We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$55
View Deal
eDreamsUS$55
FindHotel
Agoda.comUS$55
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
4
6
10
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4
6
10
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2017

We had a nice view over the harbor, a clean room with ocean view, AC, bathroom with shower and towels, fast wifi, and great breakfast. You could tell that this was once a great hotel and that nowadays it's definitely one of the older ones but the staff, location and breakfast made it worthwhile, especially for a short weekend stay. The only downside was the pool which was not clean (but green with algae).

Room tip: Rooms with the ocean view are nice as you can see the sun rise :-)
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 836stefanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Stayed as a family with 2 rooms. My son and his family's room was decent size facing the ocean. There were only beds in the room and 3 chairs on the balcony which was spacious. The bathroom was decent sized and shower only. My room was very small, on the main floor and very loud until 1-2 am. The bathroom in my room was a 1 star maybe less. No closet, only shelves and 1 plug which the TV and the box were plugged into, the only way to charge anything was to unplug the TV. The beds were comfortable, and the linen is hung outside to dry, very nice. Breakfast was included, but a struggle to get in the morning, I do not speak Spanish, and was ignored by some of the staff as I struggled with my English/Spanish book.
The view from the back of the Hotel out to the ocean is beautiful. The pool is small but very usable, needs a little more cleaning but a definite benefit. There is a pier with a thatched roof at the end with a large sitting area that is beautiful. There is another thatched area off the pool that is equally charming. The price of the hotel is not budget but the facilities are definitely lower budget, and should be priced accordingly.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chalbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is a good option for resting. It has a good value for your money.

Pros.

Pricing. We payed about USD50 per night, which is on the low/mid end of what you can find.
Cleanliness. It was very clean and tidy. A person was always cleaning the external areas while we were there.
Staff. The staff was very friendly and wanted to please your needs.
Breakfast. Very good breakfast. It was abundant and very tasty. They made it on demand, not buffet like.
Pool. This is good if you have small kids.
Location. The hotel location is convenient if you want to go to the town and it has a great view of the sea.

Cons.

Even though it was remodeled there are some details that were lacking. For instance the bathroom shower showed it's age and it had an unusual piping connection outside the wall. There was no hot water, but apparently this is normal on the hotels of the three area.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Francis147289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2016

Pros: Great price.It isn't listed with any travel service because they only take cash no credit cards.The price of a room with one bed is 2300 pesos (about 51 dollars), the double room, two beds ,slightly bigger than full size but smaller than queen, was 2500 pesos, about 55 dollars .This was for a 2nd floor ocean view room. 2) Great sunrises, since it is farther south, the sun moves up the horizon quickly, about 2 minutes from first peeking over the horizon to completely above it.The sun is dead center fom the hotel. 3)Friendly attentive staff, they even wash your car but please tip the man who does it.

Cons: Once THE élite hotel in this part of the country, (My wife is a Barahona native so she knows), new owners are renovating the hotel, apparently on a piecemeal basis.There's new flooring and A/C but the bathrooms and televisions need up dating.It doesn't interfere with the guests as far as I can tell.Also there is no sand beach and I don't know how swimmable it is, but there is a pool.They have free wifi, but the closer you are to the lobby the better it works.If staying in Barahona,this is a good choice.a

Room tip: 2nd floor ocean view but you can go outside to see the sunrise.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016 via mobile

This is a budget option in Barahona. Hotel maybe old, but we really liked it. Large room with frontal sea view. Large terrace from which we watched the sunrise. Huge and comfortable bed with fresh linens. Fan and air conditioning worked well. Hot water in the shower and large towels. TV and minibar were also available. What else is needed? We were among the week, so there was almost no guests. We arrived in the evening and left early in the morning, so did not notice the flaws.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews