We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Playa San Rafael
from US$30.49
More Info
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
61
42
19
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
42
19
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dominican republic paradise on earth pools river beach mountains man fishes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 130 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2019

The beach and the pools you can sit in (a river cascades into different man made pools) are pretty cool and clean. The beach is really beautiful (it is small rocks not sand), the white rocks make the color of the water beautiful. The food service or little independent food vendors on the beach are not for the faint of heart, but relative to other third world countries, it's fine. I thought the food and set up at Patos to eat was better. We were there on a Friday so weekends may be better. Overall worth stopping for a little bit when in Barahona. Parking cost $150 PESO.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank K5638DRalans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

we went here for the day body boarding as a couple years ago before we had kids!! we had a great day the surf was epic.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Goacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

This is a fabulous spot to surf and have a delightful and incredibly delicious meal on the beach- grilled fish to order with beans and rice, plantains....wash it down with a Presidente. Swimming isn’t recommended because of rip tides but go up by the river to swim in clean and clear pools. You may meet some Peace Corp volunteers taking a well-deserved break and learn about some communities off the beaten track.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank 310jacquelinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

This beach is very impressive with clear turquoise waters and a fresh water river emptying into the sea. Safe for tourists, lots of food vendors and overall fun place. The surf is rough and very serious so be careful if you do go into the water.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Sajomero P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

San Rafael is a beautiful spot to have some fresh fish, bath in the cold waters of a mountain spring and have a few cold beers with the local Dominicans. We were there during the afternoon; we were told to stay away from the area at night - apparently a bit of a party spot with the local Tigrés. But definitely worth the stop for a bite and a swim if you have the time. Bring some change for the toilet. Always ask to see the fresh catch before ordering and make sure to poke for freshness and examine the eyes! Avoid apex reef fish, of course.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank robertdU694HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews