We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Playa San Rafael
from US$30.49
More Info
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
61
42
19
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
42
19
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dominican republic paradise on earth pools river beach mountains man fishes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 130 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2019

Is a hidden gem of the Dominican Republic ,it is more than beautiful and peaceful place,calm and warm clean water,the food is cheap fresh and delicious .

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Maps693362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2019 via mobile

If you are in the area you HAVE TO come to San Rafael eco tours. Not only is Raylin the best guide on the island and full of charisma but his tours are all so diverse and he can adapt them to work for anyone .
I went once in March with family and loved it so much I went again in June. I felt very safe and welcomed there the entire time , not only by him and his family but by the community. Raylin and his family are trustworthy and I felt very comfortable leaving things like my wallet , cell phone etc with them even when I was gone for hours.
There is no better way to put it than magical.The vibes are unmatched anywhere I have ever been, this area shows a true richness of life . Any tour you take will completely amaze you and overwhelm you with beauty.
Raylin’s farm tour is amazing and you can pick fresh fruits to eat along the way, it meets a river / canyon area and finally ends in villa Miriam. The view overlooking the water and other mountains is amazing !
La plaza - a hike up a crystal clear blue river , has some small rapids , we cut through the river and up many adventurous trails . The end is worth it ! Not an easy hike but so worth it.
bahia las aguilas- crystal clear sand beach , the journey there is long but exciting , you leave the lush jungle scene and enter a desert with huge cliffs and canyons . Pretty secluded since you need 4x4 or boat to arrive .
Surf lessons- myself and my friend took surf lessons , she stood up on her 2nd time . You have to give it a try for sure
Beach camping - Tent camping on the beach with comfy mattress bedding , listen to the waves crash the shores . They always have someone on the beach with you so you are secure.
While there make sure you eat some of the delicious food prepared by Elisa or Salvador, the fish is amazing .
Also ask to see the Larimar jewelry raylin makes , it comes from the only mine in the world that had Larimar and he cuts,polished and sets the stones for all sorts of unique jewelry.
Playa San Rafael itself (where SRSS is stationed) is cool because it’s a beautiful turquoise stone beach , with a crystal clear river that flows into the ocean 100 m from his spot . And if you love dogs then you will love that there is tons of friendly dogs around to keep you company .
San Rafael is literally my favorite place on earth and a big part is due to the people , like raylin. Whatever your interested in , I genuinely feel like he could make it happen for you ! I can’t rate it highly enough
Look him up on Facebook or Instagram ( San Rafael surf school and eco-tours )

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank britj2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2019

The beach and the pools you can sit in (a river cascades into different man made pools) are pretty cool and clean. The beach is really beautiful (it is small rocks not sand), the white rocks make the color of the water beautiful. The food service or little independent food vendors on the beach are not for the faint of heart, but relative to other third world countries, it's fine. I thought the food and set up at Patos to eat was better. We were there on a Friday so weekends may be better. Overall worth stopping for a little bit when in Barahona. Parking cost $150 PESO.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank K5638DRalans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

we went here for the day body boarding as a couple years ago before we had kids!! we had a great day the surf was epic.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Goacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

This is a fabulous spot to surf and have a delightful and incredibly delicious meal on the beach- grilled fish to order with beans and rice, plantains....wash it down with a Presidente. Swimming isn’t recommended because of rip tides but go up by the river to swim in clean and clear pools. You may meet some Peace Corp volunteers taking a well-deserved break and learn about some communities off the beaten track.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank 310jacquelinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews