We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$195
View Deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.comUS$195
Expedia.comUS$195
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
50
7
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
50
7
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bring your own vehicle pools wifi massage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 59 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2016

If you are looking for an adventure in the deep woods Rancho Platón is the option. It is an ecological hotel located in a mountain in the town of Paraiso, Barahona. To get there you need to have a 4 x 4 vehicle or you need to be pick up by the hotel in the town. There is a very rudimentary road to take you there and you have to cross a semi-dry river (with current), but no danger is involved. At the top of the hill they have cabins built out of wood and small streams goes under them enhancing the deep wood sensation. They have lot of things to do including tubing in the river, hiking, horse riding, etc. Two things to be aware: wifi is available, but is very weak, and humidity in the rooms generates that typical smell that sometimes we don't like. The food is average.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salvador H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2016

We where in Rancho Platon with 3 people. There are not enough words to escribe this perfect hotel and surroundings and service. Best ever!!! And the food was also delicious!! So what i can say: A perfect place to stay!!

We where in RP in 2013 greetings from the Netherlands Pedro y Maria van Elswijk y amigo de nosotros Pablo de los santos de Republica Dominicana Y muchas gracias por todo And also that you bring us to Paraiso to our car.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2016

My sister's family and mine stayed in the tree house suites for three nights. The kids (10, 11, and 12 years old) would probably have been happy playing on the rope swings in the pool, playing ping pong, and hanging out on the porches the entire time-- but the all-included adventures made for a vacation of a lifetime. We rode horses, tubed through rapids down the river, hiked up the waterfall (I mean, literally up the waterfall), and I lost count of the number of times the kids tubed down the onsite water slide. (I topped out at three.) We all also enjoyed the waterfall pool behind the Cascade Cabins. The food and drinks are fresh (key lime caipirinhas, kids' passionfruit cocktails, yum!) and wonderful. The staff was very friendly, attentive, and accommodating. (Bring cash- US or DR- for tips.) We got by with very little Spanish. The owners can help you arrange transportation from Santo Domingo. We used insect repellant, but otherwise mosquito and food borne illnesses were a non-concern. This was my sister's kids' first trip out of the country-- now they've got the travel bug. Thank you Laura and Rancho Platon!

Room tip: Tree house suites are great. #1 is more spacious than #2. Cascade cabins have their own waterfall pool.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2016

It all starts on the way there; the travel through unimproved roads and the crossing of the rivers is just a refreshing experience. Then you get there and the staff engages at their best. The cuisine is excellent and varied without cutting corners....the quality is evident. The accommodations are nicely appointed with plenty of living space (tree house) and privacy. The rest is up to you to enjoy depending on your interest but be prepared for a "natural" experience seldom seen (bring insect repellent to enjoy the evening in the tree house balcony; hammock is on the house!). This is a jewel to be revisited anytime you need to unwind free of wi-fi interference but full of truly natural unadulterated "white noise.".

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mun2abiertos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2016

5-star service, premier food, hot water, air conditioning, all while enjoying incredible exo - experience. 10/10!!. I would go back in a heartbeat. It has tree-houses as hotel rooms, private river views!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrDRTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews