We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$47
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gin's Maekhong View Resort & Spa(Chiang Saen)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$13
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buakum Resort(Chiang Saen)(Great Value!)
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Thai Resort(Chiang Saen)
US$20
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Buakum Rim Khong(Chiang Saen)
US$15
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Ban Sabaidee(Chiang Saen)
US$16
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,254
US$1,147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
310
22
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
22
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschiang saen lakeoverlooking the lakebird lifewonderful hostsnorthern thailandgolden triangleoff the beaten trackthe cottagesowner's motherquiet retreatheart and soulperfect place to relaxenglish breakfasta wonderful staydelicious thai foodsmall resortwatching the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 336 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant and Sports Club is a wonderful place to stay. It is peaceful and beautiful and the owners take care of your every need. They make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Each cottage is beautiful. The lake has an abundance of birds to watch and the sunsets are incredible. I love the beautiful mornings sitting on our deck listening to the birds and watching the lake. We enjoyed their pool and the food was delicious. Thanks for accommodating our dietary needs! If you are in Chiang Saen area, I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Hi Dana M,
Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay so much and there is nothing more for me to add to your words.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017

Spent 7 nights and wished it could have been longer. Stayed in the Woodpecker Room which overlooked Chiang Saen Lake & able to watch sunset over lake. Quiet other than sound of birds and night sky something to see! Hosts Ian and Jim couldn't have been more helpful going the 'extra mile' to make our stay even more enjoyable. Meals at hotel first rate. Overall thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2017

Hi David R,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you both and we are happy you enjoyed your stay so much.
We are lucky to live in such a special location and it is great having visitors share the magic.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2017

Wonderful Place to relax, birdwaching at the lake and superb meals, good base for exploring the beautiful landscapes, hosts very friendly, good Information for excursions off the beaten track, good for a Stay of a week

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Osolobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2017

Hi Osolobo,
Thank you very much for your review. If you were happy, then we are happy.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2017

a very small Resort Close to a beautiful lake, rather difficult to find ,friendly owners who can give you a lot of advice for activities, noTV in the room, but good Internet,
no Restaurant in the neighbourhood,


Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank irenehI204GY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2017

Hi irenehl204GY,
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are in an idyllic spot away from the madding crowd.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2017

Superb - down to every last detail; my new favorite place to stay in Thailand. We stayed for 2 nights in an absolutely lovely bungalow overlooking the lake, with stunning views. I was impressed with the exquisite decor of the room, and all the amenities (nothing was overlooked), as well as the beautiful grounds and splendid architecture of the wall, gate, and "dungeon" room (where the bicycles are stored), modeled after the old-world charm of historic Chiang Saen. The gracious owner's mother and family cooked our delicious meals for breakfast and dinner and the food was prepared to our specifications: huge pancake and fruit crepes, real coffee - bought fresh and roasted by the locals - the best 3-winged bean, tamarind, and shrimp salad I have ever tasted, wonderful soups, mixed vegetables, and many other concoctions of delicious Thai food. I would go back again just to eat the food! I loved the peaceful walks around the lake, spotting unusual birds - bring binoculars - and enjoyed watching the herd of water buffalo grazing on the fields within view of our bungalow. I also loved my swim in the very clean pool and made use of one of the well-maintained bicycles. My husband used the gym also; we ran out of time to use of the kayak's. The owner, Vanessa, made us feel very welcome and went out of her way to ensure we had the best possible experience. Many thanks to her, Ian, and their staff for an extraordinary stay. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cyclistchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Hi cyclistchick,
Thank you very much for your superb review. It is most heartwarming to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay so much. We do appreciate that most of our guests have come a very long way to visit our place, so we do our best to make sure you enjoy your stay. Your review words make the work that the staff and everyone do, all worthwhile.
We hope to see you again sometime then.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews