We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
60
11
1
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
11
1
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 80 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Mostly, our issue with this hotel was noise. It is located right around the corner from a bar that plays music until late at night - midnight or two in the morning. As a result, the windows are sealed with plexiglass, which makes the room hot, and really uninviting. The second issue is electricity. The government does not provide power 24 hours a day to this part of the country, and when the electrical grid switched off, and the generator switched on, the fan noise (and the fan was necessitated by the sealed windows) was really loud. And, a third deal-breaker for us was the lack of a warm shower.

In term of potential, though, this hotel is almost there. It is a lovely property just steps from the beach, and the investments that the owners have made so far are really nice. However, as you can see from the photos, if you look closely, it is not fully-finished. The rooms are large, and the existing furniture is nice, but the finishes aren't there - as in, there are no plates on the electrical outlets; the only chair in the room was a patio chair, the towels were really scratchy. For us, this hotel just did not feel like we were on vacation. For $10 more a night, we moved to a beach-front resort down the road.

That said, the staff was really accommodating. When we asked to change our reservation, they allowed us to cancel. And, when we arrived later at night than expected, they stayed up to meet us.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe G, Propietario at Hotel Piratas Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017


Dear Andrea,
We know that your intention is to hurt us with your comment because You tried to leave without paying the hotel and you were hunted for the security of the hotel at the door. So you do not deserve any response or justification on our part.
Be honest and tell the truth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2016

I had an amazing time at the Hotel Piratas del Caribe. This is one of the better hotels on the drive between the capital and bahias de las aguilas. The staff and owner will make you feel welcome and make sure all your needs are met. The day I got there (my 40th bday and solo) the owner was waiting for me, gave me a drink, and told me stories of his journeys around the world. Made me feel as close to home as I could feel. All while listening to the ocean waves in the background. The accommodations are among the best in the region. There is TV in every room (although why would you need TV), hot water, and for most of the night there was air conditioning. Don't know why people say it was hot...temperature was fine the whole night.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dfmirand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2015

Great stopping off point for a day trip to Eagles Bay. Rooms are large and very clean. Staff and service were great. Food was just ok, we had a better dinner in the restaurant just next store. My only complaint was the lack of air conditioning, rooms have ceiling fans and airy windows but even so we were hot and sweating all night. Owner blamed this on a community power outage, but you would think there would have been some back up generator capability. Rooms are advertised and priced with air condtioning. In the end the owner discounted the bill.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Garlicsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2015

Paraiso is nothing particular as a town, the setting however is magnificent and the hotel just the best. You'll feel the Caribbean as soon as you'll get there. Very nice comfortable rooms with very friendly and efficient staff. The hotel is also a good place to visit the Lake or the Oviedo laguna on day trips. Worth the effort to reach the southern part of DR !

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DocMagma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2015

Intimate inn steps away from the beach. Set in beautiful Paraiso. The name itself should tell you to expect paradise. Clean rooms, large bathrooms. We had a suite and a normal room with an extra cot (no lumpy mattress - single wrought iron bed) for a family with grown children. Expect low water and cut off electricity but that's just the area and not the inn keeper's fault. Breakfast included: eggs, excellent coffee and rolls. Would have enjoyed fresh fruit. They can prepare supper for you but I suggest eating next door on the beach which is much more reasonable price wise. We would return in a heart beat.

Room tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel awY from the road.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 310lisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews