjoy your stay and no request is too large or small. Pad Thai for breakfast? No problem.. Vassana's mother commands the kitchen and they turn out wonderful dishes..
From the moment the hotel picks you up at the airport (if you are arriving by plane) until they return you, you will have a terrific time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Kingfisher. Very nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacombs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi jacombs70,
Thank you so much for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your holiday with us. Good also, to hear that you thought our cuisine was excellent and we will convey your comments to the kitchen staff.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sadly, we only stayed at Viang Yonok for one night on our cycle tour. Ian and Vassana were wonderful hosts. Our bungalow was extremely clean and comfortable with a lovely verandah to relax on and watch the sunset over the lake. We followed Vassana's menu recommendations and enjoyed a super meal - one of the best we had in Thailand. We hope to be able to return and stay a bit longer next time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jg6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Hi Lg6343,
Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your brief stay in our little piece of paradise.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2013

After a day each in Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai, we were filled up with the tourist traps. We drove towards Chiang Saen and realized that we had escaped the madness when we drove into the grounds of Viang Yonok Hotel. Ian and Vassana are very smart, laid-back hosts who only wanted to make us happy. The view outside the cabin was of a very tranquil freshwater lake and even included a small one-man fishing boat in the morning. That evening they served grilled fish caught that day from the lake cooked on a charcoal grill by Vassana's mother and in their open terraced restaurant. Breakfast there the next morning was excellent with ham and eggs cooked to our taste and lots of fresh Thai fruit and coffee.

I agree with one of the earlier reviewers that the local town is fun to visit in the evening to see the market and the local people enjoying themselves. The foods and deserts there were good and the bargaining a kick.

You will certainly enjoy yourself here and definitely decompress if you have had your fill of Bangkok and Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi Guest150,
Thank you very much for your review. Indeed, if you need a place to chill out for a while...... this is it. We realised that some years ago, when we moved here. The still water of Chiang Saen lake does have a calming effect on the soul..... Great to hear you enjoyed our food & facilities and the ancient town of Chiang Saen certainly has more character than the big cities.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Staying at Viang Yonok for 2 nights between Christmas & New Year was like catching up with old friends. We were immediately made to feel at home by Ian & Vassana, and enjoyed our many conversations with Ian about his music career, time at sea and his passion for restoring bikes. The food that was prepared for us each day was wonderful, a cooked breakfast (fruit pancakes were fantastic) with great coffee in the morning and a selection of fresh seafood dishes at night. We stayed in the Woodpecker Room which had "the best" views of the Chiang Saen Lake. The entire property was peaceful and homely. Ian was good enough to invite us to join him and other guests on their trip to a hill tribe to buy more coffee. The journey took us off the beaten path, through some local villages, to the Royal Project and the most beautiful scenery. Our only regret is that we didn't allow more time at Viang Yonok to explore the region further. We will certainly be recommending this place to our friends & family and hope that we can return some day to see a little more of this beautiful part of the world. Congratulations to Ian & Vassana on creating a piece of paradise in Chiang Saen. Tony & Glenyse Woods

Room Tip: The Woodpecker Room has a great view of the lake and big king sized bed.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenyse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hi TonyGlenWoods,
Thank you very much for your great review. You came at the busiest time of year, but we were able to take you through the mountains on the smaller roads to escape the crowds, on that day out.
It's great to hear you enjoyed your brief stay in our little piece of paradise. That's right, we had our special direct delivery of seafood from down south, courtesy of Vassana's family visiting.
Maybe we'll see you back up here one day if you have a chance.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews