We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$70
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21-03-11
Expedia.com
US$70
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21-03-12
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$70
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21-03-12
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$70
Orbitz.comUS$70
Agoda.comUS$70
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
37
40
16
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
40
16
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 108 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2020

We went there and get shocked.
1) The road is really a campo road
2) hotel looks from outside like a prison (high walls and broken bottles on top
3) reception in a garage
4) checking the garden and just rusty iron on the cliff balcony.
5) we run away

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Tour828016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaetanom1972, Proprietario at Hotel el Quemaito, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

We could accept your opinion, because we always have problems with people who used to go to villages, because they are usually scared for everything. But please note your outdated title is totally wrong, because the hotel is new in every room. Finally, we are the only hotel in the area without a closed door or gate. You can enter and exit without barriers. Most of the road are like our entrance road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2019

My wife and I are bird-watchers and we chose this place to stay, among other reasons, because it's well-located if you want to visit both the northern and southern slopes of "Sierra de Bahoruco", one of the country's premier birding areas, as well as Enriquillo lake. The hotel has large comfortable rooms, excellent food and good attention by hotel owners. Caveat: they only take cash (we paid in Euros, but they take US$ and Dominican Pesos too), no credit cards or other payment methods.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank garai01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2019

I went with friends, we traveled all over the south of the country, and this hotel was our resting place, the food very good, the rooms of a good size. My friends touched the remodeled, I stayed in the largest but need remodeling.
The pool is very good and we were able to enjoy it until dawn.
If we go back south, I would go back to this place.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glenys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018

Spent the long weekend with my family at this hotel... what a nightmare.. stayed for 2 nights just because everything else was booked and had already paid for tours.
The only good thing about this hotel was breakfast (included) and very nice staff.

Now let's get real with the cons:
Rooms are horrible, small and urgently need renovating.
No TV as advertised and wifi limited to dining area.
Towels and linens let's just say bring your own... or skip all at once..

Now on their behalf, the hotel just recently changed owners and administration so slowly you might get to have a different experience.

Location is good and the surroundings are very well kept with flowers, nice view and great pool..

Price is really over rated since rooms are a dump!

That weekend the hotel was fully booked and for 2 straight nights no electricity, no fan, no ac... unbearable heat, mosquitoes and room only had screens in one of the windows.

Do yourself a favor and give the hotel some time to improve before you visit..I certainly wont!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yvette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaetano M, Proprietario at Hotel el Quemaito, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Customer,
we are sorry about your experience, but you slept in one of the only 4 rooms which are still old. You saw and accepted it before to pay, so we cannot understand why so worse review now. You had no choice because we were almost full and you arrived very late and then you paid a low price also. The photo you published about the property are very nice and they suggest our hotel is really nice.
Regards
Gaetano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

I had a great experience very accommodating, beautiful views, and great for the price. You'll feel right at home. I went with the breakfast option it was decent. Rooms were clean and seemed recently renovated.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank talia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews