We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
60
11
1
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
11
1
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 80 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2018

Hotel Piratas del Caribe is a small hotel, that offers personal treatment and great conversation if you want to talk to the staff. The cook is great and if you need something they will try the best to give it to you, but remember to ask, also if you are planning to just use it for staying and visit other places like bahia de las aguilas ask for advice from the owners, if its your first visit to Republica Dominicana with more reason. Your expirience here can be great if you open up to the staff.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Q4682VZjorger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile

Loved this friendly hotel. The owner and staff are incredibly friendly.

As others have said the town is not special. The hotel is down at the beach although the aspect is more towards the town square than the beach. You can see and hear the see however.

The beach does not invite swimming although it has a raw beauty which is appealing. The 2017 hurricane, however, created a large fresh water swimming hole virtually on the beach about three minutes walk from the hotel.

I thought the hotel was perfection. What other reviewers consider faults I consider authenticity. It has great caribbean character, clean pool, secure parking. Food was freshly prepared and quite superb.

Highly recommended for an authentic stay.

Great base for visiting Laguna Oviedo.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank GlynCarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2017

It was great, we spend New years as real Dominicans. The staff is amazing, food especially break fast is so fresh and local, excellent staff or not only staff but new friends in Barahona, and room decor is beautiful romantic different textures. You may hear some noise from near by bar and the local enjoying themselves in the plaza that it's just across the hotel but it ends in some point of the night. In the morning kids play in the plaza and my 2 year old boy had a great time. Bahia de las Aguilas the most incredible beach I have ever been to. Incredible trip.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2017

I had an amazing time at this place. Everything is so pretty. Our room was ocean view. Rooms are big and very clean. Service was outstanding of the owner Manuel and Wilson. They treat us like they've known us before. Breakfast was served daily and it was delicious. I CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!! :)

Room tip: best views
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarmenR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Mostly, our issue with this hotel was noise. It is located right around the corner from a bar that plays music until late at night - midnight or two in the morning. As a result, the windows are sealed with plexiglass, which makes the room hot, and really uninviting. The second issue is electricity. The government does not provide power 24 hours a day to this part of the country, and when the electrical grid switched off, and the generator switched on, the fan noise (and the fan was necessitated by the sealed windows) was really loud. And, a third deal-breaker for us was the lack of a warm shower.

In term of potential, though, this hotel is almost there. It is a lovely property just steps from the beach, and the investments that the owners have made so far are really nice. However, as you can see from the photos, if you look closely, it is not fully-finished. The rooms are large, and the existing furniture is nice, but the finishes aren't there - as in, there are no plates on the electrical outlets; the only chair in the room was a patio chair, the towels were really scratchy. For us, this hotel just did not feel like we were on vacation. For $10 more a night, we moved to a beach-front resort down the road.

That said, the staff was really accommodating. When we asked to change our reservation, they allowed us to cancel. And, when we arrived later at night than expected, they stayed up to meet us.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe G, Propietario at Hotel Piratas Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017


Dear Andrea,
We know that your intention is to hurt us with your comment because You tried to leave without paying the hotel and you were hunted for the security of the hotel at the door. So you do not deserve any response or justification on our part.
Be honest and tell the truth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews